We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, fab room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is on the pricey side so not for everybody, but if you want a truly romantic getaway or a business trip in style, this would be the place!!
However, the staff are friendly & make you feel welcome as soon as you come in
The room was located on a sub-floor, which was OK but no mobile phone reception... so finally some peace & quiet!!
The bed is so comfortable & the bathroom is a delight (I love a bath!!)
The location is in the heart of Birmingham with access to one stain station (Snow Hill), a taxi rank and plenty of shops as well as nice restaurants
The gym/SPA was good so I did have an effective workout & a quick visit to the team room did me wonders!
Excellent selection of choice at breakfast, better than most places I’ve been too so a huge plus for someone who likes food (which I really, really do!)

Room Tip: As for a room facing the front if it's important for people to reach you on your mobile!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueyes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

For the first night away on our honeymoon we hoped for something special. We booked a suite, but were delighted to be upgraded to the premier suite. An amazing suite, vast, comfortable, luxurious. Twin baths, a gym, a view of the Cathedral.
Nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious, and the Bistro has ambiance. Breakfast also very enjoyable. Emma, the Front of House Manager, could not have been more helpful and friendly, and her team plus the Bistro team all contributed to a dream of a stay. Expectations exceeded at every stage, well done and thank you.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here several times in recent months and it does what it says on the tin. Very good room, great service, very good food and very comfortable. Staff are personable without being over bearing. It's hard to understand how quality can vary between hotels in the same chain. Must come down to local management...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnniestrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Manchester, United Kingdom
2211
Reviewed August 31, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spa here is lovely. Rooms really nice, big upgraded rooms really nice, chilled hotel A+++ bar and restaurant are small so very romantic, candlelit. Bigger rooms have walk in showers and a lot of space... If you want an intimate stay this is the place

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on a secret escapes.com offer. We upgraded to a deluxe room and enjoyed dinner in the Bistro on the fantastically good value early bird dinner menu. The staff were wonderful throughout, very helpful, welcoming and didn't make you feel at all rushed even though the restaurant was actually quite busy. The room was ok, a bit dark and tired - i'm not sure it lived up to its "boutique" reputation but the communal parts of the hotel are lovely. I'm not sure i'd rush to return unless the price made it worthwhile but it was perfectly fine for a city stay and i'd certainly eat in the Bistro and drink in the bar and Pub Du Vin again.

Room Tip: I think the Deluxe rooms may be on the highest floor (3rd) but don't choose this option unless y...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vodkagirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had booked a superior room, but were emailed offering us an upgrade for an additional £5. The room was very large and comfortable. A nice place to relax. The location is great and a very short taxi to the station.
Breakfast service was a bit poor, but maybe we a bit late down.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mifccak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
941 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,084 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
2,311 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,008 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $119 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing