We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary special!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a deluxe double, but was upgraded to a deluxe suite. The room was stunning, spacious and relaxing with all the facilities you expect at HdV. Peaceful night slightly marred by road works in the street ourside at 4am, but there was nothing the Hotel could do about that!
After an amazing "monsoon" shower we had, what has been described as, the best breakfast in Birmingham. Try it; it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: If you see roadworks outside...see if they can move you. Birmingham undertakes city centre work at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,284 - 1,290 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked afternoon tea at Hotel du vin to celebrate a close friends Birthday. There were a group of 11 of us and we were sat in the stunning atrium area with a candle lit table, which was a lovely touch as it was approaching early evening and getting dark. Although, it has to be said, we did feel chilly at times. But this was lifted by a wonderful array of sandwiches and a selection of freshly made cakes. Our Gluten free guest was also catered for. The young man ( Ben ) who looked after us was extremely attentive, professional and had this ' cheeky chappy ' charm about him which we all loved.
Overall, it was the perfect start to what became a terrific evening and we will defiantly be returning to Hotel du vin.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

As my review says, this was our first stay at a Hotel Du Vin so had reasonably high expectations.

The room was very nice, we were on the second floor in a deluxe double. Bathroom was great although I couldn't help feeling the toilets needed replacing and something a tad more modern brought in.

Didn't notice any biscuits or free water in the room which was surprising. Very comfortable otherwise. Bar staff were extremely friendly, as were the restaurant staff. We ate in the Bistro in the evening, very nice indeed, service was faultless.

We would definitely stay again although comparing this hotel to different ones I have stayed at in London, it needs a refurb in parts. Close to all amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Reception is a bit dark, and the steps at the front of the entrance a bit odd, but then I'm done with negative comments. An amazingly warm team, knowledgeable and welcoming. Bistro does exactly what it says on the tin. IMHO my kidneys were too devilled, but that was made up for by excellent Moules and a solid rib eye steak.

We were on a DB&B deal about £160 which was incredible value so we spent the "saving" (!) on wine - of course our choice -and it was well advised and served by the sommelier.

Really made for a relaxing stay and over performed it's price bracket.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cracker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stopped at the Hotel Du Vin in Birmingham last night and sadly there has been a real downwards spiral in service, it was a very disappointing experience ranging from rooms not ready, luggage lost and a very bizarre experience in the restaurant. Big tip do not order the choucroute this is a traditional meal that does not reflect the description on the menu.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean190263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night as we were attending an evening Wedding reception. I thought the reception area was a bit dark, but the staff were friendly and helpful. It was a bit confusing not having room numbers, they had names instead. There was no guidance on the corridor walls to show which direction you had to go in to look for your room, you just had to wonder around until you found it. Room lovely and comfortable, great shower over the bath. Plenty of toiletries on offer and WOW A HUGE towel to dry oneself with!!! Hotels usually offer daft little towels so this was a bonus. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room, a fridge, safe. There was also an iron and ironing board (should you get really bored haha) TV and I think a DVD player (?) Oh and the obligatory hairdryer :) Breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from and cooked to order so it was nice and hot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonWombourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm a fan of the Hotel du Vin chain and this as a good experience. Surprised to see references below to poor staff attitudes as everyone I met, from reception to bistro to bar, was friendly and helpful - in fact in the bistro almost overwhelmingly so - and the customer care first class.

The meal in the bistro was very good, breakfast less outstanding but acceptable. The hotel is based in a converted hospital in a nice quarter of Brirmingham, much improved as a city overall from the hell-hole of twenty years ago, which means that the ceilings are high (good) but the windows are small (bad). As the exterior was scaffolded for refurbishment, that meant the room was rather dark, but bed comfortable and bathroom spacious. I would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
966 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,196 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,523 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
1,021 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $123 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing