We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely afternoon lunch”
Review of Le Truc - CLOSED

Le Truc
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Le Truc is Birmingham's newest bar and bistro, inspired by the crazier side of Les Francais. Serving great bistro style food, fantastic cocktails, wines and beers. In the evenings start off your night with 2 courses for £13.95, between 5pm and 7pm, this fantastic deal along side our full ala carte menu. Keep your eyes peeled for our delicious daily specials too. Open all day Saturday for a quick bite or something a little more hearty to fill you up ready for the weekend and happy hour with some Award winning cocktails.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon lunch”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The best Bloody Mary I've ever had! Had a lovely 2 course lunch for only £10.95, the steak was cooked perfectly! Lovely young friendly staff too! Perfect sun terrace for sunny days.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tchalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    138
    57
    36
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was dubious about eating out in Birmingham as there seem to be so few quality eateries in Birmingham and when you get to Le Truc, and see it is part of the Arcadian center it seems wrong. However if you ignore the building, location and surroundings and go and eat and drink you could well be in any good french bistro.
The food was sublime, I had the liver and bacon option and it was cooked to perfection with well cooked and presented vegetable (not stored in a Bain Marie). The service was excellent and the staff many of whom are French give the place an authentic feel while serving an excellent array of drinks, I can highly recommend the 'Sidecar' cocktails even if I did have maybe one too many it was my birthday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salty”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went with three friends for lunch on a Tuesday. We were the only diners! My friends were satisfied with their meal and the service was friendly and good but..... I ordered char grilled pork which was so salty as to be inedible. The waitress was excellent and offered to replace the course. The replacement was little better, I was told that the chef had not seasoned the second pork streaks at all, so the problem must be the sourcing of ingredients. I was given an extra glass of wine as compensation. Sadly the taste of the salty meat lasted beyond the ice cream dessert, coffee and the trip home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
“Superb food, relaxed atmosphere.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Tried out Le Truc with some friends. Food was superb, really tasty and fresh with lots of variety. Service was excellent and very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoubleGG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reliably good quality”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've eaten at Le Truc 3-4 times now and always had lovely food and great service. The set menus are good value for weekend lunches and there is always a good choice of dishes on offer. The ambience is relaxed and friendly with funky French-themed decor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizPlumpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Truc also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing