We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel..only grip is it faces the wrong way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #73 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel..only grip is it faces the wrong way!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

have stayed here a few times when in Brum - it's a good, smart modern hotel that is well located. Request a room on a high floor to take advantage of the views...and this is my only grip with the hotel - it faces the wrong way! You look out onto the roofs of some concrete offices below and a run down council tower block directly in front!! Shame the rooms don't over look teh city in the opposite direction! Still you do get fab views across the sprawling metropolis that is Brum! Breakfast is good, the Restaurant looks great but have never dined there (always opt for a local Balti - the best in England!). Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilduffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    731
    522
    280
    167
See reviews for
130
787
134
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We opted to book a night at the Blu Radisson, Birmingham as there was a link from the Hippodrome website and, not knowing the city, we wanted a hotel close to the theatre. We booked a king size, smoking room. On arrival, the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the room was a disappointment. Despite booking several weeks in advance, we were not given a king size bed. It was two twin beds pushed together. There was no ashtray. The fixtures and fittings were very tatty (although, the bedding was immaculately clean). And, there was a slow, steady leak from the ceiling in the bathroom which had clearly been patched up before. The location was great-a short walk from New Street Station and, two minutes from the theatre. The breakfast was good, lots of choice, although, some of the food on the hot counter was only warm. Unfotunately, the hotels only redeeming feature was its staff as all were friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: if you're a non smoker, avoid floor 12 as this is dedicated to smokers and, there is a strong sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Me and my wife booked this hotel for a single night as we were seeing Slash play att he O2 venue which just happens to be across the road.

Check in was seemless and our car was taken off and parked and the guy even said he was finishing his shift at 9pm and would if possible move our car to the front of the hotel if a space was available when he left !!

We booked a Suite on the 16th floor and the room was massive ! Had a lounge and seperate Bedroom both much biggger then an average hotel double, the bathroom was also massive and behind a huge sliding glass door.

Our room even looked out over the venue so we could keep an eye on the queue !!

Nespresso machine and well stocked fridge in the lounge area and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds i've ever slept in in a hotel.

Ok so the room didn't have a lot of character but it is a business hotel and i've travelled a fair bit with work and stayed in many similiar hotels in the UK and Europe and this was by far the best.

Breakfast was also excellent and when we checked out our car had appeared at the front of the hotel without us even askign for it.

Would definately use again if on the off chance i ever happen to go to Birmingham again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diktasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

As a young couple we haven't been to many hotels so we cannot make any solid comparisons. However, Radisson was quite nice, a few carpet stains and some limescale in the bathroom but nothing to cause a fuss over! The view is beautiful and the staff were very helpful.
Only thing that caught us off guard was the mini-bar which we were charged for using even though all we did was move a jar of peanuts! lol. I heard this happens at all hotels though and the staff were very kind and immediately took it off the bill once we told them what had happened.
Overall a nice place, nice people, nice view and a very nice weekend away!
Would go again :)

Room Tip: Go higher up, as there is less disturbances from surrounding clubs and a nice view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in the Radisson Blu for three nights last weekend-two adults, our four year old and 20 month old. Initially our first experience was fine; we ate lunch there and staff were most helpful in heating a jar of baby food for our 20 month old. However, the following evening on our return to the hotel after an exhausting day of fun and wishing to have dinner and relax, we were told that the hotel could not take responsibility for heating a jar of baby food (We had bought it in a local shop) on grounds of health and safety for fear of food poisoning. As an altenrnative they could provide hot water in which to heat the jar. Anyone who has experience of trying to do this will know how long it takes to adequately heat a jar of baby food. We had no option but to head back out to a local restaurant who were very happy to accommodate our needs and where I must add we had a lovely meal.
Before we returned to the hotel on our third evening we ensured we had fed our baby his dinner.
The morning of our departure, there wasn't a second baby-chair available at breakfast so it was acceptable that our little man sit in a regular chair-not very 'Health and Safety' orientated at all in my mind.
Overall, staying in the Radisson Blu made for quite a frustrating and disappointing experience. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed at this Radisson last weekend, a group of friends & my husband and I, as we were taking a trip to Alton Towers (only just over an hours drive away!). We were very warmly welcomed by two receptionists, Martin & another friendly gent. They were so warm, and informative and nothing was too much trouble during our stay. The rooms were lovely and comfortable, with a fantastic view over the city. Even a nespresso machine, which was always a bonus to help one wake up in the morning.....Breakfast was tasty and plentiful with a great selection of everything.
We didn't avail of the free wi fi, but did avail of the free business centre, and gymnasium, which was well needed, with all the great food we had.....
Again, reception made some great recommendations for local restaurants, all within walking distance from the hotel as it is so central, about 5 minutes walk from both the Mailbox and also The Bullring shopping centres. And they even gave us a complimentary late check out at 3pm as our flight wasnt until late...
Great customer care Radisson, keep it up! We will be highly recommending your hotel to anyone travelling, and definately won't choose anywhere else in Birmingham to stay in the future.....

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LadyVCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. very warm reception welcome by 2 gents ( one called Martin). they had upgraded us to business class on the 18th floor. beautifully appointed room with a stunning view. very friendly staff in a professionally run and warm environment.
we really enjoyed our stay and we will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTippTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,393 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,231 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 117 in Birmingham
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing