We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect night. Clean comfortable and outstandingly warm, helpful and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Perfect night. Clean comfortable and outstandingly warm, helpful and friendly staff.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The rooms were impeccable, the breakfast was excellent but what made this so special were the outstanding staff. I have stayed in a lot of hotels but I have never been surrounded by such genuine people that made your comfort and happiness their personal delight. In every hotel the staff enquire if everything is ok but here, they genuinely mean it and take personal pride and delight in helping you. In the breakfast room a particular mention must be made to the Breakfast seater, Katie I think her name was. I could not be treated with more warmth and affection by my own Mother! Thank you all for a lovely stay and well done to the premier Inn recruitment team. You should be very proud.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeburrell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    426
    85
    32
    20
See reviews for
399
471
121
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here on the 3rd and 4th of October. The room was spotless, spacious and had a great view of the city. Plenty of towels, even a choice of pillow style was available.

Staff were very friendly, nothing was to much trouble, every member of staff I saw smiled and said good morning or good afternoon which you don't get in a lot of hotels.

Great location, literally attached to New Street station and 1 minute walk from the Bull Ring.

Great hotel I would highly recommend for business or leisure trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leekstokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Every member of staff were most helpful and courteous. We were even invited to the opening party in the restaurant! This is the best location if traveling by train as it is only 5 mins walk from New Street station. We did have to ask in the station for directions as the website was unclear. The entrance is next to HSBC up the pedestrian ramp.
Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed overnight in this hotel on 29th Sept. As previous reviews have said, its a pleasure to stay here. Had only been open 1 week so everything was brand new but the staff were the best I have encountered. From Ashley at reception to Joyce in the restaurant, they could not have been more helpful and considerate. We all know Premier Inn staff have to ask if you had a good nights sleep etc. but we felt that they actually cared about you and weren't just going through the motions of asking. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, the Meal Deal was excellent value for money and the food was very good. Will definitely return. Directions to the hotel weren't good, the entrance is next to McDonalds on the ramp coming from New Street Station down into New Street.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking New Street were fine, no noise heard from the street, room was air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was a pleasure.the hotel looks and smells brand new and they have some off the most friendly,courteous,helpful staff we have come across anywhere.the hotel is in a great location and even being above a train station it was perfectly quite.we would return any time

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andybCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lovely new premier inn located 5mins from New Street Station and right in the centre of town. About 5 min walk to bull ring for wide range of shops and less than 5 min walk to Odeon Cinema. Staff are very friendly and confident when checking you in and checking out which is nice too see and also allowed us to leave our bags when we arrived too early for check in. The rooms are lovely and fresh with the hotel being new and we had no problems with noise. The bar/restaurant area is nicely decorated where we sat and had a few drinks. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

First off - just ignore any directions published on the Premier Inn website and catch a train to Birmingham New Street, take the northern exit at street level, avoiding the dreadful detour around the Pallasades, walk towards Waterstones and look up to your right and you'll see the hotel, then you'll find the entrance between HSBC and MacDonalds.

Next - enjoy the newness of the bathrooms, the bedding, the restaurant, and the staff who genuinely care about making this venue the best in the city centre. We got two nights for less than £80 the weekend of the opening to go to the cycle show and other than a faulty lift there was nothing to concern us. We arrived late and had a fantastic meal, and ate so much, we had to postpone the breakfast voucher which was done without a problem.

We went to the Chameleon for two for one cocktails between 6 and 8 on Saturday and they have a fantastic selection all of which were very tasty. We walked down to China Town for supper and back to the hotel later.

On Sunday the breakfast was very good - arrive early for fresher food cooked to order including eggs how you like - and we left our bags whilst we went shopping.

Location is excellent for transport and shopping, although at night the train station does attract more than it's fair share of strange folk but nothing at all untoward. Great weekend away.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the building site - arc lights seem to be on all night even though nobody is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarryDryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,816 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
831 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing