We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in Birmingham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

All the hotel Du Vin are excellent that I have stayed in, Birmingham no exception however it does feel a bit tired now in the rooms and probably need a redecoration. The bar is excellent and a great venue for business users. Excellent breakfast ingredients however they forgot my tomato when asking for no black pudding - also no baked beans ! Valet parking very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davebes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    470
    257
    121
    70
See reviews for
163
652
36
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I visited here on Saturday 16th February for my friends 40th Birthday and we had afternoon tea. We chose the £18 tea which includes a glass of champagne. We thought it was excellent value for money and lovely surroundings, as our table was in the Bistro.

The service could have been a little more attentive but overall it's a lovely way to spend an afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Liz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towcester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

a generally nice building but a little tired in places. on arrival the waiting bay outside the hotel was full but the valet parking service took care of my car promptly, this was the only prompt thing for the rest of the weekend. pub was booked for a wedding party, half of bar booked for a birthday party, very little space left for other guests too few barmen so slow service. breakfast was a shambola with very slow service indeed but quality good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just got home from a fantastic wedding held at Hotel Du Vin. The staff were fabulous - so welcoming and do anything to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel itself is lovely, lots of big, airy rooms beautifully restored and full of character. Our bedroom was on the 3rd floor and a very good size, big wardrobes, huge bathroom with big bath and towelling dressing gowns. It was very quiet in the room and the bed was massive, slept so well!
The wedding reception was brill - good food, staff again just so lovely - we finished it in the downstairs pub where we all danced the night away. Extra impressive in the fact it was all organised in 2months (they got engaged in December!)
Breakfast was delish - a real mix of pastries and yummy eggs benedict. Orange juice was squeezed in front of us and the croissants were spot on.

The Valet parking was a great touch - we handed over the car keys and had no worries or responsibility for the whole stay.

Thank you so much Hotel Du Vin for a great weekend!

I have no idea what the surrounding area was like or where we were so no idea what was outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
380 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for one night recently, although my husband has stayed here before a few times when in Birmingham on business.
All the staff were friendly & helpful & the breakfast was excellent with the hot food cooked to order & plenty of cold choices (fruit, pastries, cereals etc).
Unfortunately the room we were given was smaller than some of the ones my husband had stayed in before alone, typical! The TV is quite small & not a lot of channels - couldn't even get a 24hour news channel with is unusual.
I agree with another comment that there is nothing free to nibble on & a small box of pringles was £3.25, a hotel of this calibre should at least provide a few biscuits for free.
The reception/lobby area is quite dark which is not a good look & in general we feel it is in need of some TLC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToffeeCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I took my wife for lunch at the Hotel du Vin Bistro. The food and service was awful. Although only three tables were occupied it took for ever to be served. When the food finally arrived it was cold. My main course of steak was all fat and gristle and we were persuaded to have extra vegetables which were unnecessary. The coffees were stone cold and we rejected them. A real horror show and that bad meal cost £55. At least Macdonalds offers value and hot food .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
571 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This only gets a very good because of it's bistro, which still has good food and wine, and a good buzz to it. The hotel is in need of TLC though. From the lift to the lobby, the first impression is not good. Opening the door to the room didn't improve things, specially as the large wardrobe bloked any chance of wheeling the suitcase further than just inside the room. I hated the room, though this has something to do with my dislike of very high ceilings. The bathroom was good, but the bright lights stopped any chance of having a relaxing bath. Shame, and a bit of a basic thing to not have the lights on separate swtches. Excellent bed, but there are much better Hotel du Vins than this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing