We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best hotel in Birmingham...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still the best hotel in Birmingham...”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel du Vin is still the best hotel in Birmingham city centre. Fantastic rooms, the food in the bistro is amazing, the bar is great and the staff are really welcoming and helpful (especially Sophie and Matilde who looked after us so well last night).

Many thanks, be back again soon

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveDonut12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Dave

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to post them to the world on TripAdvisor.

Many of our team follow the reviews on TripAdvisor and we read through them in our daily briefings and monthly management meetings. I can tell you that Sophie and Mathilde were over the moon to read your comments and to see their names online.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards and thanks again, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    476
    261
    123
    70
See reviews for
164
661
37
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have stayed here on numberous occassions and we booked for my 50th birthday. Again the staff could not be more helpful, rooms spacious and the Sunday brunch is excellent and so is breakfast. Again thank you, this hotel is one of the best. We will be back very soon. Tracey and Paul

Room Tip: Have a room facing the courtyard as the ones on the outside tend to be noisy due to the city centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Tracy and Paul

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer a review on your stay . . particularly such a nice one, thank you.

It's great to hear you had such a good time celebrating and of course one of many it seems, after many years of repeat visits.

I hope that you will continue to return to Hotel du Vin for many years to come, we certainly relish the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest regards, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is probably the best hotel in Birmingham in my opinion, it is built on the site of the old Birmingham eye hospital, but do not let that put you off, the rooms are first class, the restaurant is great and the bar is fantastic. Quite quirky but the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, you will get a good nights sleep here for sure as the beds are top quality. You are right in the centre of town with plenty to do all within walking distance. It is certainly not the cheapest hotel in Birmingham, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Peter D

Thank you so much for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

The hotel is set to get better still with some new investment later this year.

Kindest regards, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wanted a place with a nice bar, decent room and excellent breakfast. All those boxes were ticked, and then some.

Checked in on a Friday evening and the main lounge area was buzzing with the chilled out trendy set. Room was small but nicely decorated. This is a converted Victorian building (late 1800s) and the fittings are appropriately trad-chic rather than contemporary-chic.

Arriving at 1.30am wanting a final drink in the bar, the knowledgeable bar staff in the Champagne bar were more than happy to oblige, finding us a fabulous 20 year old Port. We weren't made to feel rushed at all.

Breakfast in the morning was superb, with everything from yoghurt and fruit, honeycomb and croissants, to a proper Full English.

Niggles? Footsteps from the room above were very noisy (hard to avoid in a Victorian building). The shower was powerful but unpredictable. There wasn't a plug socket next to the bed to keep phones on charge. Only 2 thin pillows are provided per person, so ask for more if you need them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Rose T

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

It is fantastic to hear you had such a good stay and my team and I genuinely appreciate your kind comments.

You mentioned a niggle about what I assume is creaky floorboards. This problem is exasperated by the age of this beautiful building but we will look to rectify this issue in the rooms it affects in our upcoming refurbishment. I'll see what we can do about plug sockets too. Part of our refurbishment is looking at the hot water system and this will eradicate the fluctuation in temperature.

Kindest regards and thanks again for your positive and constructive feedback.

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Let's imagine you have to go to Birmingham for the weekend for some reason (NB really don't go unless you have to....), then this is probably your best option in a city with very few choices at the upper end. It's definitely in the best area of town, being well located for the cathedral and town hall and away from the seedier end down the hill. The rooms are quite dark and, frankly, pretty tired. The feel is rather institutional (reflecting the building's original use) and I wouldn't really give it any rating for romance (contrary to HdV brand image). This branch of the chain is in serious need of a re-vamp. The staff are clueless. Hello, we said to the nice ladies on reception, how do we get to the O2 Academy from here? Neither of them had any idea what it was, never mind where it was. The staff in the restaurant were often no better. I asked a waitress for a glass of wine, specifying which one from the menu. Sorry, I was told, only the sommelier can take wine orders! So we waited, and waited... Breakfast was a feast of incompetence and pretty poor quality. The staff are all lovely personally and trying hard but what the place desperately needs is some quality management. (Ps if like us you have to take some teenagers to see a boyband at the O2, you might like to know that the Radisson Blu is conveniently located right opposite.....but I would avoid that location otherwise.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aethelthryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Aethelthryth

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and endorsement of HdV as the likely best hotel destination in Birmingham.

I have acknowledged your constructive criticisms too and apologise for our inability to give you immediate directions to the 02 Academy. We are due to receive maps containing information on all such important locations very shortly.

It is also unacceptable for the waitress to make you wait for the Sommelier to take a wine order. As a returning guest you will likely know, we have a short wine list on the menu and a more extensive leather bound Sommelier list to offer more choice. We have done that specifically so that you can order wine straight away should you wish to do so. Please accept my apologies that this did not happen.

However, I must playfully challenge you on two points of opinion rather than anything related to service;

Firstly, your advice to "Avoid Birmingham unless you have to" - as somebody from London myself, now living in Birmingham I have to say that the city has improved dramatically over the years and has become a real hot spot for the Arts, entertainment, dining, history and heritage. I would be delighted to give you a list of fantastic places to visit for your next stay.

Secondly, your statement that Hotel du Vin Birmingham is not a romantic place to visit is simply not true. A candle lit Bistro du Vin is a wonderful place to relax and unwind with the special person in your life and probably the most romantic dining room in Birmingham.

Thank you once again for your constructive comments and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and being able to further cement our credentials as "Probably your best bet in Birmingham" following our refurbishment later this year.

Kindest regards, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I decided to book this HDV in Birmingham for a treat as we were dining in the city on the Saturday evening. We had stayed at this hotel in our city before, and loved the character and standards of service you receive. The hotel is a lovely place to stay. The check in was good and the room, was a lovely large suite that had enough room for a whole family. One of the joys of the HDV brand are the large (on the whole) bathrooms with the super powerful monsoon showers and deep baths. Our room was fine, no issues with it though we noticed no dvd player or music channels on the TV. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. A good stock of cold and hot choices and lovely freshly squeezed orange juice which was a pleasant bonus. The bar is excellent though busy at times and the restaurant, though no dinner on this occasion is a romantic space with good quality seasonal food. HDV in Birmingham is good choice to stay whilst in the city, and is in a quiet area, with some good bars and coffee shops/restaurants near by. Plus there is a fine whisky list for that pre sleep drink. A superb romantic stay.

Room Tip: Always try for a larger room as they have more space in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoetfromBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear PoetfromBirmingham

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel du Vin Birmingham.

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you are such fans of the the hotel. Long may that continue and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

In response to your comments about in room entertainment you may be intetrested to know that whilst we have removed DVD players from the rooms we do still them available upon request at no extra charge. We are also in the process of replacing all of our current TVs with new HD Smart TVs that will have the full range of freeview channels in addition to the current pay to air Sky channels. Music channels will then be available also.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon so that you can enjoy these improvements.

Kindest regards and thank you once again, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner booked this hotel based on the fact we had stayed in a hotel du vin previously but else where.
On arrival we checked in and were told the floor. Well we walked around separately in one big circle hoping to find the room!! Either someone should take you to the room or at least give some form of direction. We weren't the only people as I seen other guests getting out of the lift looking bewildered as to where they were supposed to go. No wall directions as all rooms are named not numbered.
The room I would class as average and standard. Dust on the photo frames above the bed, not a need to complain but still not acceptable anywhere you stay. Bathroom slightly worn but still not worthy of a complaint just a mention.
Room On a whole was ok, Bed was comfortable, however, this may sound picky but the pillows are wafer thin and are not comfortable and no alternatives or additional ones available in the wardrobe.
The staffs customer service is lacking enthusiasm to say the least.
We visited the bar and were told no wine menu, when the prices kept varying we started requesting receipts. We asked for 175ml wine and they served it, howeer the next person to serve us advised they didnt do 175ml wine. It didn't make much sense. Different charges dependant on the staff serving. Helpful Service doesn't cost anything.
A few tweaks and I would return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear PCosmo

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin and for your constructive feedback.

I am sorry to hear elements of your stay were not satisfactory and I have taken these comments on board and will investigate further.

It is our policy to offer to "room guests", showing them to their room whenever we can, however, if we have a large queue at reception or if we are valet parking a number of cars at once then this is not always possible. It can be confusing having room names instead of numbers but the team are usually very good at giving accurate directions.

I am surprised and disappointed to hear that you experienced differing prices at the bar. We have a number of wine lists available on the bar and these relate directly to buttons on the till so there is no opportunity for the team to enter their own price. I can only imagine, with a list of so many different wines a different type of chardonnay has been charged for, perhaps, or as you say, a different size has been sold. Please accept my sincere apologies for this, I will certainly follow up on this matter with my team.

We also have a number of different pillow types available on request so if ever you do need extra pillows or thicker pillows please just let us know. You can even request this at the time of booking and we'll have them ready for you.

I do hope you will return as I know the niggles you experienced can easily be remedied.

Kindest regards and thank you once again, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing