We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Angus Hotel
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Staff seemed friendly and helpful when my key stopped working. There was some noise from a 24 hour building development nearby but not enough to interrupt sleep. Room was a bit cold and the TV had a strange start up procedure that took about one minute. Breakfast was standard self service. Average.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Work_Traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay and your high service scores.

I can update you on the local building work in that the time is restricted to business hours and should not have any effect on our guests.

I would suggest that the noise that you experienced was some emergency road work that the council carried out during December and was very much a once off.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 907 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked the hotel because it was central and i got a cheap rate and it had access to 24 hour parking (even though it is expensive). some reviews made me wonder if this was a wise choice. After staying there i wonder if i stayed at a different hotel. The staff were all very helpful and they explained(as did information in the room) how to obtain the reduced parking. the room was clean and comfortable, The radiator worked and the shower was hot The breakfast was great if fairly standard. I asked for a rear room and got one and heard no noise from any traffic.

i am not a fan of Birmingham and only go if i have a good reason for being there but i would gladly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room round the back are quiet for a city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Wow, what a great review - 5 stars - thank you!

I am really pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations based on previous reviews. The hotel did experience some issues late last year with an on-going boiler upgrade and I am pleased to read your acknowledgement that this is now fully rectified.

I am also pleased that we are now your Birmingham hotel of choice and recommend that you keep an eye on our website where you will always get the best deal.

Thank you!

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Restaurant staff were helpful and friendly, but average food and very long waiting times to get served.

The hotel is right next to a noisy main road, which isn't helped by the windows not closing properly. My radiator was constantly on full with no way of turning it off and having asked at reception for someone to look at it twice I finally gave up. I couldn't bear to speak to the most sour faced male and female receptionist again (most of the receptionist were lovely except these two).

The shower is either scalding hot or lukewarm depending on the time of day. The TVs have few channels and the bar is a rip off. Loud hen parties at the weekend are almost guaranteed to wake you up, but at least you'll definitely be up for breakfast. Rooms could do with modernising.

Would only recommend this hotel for somewhere to sleep if you were having a weekend away with your friends of a hen party. Hugely disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Active22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

Your feedback is constructive and I am pleased to update you on changes since your stay.

We launched a new menu in December which has been very popular amongst our guests and offers great value for good food.

After a full heating upgrade we no longer have any issues in the balance of heat and I am confident that the issue you mention is now resolved.

As part of our commitment in becoming more environmentally efficient whilst saving energy, our in Room TV's have a program which controls the "sleep" mode. Once the TV is turned on it does take a minute to start up and all rooms now have information to inform our guests of this.

I am genuinely sorry that you felt disappointed and would ask that you contact me direct through the hotel so we can discuss this further.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Organised a workshop for delegates coming from across the UK and couldn't have been more pleased with the facilities and service at the Thistle Birmingham.
All staff that we encountered were very attentive, friendly, polite yet professional and nothing was too much trouble, lead on that day by Becky the DM who checked and double checked that our event was running smoothly.
Food was plentiful and of good quality and the rooms clean and well presented.
Already planning a return visit

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is clean and tidy. The rooms are what you would expect from a Thistle hotel. This hotel overlooks a busy road junction so if you want peace and quiet, ask for a room at the back. The staff here couldn't be more helpful from check in to the maintenance man. I had a problem with my bath that was fixed within ten minutes of me notifying the Receptionist. The breakfast was excellent with hot sausage, bacon etc, fresh fruit, yoghurts and porridge. The only minor downside was the tea is pre-prepared and served by the staff from a thermos - not strong nor very tasty. The downside to the hotel is the whopping £18.45 I had to pay for parking my car in the NCP attached to the hotel. You can walk into the 2nd floor of the hotel from the NCP and in the good old downpours we have had recently this was a godsend. The fee includes a 23% discount for staying in the hotel so at least you don't have to pay full price. The large notices drawing your attention to this discount are apparent for all to see! They have obviously noted the fact that some of the rooms get cold as they have installed extra (portable) heaters in them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wotnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed last saturday and found a gem. This is 2 mins walk from the city centre and the staff were really helpfull , switched rooms so we had a double ( twin was reserved ) and the room was large warm and beds were great . Breakfast was included and you can eat like a king on the buffet and they will cook omlets and other things from scratch . This has now become my go 2 place to stay in birmingham.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear of the hotel away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wescott195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The good massively weighed out the bad when we visited this hotel very recently.

Excellent check-in, nice room, comfy bed, good evening meal, great service all round, and fab breakfast.

Only complaint was that the shower was luke-warm - and a number of friends in other rooms had the same issue.

Otherwise, would be rated 5 star for the price paid.

Less than 10 min drive from city centre and quite quiet on an evening.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
924 reviews
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 118 in Birmingham
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
482 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Angus Hotel

Address: St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England (Formerly Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $139 - $1,465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Angus Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel close to the city's famous Bullring. Located in central Birmingham, The Royal Angus Hotel is an excellent choice for discovering Britain's second-largest city. Local highlights include the Bullring Shopping Centre, with several theme parks and other outdoor attractions within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Thistle Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing