We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 4, 2014

From entering to leaving I could not fault this hotel.
It is a new hotel and everything was immaculate
Service, food and facilities And stall I could not fault.
It was right in the hub of Birmingham City Centre and beside Station

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,814 - 1,820 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at the PI for a three night stay from a Thursday to a Sunday and what can I say........just perfect. Staff are so helpful and friendly especially young Ash who was so patient with us trying to print our boarding passes for our flights on the Sunday night.

Stayed on 2nd floor and room was perfect for what we wanted. Clean and bright, always hot water and the towels were nice and fluffy.

For the price we paid (£128) as we booked it when the PI had a sale on we just cant complain.

Would defo stay here again for its convenience to the trains tation and everything else you want to see in Birmingham as you can walk around the whole city with great ease.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lifts as you hear a constant beep if close to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Quality of room and breakfast is as you would expect from premier inn.

Very warm welcome from the staff.

Although we were in the town centre we couldn't hear any noise from the city.

At breakfast the staff couldn't do enough for us providing excellent start to the day.

Will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank crazywebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Everything you need for an over night stay in Birmingham, excellent value for money and central location. The one surprise was how quiet it was despite the low price and central location, we were expecting to be woken at 3am by late night revellers but we weren't. My only criticisms were that the check in is a little odd with half being completed by a person and the other by a machine, think I would prefer one or the other. Secondly getting disturbed by house keeping before you check out from a one night stay could surely be avoided particularly when it is hours before you are due to check out. These are only minor points as for the money would still stay here in future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libertinelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Premier Inns are always good value but this one has the edge when it comes to staff service. The restaurant and reception staff are better than many 5 star hotels I have stayed at and this counts for a lot in my view!

My other half had an evening meal there and said it was excellent. Costa coffee and 'bikkie' half the price of Costas too!

You will have to take your own shampoo and conditioner but that's it! They provide everything else

We stayed two nights and although we had a bit of a problem the second night with noisy air conditioner, the staff dealt with it promptly, nothing was too much trouble.

I would recommend unreservedly! Excellent location too, !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macdormer1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Once found - that is a slight challenge, and frustrating when you can see it but can't get to it - a good experience. I was on the 6th floor, and the views across the city were actually lovely! I would certainly suggest requesting a higher floor (there are 7) as despite being exceptionally central, next to the Bullring and New St station, it was really quiet - no traffic noise, street noise etc. Ok, it was a Tuesday night, but even still, there were plenty of people around when I went back to the hotel at around 10.

Hotel is pretty new, and fixtures and fittings in the rooms showed this. Functional room, clean and tidy, really what you expect, although I think £90 for a PI is a bit OTT outside central london.

Don't take the Breakfast option - way too expensive in my opinion - use the McDonalds right by the front door! There are also plenty of cafes and restaurants serving breakfast within a very short walk.

Overall, if you need a central Brum location, close to New St (and Moor St which I used), at an ok price (in fairness I booked at short notice, and the other hotels I would consider using were more expensive) - then go for it. Just ask for a higher floor (there are lifts) to be sure of no street noise,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I like staying at PI's. They are all very much the same with the exception of the staff and the view out the window. This one got it just right , the right amount of conversation when you booked in and confirming everything had been of when you return the swipe card. The view was great , overlooking the Millenium Square.

I was on the 7th floor which is about 10 floors from ground level As I had not done my daily 3 miles on my cross trainer I used the stairs for my daily exercise. A couple of times up and down the 180 stairs does wonders for the cardio vasculars.

Great nights sleep but I decided to give breakfast a miss as I could not do justice to the 'as much as you can eat menu'

.

Room Tip: One room is very much like any other. In the event of a fire and not being able to use the lift it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
996 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,555 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $67 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing