We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go there”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lord Clifden

The Lord Clifden
Ranked #110 of 2,195 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lord Clifden (UAB) is a true free house with a difference. Situated in the Jewellery Quarter, we are highlighted in both the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2015 and the Good Pub Guide. In the last 3 years, we've received 5 Observer Monthly food awards; 2012 national runner up in the Observer Monthly food awards and regional winner for the Midlands. 2013 We repeated the success with another 2 'runners up' awards: 'Best Place to Drink' and 'Best Sunday Lunch' 2014 regional runners up for 'Best Place to Drink' & Best Sunday Lunch' In 2014, we were awarded 'Best Community Pub' for the West Midlands & Wales region in the Great British Pub Awards.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite pub in Birmingham. It has a great selection beers all expertly kept by the landlord. The food is always very good, as is the atmosphere, with a real cross section of people frequenting. It is worth a visit just to view the artwork on display. If you like Motown, monday nights are a must.

Helpful?
Thank pinhead10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    92
    23
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean and inviting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Smashing pub nice food and a good selection of beers
Will definitely go again now I've rediscovered the place Used to work over the road at Lucas 30 years ago

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobh6742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow! How did i not know this was here?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Brummie born and bred and never knew this was here. This place is a hidden gem and i will deffinately be back!

Was taken here after a tour of a local brewery, we just tagged along with a family we had met.

Saturday afternoon and it was packed! Always a good sign.

Extensive selection of beers and am now loving the fruit beer they have on tap. Seems i have expensive tastes :-)

Didn't eat but the food that was being served looked beautiful.

Will be back and will be recommending.

Do not let the outside or surrounding buildings put you off.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahA1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good brummie sunday roast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

just enjoyed a sunday roast at the Lord Clifton pub on the edge of the jewellry quarter in Birmingham.It's a fantastic pub inside featuring Banksy pics all over the place. I felt my roast beef dinner was lacking in taste and the veggies were bland. the best bit was the dessert - a fantastic-cherry pie in a lovely thin pastry with home-made ice cream.I would go again but not for the roast because it needed some taste. i wont say salt because thats bad for you but naybe the meat could have been marinated

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little out of town but worth the trek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Lord Clifton is on the edge and I mean the edge of the Jewellery Quarter in Birmingham on main throroughfair into the city which is mainly populated with cash and carry stores and the odd bank and can, for people who are from out of town, look scruffy. Please do not let this put you off from a visit. You can easilly get a taxi from town to here for a couple of £'s. It's not too bad a walk either. You can even walk via newhall street and the jewellery qtr and bar hop! The Lord Clifton has a small bar area at the front and a lounge area at the rear. The gem to this pub is the outside area at the rear. Part covered over with a further bar situated outside. The drinks selection here is fantastic and a real surprise for a venue in this location. World lagers, real ale, decent cider selection, decent wine, spirits and bottled drinks selection all there for every taste. The mix of people who drink here is fantastic and real show Birmingham off for the city it is with it's diversity. But this is in crede and age also! Friendly atmosphere prevails here and no stuffy dress codes. It is a very trendy bar with friendly folk and a great drinks selection. I have not eaten here but the food is constantly flying out of the kitchen so it must be pretty decent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethereal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord Clifden also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Lord Clifden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing