We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
Review of Fumo

Fumo
Ranked #92 of 2,204 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fumo was launched in June 2012 and is part of the award-winning San Carlo Group which operates outstandingly successful, modern Italian restaurants throughout the UK. They include venues in Birmingham, Bristol, Leicester, Manchester, Leeds, Liverpool and the legendary Signor Sassi opposite Harrods in London's fashionable Knightsbridge Green - now in its 28th year. San Carlo also has a portfolio of stunning Signor Sassi restaurants in capital cities across the World which currently include Kuwait, Beirut and Bangkok. The independent, family-owned business was founded in Birmingham in 1984 by Carlo Distefano and is recognised for its superb freshly prepared regional food, impeccable service and lively, friendly atmosphere. Each week the best quality ingredients are bought from the markets in Milan to ensure Carlo's high standards, passion and insistence to 'never compromise on quality' are maintained. San Carlo Group restaurants epitomise all that is best in genuine Italian hospitality. Traditionally Italian.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Once again we visited fumo, this time, just for a quick bite, it was very good as i have said in a previous review. The service was good and the food was great and what a pretty restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishfingerandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    321
    121
    67
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fumo? More like fuming!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I would love to tell you how fantastic the food is at Fumo but unfortuately we decided to go elsewhere due to very poor organisation and service...

We did our research and discovered that you cannot book for tables less than six so we decided to get there early ish and take our chances...

When we arrived at 7:30pm we were told to get a drink at the very expensive bar and should not be waiting any longer than 40 minutes.

Whilst waiting we noticed the place started to get very busy with more and more people squeezing in around the bar. The woman seating people clearly had no idea what was going on as she looked completely lost. My husband went over to ask the manager how long it would be after we had waited 50 minutes and he said another 40 minutes. The final straw came when a table of four that arrived after us, were seated.

Main problem is the restaurant is very small but the bar large in comparison. Looks like they want you to sit and drink while you wait a very long time for your table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P4DDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very expensive tapas”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went with friends on a Friday evening. Restaurant packed. Ordered food, but only half of the orders came. The other dishes did not follow, so we had to constantly chase our already harrased waiter. He mad several excuses as to why the dishes had not appeared. When the dishes finally arrived he said they would be complimentary along with shared desserts and liqueurs. Whilst this was a very nice gesture we were very unhappy with the overall service. I feel the restauarant was in a rush to get us out. Do not expect a relaxed dining atmosphere.


The tapas are good but expensive and you advised when ordering to order 2-3.

Will not be in a rush to re visit this restaurant

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juhu45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian tapas”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went here for a post graduation meal, we liked the look of it and the prices were VERY reasonable but, the Italian tapas concept was explained to us. Most dishes are smaller (hence the prices) so you order an assortment to share and they arrive whenever they're ready and in no particular order. We ordered a different pasta each (not to share but the portions weren't that small) we accompanied that with 'bread', which were like thin sandwiches. The star choice seemed to be a deep fried pizza which was 'one of the best meals ever!'. We didn't stay for dessert but the service and food were excellent and the overall price was quite reasonable although I'm sure you could spend a lot if you wanted to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had five courses to share a sweet to die for couple of drinks and the best coffee in town fot £65
Please don't all go at once I like this place loud and lively

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J3dvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fumo also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Fumo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing