We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Simple but Sufficient'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“'Simple but Sufficient'”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great value and dedicated staff are the key features of the Hotel. Rooms are clean and the bathroom is excellent. Free WFI in this hotel - I paid £10 in the HI in Bloomsbury in London.
Breakfast is functional but of a good quality and on balance I would argue this is extremely good value for money.For colleagues on a business trip we all had difficulty at 7-30 am getting taxis to arrive on time - all booked by the Hotel ! Hotel please consider who you are giving this business too - 'shoddy' service in a highly competitive market and for us who pay - extremely poor service- we simply need to get to our work on time and it is important to pay our Hotel bills !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear George647,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we have taken your feedback on board regarding the taxi company we use.

I do hope we see you again soon!

Regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    435
    197
    45
    34
See reviews for
160
247
45
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nice welcome at Reception, always helpful. The room was great, comfy bed and pillows and the shower was fabulous too. The location is great, Snow Hill station is only around the corner and it's in a lovely area. The only downside was breakfast, we sampled it the first morning, but didn't bother anymore. The coffee and orange juice are dire. The price is good though for a city centre hotel, so will definitely stay here in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSCAR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear OSCAR11,

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you were please with your room and our location. We will take your feedback on board regarding our breakfast items as we look to improve.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Andrew Goode
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was the 2nd time I've stayed in this hotel this year and was very impressed again. The rooms are very spacious, the bed is very comfy with a choice of firm or soft pillows, the bathrooms is clean and has a huge shower and the location is great for exploring the city.
I do agree with some comments on here about the lack of storage space, there are only about 6 coat hangars and no real space to unpack clothes but I guess that's why its called an Express hotel, its not meant for long stays. I wouldn't let this detract from the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwightjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.


I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Lucy Thapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed one night and thought hotel was great value for money, good location for Birmingham city Centre & breakfast was more than adequate. Staff were very friendly and efficient, rooms were very clean, bed comfy. Parking expensive in NCP car park so well getting your parking ticket endorsed at reception for 50% reduction. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neila C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thnak you for your comments about the hotel, I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and in particular you have found the staff friendly.

Once again thank you for your review and look foward to see you soon.

Kind regards

Neila Carvalho
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days just not happy with the hotel the room was small and cramped no where to put clothes. Breakfast was boring.
But the staff was very helpful and friendly.
It won't let me submit unless I type 200 characters so blah blah blah blah blah.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Dale J,

thank you for your review. we have taken your feedback onboard and will look at ways to improve our breakfast. I am sorry to read that your felt our rooms were small, but I have passed on your comments to our Brand Standards team in reference to the storage facilities.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the team members, this will be fedback to them.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have finally figured out what the "express" in Holiday Inn Express means. In regard to this hotel, it obviously means don't stay too long because the guest rooms have no cabinets or drawers in which to store your things. We stayed 4 nights and had to live out of our suitcases . There is a small exposed rack with six hangers although the room is spacious. The hotel is a bit outside of the tourist area but a 15 minute walk, once you learn how to go, will take you to the bull ring ( an interesting shopping center) or to the Birmingham Art Museum and Gallery or new library. It will require this same walk to find restaurants or shops. The best thing about the hotel was the included breakfast buffet. Both hot and cold items are available in an area with adequate seating. You can fortify yourself with scrambled eggs and sausages or opt for lighter fare like yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal, bread and pastries. I think this hotel is probably best suited to a brief business stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Lee M,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our Free breakfast options and the variety we have.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the bedrooms and storage facilities, we have passed these comments to our Brand Standards team to review.

I hope that this does not deter your from staying with us again in the future and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The impression on arrival was a pristine new hotel and it lived up to that. Clean room, comfortable bed, good shower, etc,. The problem is a lack of atmosphere - the "restaurant, bar, reception and lift lobby are all in one enormous space that is in effect the hotel entrance lobby. As such there were no facilities where you could sit and have a quiet drink in the evening without feeling you were in a huge waiting room where you wished people would stop opening the door and letting the cold air in. Restaurant facilities were advertised but all that could be offered was bar snacks which were a pretty limited choice and those that I saw ordered by others looked a bit "little chef".

If you just want a bed for the night and no frills this is an ok choice but there are other hotels in Birmingham with the same facilities but in better locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainfantastic42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear captainfantastic42,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Unfortnately during the time you stayed with us our music system was not working and the only background music we could create was from the televisions throughout the Great Room.

Thank you for your comments regarding our evening menu, as a Holiday Inn Express we do not have a restaurant, but do serve bar snacks as you have stated. We wil take your comments on board regarding the presentation and items on the menu and review what we offer.

I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Regards
Andrew Goode
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
861 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Royal Angus Hotel
#56 of 117 in Birmingham
908 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Address: 1 St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing