We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back at the hen and chickens”

Hen and Chickens PH
Ranked #60 of 2,208 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Indian, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“back at the hen and chickens”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hi we visited the hen and chickens again as the food was so good last time I am pleased to say the food was just as good as the last time which is what this pub is all about not really some were you would take the mrs on valentines day as the décor is just like a working mans pub.

but if you want good fresh cook Indian food at good value and plenty of it then this is for you we have been twice now and will defo go again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    122
    34
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Starters, we mean to go on”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

The best Indian food we have ever eaten. So tasty and fresh, and the portions are generous. The large mixed grill was huge, could feed 3 hungry people, or 2 greedy ones with half of it taken home in a doggy bag! Recommend the fish porji, really fragrant and a perfect side dish to accompany any meal. Very cheap too.

Staff are uber-friendly and service was speedy. Would recommend booking at peak times as it gets busy, which reinforces how popular it is with the locals. Proud to have this calibre of cuisine in our city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank No_foreign_land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Disgusted"”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This place is so over rated. No tables to sit and when you do get one they watch you like hawks to free it! Never been so disappointed. Went to the gents and the kitchen is on route. If you are as lucky as me to see the kitchen you'd never order again!!! DONT EVEN CONTEMPLATE IT! You'll be better off going to The Red Lion, Sandwell. I've no issue with high prices but you'd expect to pay the prices they charge if you are in the town centre!! Not in a well below standard run of the mill pub on the outskirts! Absolute rip off! Im genuine and this is the first time I've ever felt the need to comment about exaggerated hype hiding behind the strength of the internet! A complete con!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Splendid Indian Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This gem of a pub is located not too far from the city centre, which makes it a great location. The food here is always superb, with great service and a welcoming atmosphere.

The only problem is its rather small size, meaning it can get rather busy and difficult to find space at some times. Overall though, one can't complain as they do a great job in trying their best to serve everyone. Defiantly the best pub in Birmingham!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abdul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Unjustified Hype”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I go to Indian pubs like this all the time, so was intrigued to see why it was ranked number 3 out of 1,419 restaurants in Brum on here.
When we walked in, it was just a standard pub, not even nicely done up, and not very spacious.
The drinks were a rip-off. £13.50 for 3 pints of Peroni (we'd been getting the same for less than £10 earlier in the day at another Indian pub).
The food was overpriced in comparison to other Indian pubs, but was quite decent (which is why I haven't given this place the lowest possible rating).
When we went to the bar to get ripped off again, the bar man started taking my drinks order, stopped to answer the phone, then came back and served someone else instead, so we left.
Do not believe the random hype on here like I did. There are plenty of places like this, but cheaper and better, in nearby West Brom and Smethwick.

Helpful?
4 Thank Dalmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen and Chickens PH also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Hen and Chickens PH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing