We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed last Saturday great hotel fantastic Breakfast and so cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Angus Hotel
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed last saturday and found a gem. This is 2 mins walk from the city centre and the staff were really helpfull , switched rooms so we had a double ( twin was reserved ) and the room was large warm and beds were great . Breakfast was included and you can eat like a king on the buffet and they will cook omlets and other things from scratch . This has now become my go 2 place to stay in birmingham.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear of the hotel away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wescott195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 909 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

The good massively weighed out the bad when we visited this hotel very recently.

Excellent check-in, nice room, comfy bed, good evening meal, great service all round, and fab breakfast.

Only complaint was that the shower was luke-warm - and a number of friends in other rooms had the same issue.

Otherwise, would be rated 5 star for the price paid.

Less than 10 min drive from city centre and quite quiet on an evening.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed here on the 22nd sept for 1 night.overall appearance very good.the room we stayed in was clean.there was no way of controlling the heatiing.the pillows were cheap and nasty and very uncomfortable.the window would not shut firmly and there were gaps in the insulating and because we were next to the main road we could here all the traffic noise.in the morning there was no hot water and we were told it was due to builders next door.

Room Tip: make sure u ask for a room in the centre of the hotel away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Dean

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on Trip Advisor.

I am really sorry to note your comments and would like an opportunity to speak direct with you. Could you please contact me through the hotel so we can discuss this further.

I can assure you that had you let us know that there was an issue with noise we would have moved your room and ensured you were more comfortable for the duration of your stay.

With regards to the heat and hot water, I can now confirm that the issue has now been resolved with a new boiler, controls and associated pipework that went live on the first week of November 2012.

On a positive note, our housekeeping Manager will be pleased to note that you have given the hotel 5 stars on cleanliness and I am pleased to see you gave us 4 stars on service.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Central hotel, very convenient for city centre although could have done with some directions to the hotel. Staff were efficient, friendly and helpful, particularly when we were concerned our neighbours may be noisy at night. The room was spotless, the bed was really comfortable but the bathroom was slightly small. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice of good quality food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mg2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

What a great review! thank you very much for taking the time to offer your positive experience.

I am delighted to read your comments about our staff, the comfort of your bed and a great breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Birmingham.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not for me...it was booked by our travel team at work. I would not personally ever book it. Food was tasteless, hotel looked dated, tired and grim...bed was very uncomfortable could feel every spring in the mattress. Loads of noise through the night. View of an NCP was very depressing..surprisingly breakfast was actually ok. Glad to be home.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Stefan

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review following your stay at the hotel.

I am disappointed to note your feedback and would like an opportunity to speak with you direct in a bid to renew your faith in our service.

Please contact me direct through the hotel so I can discuss your experience further.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel in December 2009, and I was told that the inadequate heating and hot water were caused by a breakdown in one of the boilers. When we stayed there in October 2012, the place was still cold, although standalone radiators were now provided, which made the room a little less cold but were no use in the public areas. The hotel and the meals are fine (although the breakfast items weren't hot), so if it weren't for the chilly enviroment I would have been happy.

Room Tip: Bring a hot water bottle and a hypothermia blanket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Felccia

Thank you for your balanced review following your recent stay at the hotel.

Although I can't comment on your previous stay in 2009, I am delighted to inform you that after a period of internal refurbishment we are now live with a brand new boiler with a new heat and hot water system.

Thank you for your 4 stars on service, sleep quality and location it is very much appreciated.

Please contact me direct through the hotel should you return to Birmingham so I can personally ensure you have a great stay.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

after reading previous reviews thought i must add my own. myself and my husband stayed there for 1 night on the 12th oct .receptionist very helpful on check in ,gave us easy to follow directions to NIA which took about 20 mins slow walk , also 20 mins from broad street where there are many bars and lovely restaurants overlooking canal. room was clean and warm with additional electric heater if needed,bed one of the most comftable we have slept in ,alright view wasn't up to much but we didn't go to spend time looking out of the window .all in all enjoyable stay and would definatly go again if we want to stay in birmingham.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evertonworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Wow, a fantastic and reassuring review to read. Thank you very much for taking the time to do this.

I am delighted that you had a great experience and really look forward to meeting you next time you return.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
893 reviews
Conference Aston Hotel
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,594 reviews
PREMIER SUITES Birmingham
#81 of 118 in Birmingham
252 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Angus Hotel

Address: St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England (Formerly Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $128 - $1,358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Angus Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel close to the city's famous Bullring. Located in central Birmingham, The Royal Angus Hotel is an excellent choice for discovering Britain's second-largest city. Local highlights include the Bullring Shopping Centre, with several theme parks and other outdoor attractions within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Thistle Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing