We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Michelangelo

Il Michelangelo
Ranked #123 of 2,198 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine Italian cuisine just South West of Birmingham in the heart of the West Midlands. This family owned and operated Italian gem of a restaurant offers fantastic value for money dining, whether it's for Lunch, Dinner, Supper, Sunday Lunch or that Special Occassion.
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Me and my mom went to michelangelo's for her birthday tonight and it was absolutely lovely, the place looks fabulous and the staff were really friendly and gave great service, the food was absolutely amazing and they also gave my mom a suprise desert for her birthday with a candle and everything. Couldn't fault it, was great and the prices were great for what the food was too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    35
    23
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our third visit to this little hidden gem. Found it by accident and cannot stop visiting. The staff are very professional, food is fantastic, very generous portions. Every time the standard has been the same. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jannick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An anniversary to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband had booked this restaurant for our wedding anniversary one Saturday night in October. He should have booked it for my birthday the end of June but he forgot and i will never forgive him for making me wait a further 3 and a half months to taste this little bit of Italy hidden away in Brockmoor.

Like one of the other authors he had booked on line and had a confirmation email of the booking but when we got there, there was no record of our booking but without turning a hair they created us a table and sat us down.

The staff on service could not do enough to make our night. We were offered drinks whilst we made our decision on what to eat - we could have got drunk as there was so much choice on the menu and looking at the servings around us the restraunt didn't skimp on portion sizes.

I had the fish cakes followed by the stroganoff and it was to die for. my husband had the anti pasta and tagliatelli which he wolfed down without a second thought. We chose a Chianti to go with the meal which was very pleasant. We could have easily eat our way through the dessert menu - but chose not to embarrass ourselves and just took the lemon limencello and amaretti puddings. Mmmmm.........

The service was exceptional and the restraunt was full on the night we were there. The staff were pleasant, didn't hovver around waiting to clear your plates and were very polite. The best bit was that you could see into the kitchen which was spotless and it ran like clockwork. There was no shouting, screaming or swearing - just a calm production of excellent food. Gordon Ramsey take note.

Will i be going to Il Michaelangelo's again? - you bet! At just under £65 for 2 x 3 courses, drinks, and wine it's manner from the Gods!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotty1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had heard good things about this place, and decided to find out for myself. All was as anticipated, very good italian food, reasonable prices and absolutely excellent service. Don't leave it for everyone else, try it yourself. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellamyonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Re new wedding vows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding vows on Sunday 22nd September what a fantastic day was had by all. The decor of the room was stunning from the red carpet ,flowers, balloons to the outstanding window backdrops.There was 90guests and we must give credit to Baggio the chef and his team for the outstanding service on every course. We recommend if you have a special occasion to go along and speak to Leo we cannot thank him enough for giving us such a beautiful day . So once again Leo thank you your team of chefs and all the waiters,waitresses for out standing service. Lynn and Kevin.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Michelangelo also viewed

Brierley Hill, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Il Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing