We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kitchen Disco was brilliant too party to after a great roast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lord Clifden

The Lord Clifden
Ranked #107 of 2,192 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lord Clifden (UAB) is a true free house with a difference. Situated in the Jewellery Quarter, we are highlighted in both the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2015 and the Good Pub Guide. In the last 3 years, we've received 5 Observer Monthly food awards; 2012 national runner up in the Observer Monthly food awards and regional winner for the Midlands. 2013 We repeated the success with another 2 'runners up' awards: 'Best Place to Drink' and 'Best Sunday Lunch' 2014 regional runners up for 'Best Place to Drink' & Best Sunday Lunch' In 2014, we were awarded 'Best Community Pub' for the West Midlands & Wales region in the Great British Pub Awards.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kitchen Disco was brilliant too party to after a great roast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took some friends from Cheltenham for Sunday dinner and the Kitchen Disco was an added bonus. Great atmosphere and music from the live DJ.
The food was great value for Sunday pub roast compared to other venues in town. Sadly we were a little worse for wear to return for Moto Monday!!! We'll be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    93
    23
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lack of staff on a bank holiday weekend???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice pub, pleasant surprise to walk in and find the masses of space. It was very busy on bank holiday Sunday and there just were not enough staff. The longest time it took to order and complete the sale was 30 minutes. Ridiculous! Aside from that, good music, ok atmosphere and although I didn't eat based on the time it took to get a drink, the food looked and smelled fabulous. Will go back but on a less busy day as I believe it deserves a second chance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJC1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“lovely sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

great sunday lunch long wait but they were busy most people ordering food & it was certainly worth the wait
we had roast lamb & beef nice veg, gravy & yorkshire pud. it tasted home cooked
staff were friendly

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jellybabe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Unique little find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I love this pub. It's laid back, great atmosphere both for lunchtime and in the evening. I love the creative style and the outdoor space. We ate at lunchtime the last time I visited. I can only describe the club sandwich as a monster, it was massive! However, it was also delicious and very good value. I would defiantly agree this place is a refreshing change to the chains.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A refreshing change from the chains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always a nice atmosphere and a refreshing change from the chain run pubs in the City. Food is freshly prepared and good quality perhaps a little more pricey than others in the area but worth it, Real Ales on tap.
Nice gardens to rear and pleasant background music. About 5.50 in a taxi from City Centre, also on numerous bus routes and near the Metro for the Albion Ground.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord Clifden also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Lord Clifden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing