We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decor and food sometimes do match up!”

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery Cafe
Ranked #289 of 2,198 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Decor and food sometimes do match up!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Edwardian Tea Room is gorgeous - very Lily Langtree - and the food is very nice, fresh and tasty. Staff clearly take pride in their work. They could do with smiling a bit more, but maybe I came along just after someone rude. I have been before and heard people treating the staff with disdain, as if they thought they made them seem superior. Anyway, the meals are good, and the prices just about what you'd expect. There are so many places to eat in big cities everywhere that are nationally catered by a catering company - I hope the Cafe remains as it is, because it is different, and that impresses me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    63
    32
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant Day Out”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I visited the museum for the first time today and have to say I am extremely impressed there is so much to see and do and myself and my young son have a really nice day.We didn't eat in the cafe so couldn't comment however the gift shop was good value for money. Would definitely advised others to give it a go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank katiehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This cafe serves a good selection of snacks and meals all of excellent quality and great value for money. We had soup, a cottage pie meal with fresh vegetables and very tasty cakes during two trips within our 5 hour visit. The individually made sandwiches and baguettes are freshly made and excellent quality. i would definitely use this facility on my next visit to Birmingham.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilton0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Elegant surroundings”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in Birmingham on a shopping trip and wanted a quick, light lunch, but didn't want a pub or an American themed coffee shop where you really need to pre order coffee to avoid the "waiting experience".

Remembered the Edwardian coffee shop from a few years ago, and was not disappointed! Although the sandwiches were bought in from an outside manufacturer, they were fresh with a wide choice. The tea was freshly made, as was the cake selection.

And as previous reviewers have mentioned, all in elegant surroundings...with wonderful artefacts to view if you have the time to spare.

Helpful?
Thank Kule Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having walk and shopped in the Bullring, my wife and I went for a wander up to the Museum and Art Gallery, and fancied a snack and a drink thinking it would be away from the crowds and give us a chance to catch our breathe. Not so. The jacket potato was dark brown and black in places, the inside was yellowy-orange, and tasteless. 'Yes' we should have asked for another - but were too tired. My mocha was black burnt coffee with a dash of chocolate in the bottom. The loos were something from school days, and the 'guide' at the entrance as not helpful when we asked for directions. Disappointing experience. There has been so much development in Birmingham that an injection into the Museum and Art Gallery would be beneficial.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery Cafe also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing