We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just went to visit this place with a couple of friends, the staff were very attentive. The wait for food was br”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just went to visit this place with a couple of friends, the staff were very attentive. The wait for food was br”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Just went to visit this place with a couple of friends, the staff were very attentive. The wait for food was quite quick. It was a very comfortable place to dine in. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beakfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    445
    88
    34
    21
See reviews for
412
505
131
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The location:
I was only staying overnight in Birmingham, so the location outside the main New St mainline train station was super convenient. I did take notice of other people's suggestions about finding the hotel entrance, so I didn't have too many problems finding it (next to McDonalds on an external ramp)... although there are a lot of roadworks and improvements being done to the station so it was a bit fiddly to locate the McDonalds in the first place. How you find the hotel depends on whether you exit the New St train station on the road level, or whether you follow the signs up one level to internal access to some of the shops. Not only was it close to the train station, but it is in the centre of the pedestrianised shopping streets around New Street, and literally a stone's throw from the huge Bullring shopping complex. It was also a good location for looking at various sights/events around Birmingham, like Victoria Square and the NIA.

You also need to take the lift to the next floor to find reception, but this was listed on the sign outside the lift. I arrived super early but it was no problem for my luggage to be stored whilst I went exploring. When I did check-in, it was friendly and prompt. There is free wifi for 30 mins, otherwise it's 3 GBP for 24 hours - not an unreasonable price for some hotels, although it would have been nice to be free. The wifi access itself was faultless.

The room:
This was my first stay at a Premier Inn and I was impressed by the large room size. I had a room on the top level (7th floor) with amazing views of the street. There was a large bed and generous sized sofa for spreading out shopping items and the like! The bed was comfortable, with nice firm pillows, good lighting, and central heating/air conditioning. The desk was great for using my computer, and there were a few hangers to hang coats and other items.

The bathroom:
It was sparkling! The shower is over a bath, so it's a step inside, and the shower head was large. Huge towels! The only downside was that there was no rail to hang the handtowel.

Hotel facilities:
I did not eat breakfast or any meals in the restaurant, but it was reassuring to know that there was a back-up plan, especially as I was staying at Easter. GBP 8.95 seems a great price for an unlimited cooked/hot breakfast! There are two lifts. The only disadvantage to staying on the 7th floor was that the lift took a long time to arrive, especially if you are wanting to use the lift when the cleaning staff are using one of the lifts to move between floors. I ended up using the stairs quite a lot.

Overall, I thought it was a fabulous room in an excellent location - and as the name implies, I had an excellent night's sleep! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

As premier inns go this place had all the usual excellent standards
Comfy bed
everything spotless
in house breakfast brill with buffet style everything including hotplate
Only thin which let this place down was available parking
The website states parking available nearby however it was impossible to get to it due to roadworks and new tram lines being built so we drove around for an hour until finally settling on parking at the Debenhams end of the bullring carpark enabling us to walk from there through the back of the station and down the ramp to the hotel entrance
quote ''Parking is available at a local multi storey car park at New St Station, The Pallasades or the Bull Ring''
This hotel cannot be recommended for the disabled in view of this difficulty as there is nowhere to drop off passengers nor luggage. The only parking at the station and pallasades during our visit was short term not overnight!!!!!
If it said this on the website it would not have been a problem as we would have chosen one of the other prems in the city instead. We only stopped here as my bro in law wanted to cos it was new

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrongoneagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hello Loobylindyloo,
We’re currently in the process of updating the directions section of our website, it currently says parking is available at a local multi storey car park at new street station, the Pallasades or the Bullring, but we also suggest using the town hall car park (On Brunel Street, B5 4AD) for parking as its easier to get to and from, about 5 minutes walk from our hotel, it also allows overnight parking, sorry this information wasn’t available to you before you stayed with us. On a positive note im happy you enjoyed breakfast and rooms and found everything to be to excellent standards.
Thank you for your review
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This Premier Inn has a very convenient location next to the entrance to one of the country's busiest railway stations and less than five minutes walk from the Bull Ring in one direction and Victoria Square in the other. Check-in was friendly and efficient and our room was comfortable and welcoming. We spent three nights there and the highlight of our stay were the breakfasts each morning. Joyce, together with her colleagues in the restaurant, creates a fantastic atmosphere - friendly, welcoming and helpful. The choice of food whether one opts for continental or full English is very generous and guests are encouraged by Joyce to take full advantage of the injunction to eat "as much as you like". A memorable visit - we would certainly not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Once we found the hotel (having walked past it due to road works) we were welcomed professionally and in a polite manner. The hotel was very clean and secure. The staff were very polite and courteous as well as being very attentive. The check-in process was very simple and found that access to the floors via the lift was only possible with the key card was reassuring. The room was very clean. The best night sleep I've ever had in a hotel. The food on both night was delicious and reasonable. The breakfast was lovely, however, make sure to get your money's worth (all you can eat - make the most of it). The bar was nice and the allowance to take the drinks back to the room was unexpected. The only downside was lack of parking on site, but this is understandable. We parked in the Bullring for 48+ hours for a reasonable charge. The car was very secure and was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel (Tip: use the concourse from the shopping centre to New Street). Will defiantly use the hotel in the future and have recommended to friends and family. I doubt I will use a competing brand for some time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent location, 2 mins from New street station. 5 min from the bull Ring and shops. Friendly staff, clean rooms. would recommend this hotel to anyone, very impressed with my nights day. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 761sharonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

£25 bargain sale family room for the night. 2 children 10 & 6. All had perfect stay. Room was absolutely immaculate and the cleanest room we have ever stayed in. Faultless stay. Polite, friendly staff. All facilities we needed. Perfect location in city centre for sight seeing. Recommend Cadburys world and free museum in city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,414 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
872 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing