We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE GEM IN BIRMINGHAM!!”

Hen and Chickens PH
Ranked #63 of 2,218 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Indian, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“INCREDIBLE GEM IN BIRMINGHAM!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

OMG what do I need to say that hasn't been said before? WONDERFUL SERVICE, WONDERFUL FOOD, FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY and Liverpool were playing-Happy days! This establishment should not be listed 3 it should be FIRST! I'm sad to say that there is not Hens & Chickens in Derby we came here for a Meal out after watching Disney on Ice at the NIA in Birmingham-only 6 mins in the car with FREE parking on a SAT and SUN. And FREE parking Mon-Fri after 7pm! So friendly we had a SMALL MIX GRILL FOR A STARTER FOR 2 x ADULTS AND 2 x CHILDREN(PLENTY!) CHIPS-EGG FRIED RICE X 2, PLAIN RICE, GARLIC NANN, CHICKEN BHUNA & FISH CURRY-HOT AS REQUESTED-SIMPLY EXQUISITE! How much u say? £43 CRAZY CHEAP AND SO WELL WORTH IT! Pub is not so modern but after reading the recent reviews I was expecting the worse to say the least I was surprised! It was clean, light and airy though the pub will be closing for a few ways next week for Restorations! So I'm assuming that there going all out for a re vamp! a YOU GOT TO TRY HERE COZ IT WONT BE LONG TILL IM BACK AGAIN!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHAVNA140511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    123
    34
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Immense portions
Terrific flavours
Great service
Excellent atmosphere
Intimate dining room
A must if you want a good dinner, I can't praise this place enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcdi8gj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than the balti belt”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Living in the balti belt, I'm always looking for a favourite new restaurant but this is in a different league I have to say. I just wish we lived closer. The atmosphere was great, the staff were lovely and the quality of food was unbelievable for the prices. (The portions are generous so if ordering the lovely mixed grill, share it as they recommend, or you'll struggle to get your main down).

As another reviewer stated, it's all made from fresh so don't expect it in a rush. They were 2 chefs down when we arrived on Friday eve so we did wait quite a while, however, we won't be letting this put us off in future. Definitely a hidden gem :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best mixed grill in a long while”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Food and service was really spot on and pleasantly blown away by the place. Mixed grill had a good selection unlike some 'mixed' grills. Chicken wings were awesome and the food tasted really fresh. Service was warm, polite and timely. Waitress and boss were very hospitable and courteous.
Little touches that make those big differences.

Don't be deceived from the exterior, this place serves up a seriously phenomenal mixed grill and isn't pretentious or trying to be something it isn't.

Genuine and friendly - cant wait to return for the next episode !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Monuwar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Value for money and good selection of drinks”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Went there with a group of 6 for food and drinks. Staff very welcoming and a friendly atmosphere.
Ordered 2 mixed grills, 6 naans, 2 curries all for £7 a head. More than enough food for all.
Friendly manager and waitresses.
Was shown a separate rear room with TV which can be reserved which can fit up to 20 at a push.
Only negative is the toilets could do with an upgrade.
Drinks wise there's a good selection including grey goose. Bought 4 black label for a grand total of £8.

Will definitely be visiting again. Highley recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Y0gi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen and Chickens PH also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Hen and Chickens PH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing