We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay in the centre of Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in the centre of Birmingham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed here for a single night in December. The hotel itself was nice with large spacious rooms and excellently equipped bathrooms (loved the rainfall shower). The room was nicely equipmed with Nespresso coffee machine (although some kind of key to what the different coloured coffee packets actually meant would have been nice), TV and DVD player & honour mini bar. I booked on the B&B rate which makes breakfast £10 rather than £12.50. There was a good selection of cold items in the buffet and a reasonable selection of hot items – a bit limited for a vegetarian, however they did make me a very nice omelette.

My only gripe really is that the room was clearly set up for two people, and yet there was only one armchair. Being a large room the TV was sufficiently far away the watching from the bed was not an option so had we wanted to watch TV or make use of the DVD player one of us would have had to sit on the hard uncomfortable desk chair. Quite frankly when the room has more than enough space to accommodate arms chairs or even a sofa putting in one chair is distinctly stingy.

A couple of things worth pointing out for anyone else thinking of staying here:
Parking – there is an NCP car park very close to the hotel that charges £10.50 for 24 hours, and in fact when I asked about parking I was told to use this rather than the £20 a night valet parking they mentioned on the web page. This is all well and good, but the car park is pay and display and will only take coins and does not give any change. So be prepared and take the right money.

Street noise – this is not something that bothers me, and when staying in a city I like to hear the hustle and bustle outside. However if noise bothers you then I will point out that there was a fair bit of it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    469
    257
    121
    69
See reviews for
162
650
36
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Easy to find, centrally located, friendly check-in AND valet parking....a great way to start any mini-break!

You generally know what you're going to get with hotel du vin and it rarely fails to disappoint. Lovely hotel, great decor and just a few steps away from the city centre. The reception staff had customer service down to a fine art, even remembering our names and room without any prompt.

Our bedroom was clean, comfortable and we loved the decor. The room had everything you need including a wonderful old-fashioned style bath tub (fit for two) and there was a nice bottle of red ready to hand. Bliss! Yes, it's a little bit more expensive than most generic hotel chains but it's worth every penny, especially if you're on a leisure break with a partner and it's a bit of a treat.

There are a few areas where there was room for improvement. I've visited a few Hotel du Vin hotels now and the curse of understaffing in the bar reared it's ugly head again...and they had also run out of Baileys. In the big scheme of things though, the hotel had notched up enough brownie points for this not to be an issue!

A great hotel to unwind in, enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmaleigh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Having had good previous experience with Hotel du Vin, I booked a deluxe double room here as a surprise for my wifes birthday. We weren't disappointed - the room was spacious and the bathroom was enormous, with fantastic walk-in shower and roll top bath. As we were having a rare night away from our two-year old, these were enjoyable luxuries, as was the comfortable superking bed, plus breakfast in bed in the morning - delicious and good value too.

Customer service was good - when inquring in advance how late we could check out, I was told that normal check-out was 11.30am, but that they could push it back to 1.30pm for us.

I booked in advance at the HdV saver rate through the Hotel du Vin website, which gave us a really good price for a fantastic night away.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SolarPoweredDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heald Green Cheshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a lovely hotel, within a 10 minute walk from the Station ( new st), in the centre.
The bedrooms are named after Wines and Champagnes, mine, was spotlessly clean.
The Bistro provides fantastic food, and Dan and staff in the Bistro are wonderful.
My only comment, is the LOUD DREADFUL background music that is played in the Bistro. Which cannot be turned off !!! (This is not acceptable)
There are 2 bars, one upstairs in the Hotel reception, where you can sit at the bar, or relax in huge leather settees, and one in the basement, leading out onto the side street.
There is a snooker table on the ground floor, and the public toilets are spotless.
The reception area lighting could be improved, although it was not as dark as others have commented on. The reception staff are welcoming, and checking-in took a couple of minutes. There in no Hotel carpark, so they will take your car to a multi story car park at the rear of the hotel, in an exclusive secure area for the Hotel, at an extra cost. There is 20 mins of free internet in your room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I was very unimpressed by the Hotel du Vin, Birmingham. To begin with, the lobby is extremely dark and grotty and the 'courtyard' behind it is bare, cold and strewn with random bits of crap furniture. The common areas of the hotel were worn and shabby, including carpets which were threadbare.

Check-in was reasonable. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room on the third (highest) floor. Our room was a 'superior' room costing £180/night (breakfast included). The room was large but extremely poorly decorated and furnished. There weren't even bedside lamps, which is quite astonishing. There was a very small TV, a medium-sized bed and a desk and wardrobe that had seen better days.

Positive points were that the bathroom was very nice and that the bed clothes were nice quality cotton. However, the pillows were absolutely tiny. We had to ask for more (which they did provide).

Service was extremely slow in the restaurant. The food was pretty good, but not worth the top-notch prices they charge. Breakfast was pretty good. Service was extremely mixed. A couple of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, but yet there were also some bizarrely rude and unhelpful people. As an example - the waitress in the breakfast room on the first morning asked me what room we were staying in. I replied "Clos Mogador" (the rooms don't have numbers, they have names). She looked at me crossly and said "Wha?" so I repeated. She looked angrily at me again, shook her head, reached on to the table, picked up my key, read the name from it herself, threw it back down and walked off. It was nearly funny it was so rude.

Check-out was chaotic and time-consuming.

I assume there are better options in Birmingham, and this hotel is definitely not worth £180/night. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eoghanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I've stopped here on numerous occasions over the last 3 or 4 years in various rooms and suites, most recently in the Alfred Gratien room. To be honest the hotel is starting to look a little on the tired side. It's just the little things - shower seal missing, so we managed to flood the bathroom and some of the shower screen fixtures missing. Grout in the bathroom looking tired, decoration is getting a bit tatty. Beds are a bit on the squeaky side (like the floors) Its sort of morphing into shabby chic as opposed to boutique. The mini bar is horrifically expensive (nothing new i suppose.) No free wifi in rooms which at £160.00 room only is poor. I'd happily forgo the collection of magazines left in the room in return for this. The reception area seems to be getting darker and darker as the decoration fades......On the positive, the hotel is in a great location - couple of minutes walk to Centenery Square, but tucked away in the heart of the main architect / solicitors quarter. There is a great little coffee shop over the road and if you want a cheap alternative for breakfast just head for Weatherspoons on corporation street. To sum up - best of a fairly mediocre bunch of city centre hotels that seems to be trading on past glory

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the right hand side of the hotel as you look from the entrance - they are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Love the idea though the execution didn't quite meet my expectations. The hotel is an old labyrinthine building and we got lost trying to find our room more than once. Decor was great--Some ambiance, but unfortunately that "old elegance" feel also included VERY squeaky floorboards in several places. Large room, large bed. Clean. Service was a bit spotty--there was not always someone at the front desk and when I called both room service and the spa, no one answered on the first try. I also asked for a wakeup call one morning and it never happened--that's still a mystery. The onsite restaurant and bar were both fairly good. Pretty good location so you can walk around a busy area of town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b-squared555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing