We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Obviously formerly a Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Obviously formerly a Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you're familiar with the usual layout and facilities of Holiday Inn Express hotels, then you'll immediately feel at home here. The rooms are slightly bigger than the Birmingham City Centre Ibis I stayed in and breakfast is included in the price. It's just like the old style Holiday Inn Express continental breakfast - the only hot item available is a bacon bap for an additional £2.95, but you could always nip out to the nearby McDonalds for a bigger choice and bring it back to enjoy with the rest of your complimentary hotel breakfast. I prefer the slightly more soothing décor to the standard dark purple of Premier Inn, and wifi is free, so are toothbrushes and toothpaste together with some personal hygiene items if you've left yours behind. Premier Inn charges for all these things. Very comfortable bed and the room was quiet so I slept well. No bath (unlike Premier Inn) but the shower was good. Good choice of Freeview channels. They just need to improve the complimentary breakfast offering so that it includes some hot items. Compare the prices of Holiday Inn Express and Premier Inn and make your choice! You can't really compare it to the basic no frills standard of Travelodge.

It's around 10 minutes walk from New Street station but you do need to pass through the rather horrible Paradise Circus shopping centre (due to be redveloped apparently) and it's not easy to find first time. Some old maps still mark it as Holiday Inn Express which could be confusing as that is now located near to Snow Hill station.

For me it was excellent value - a Friday night stay for £25 booked in advance on the Tuesday before as part of the Accor Hotels LeClub 'Happy Mondays' offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. You have captured some great aspects of the hotel to include design, offering and value!

We were formely a Holiday Inn Express, but we hope you enjoyed the changes we made to our bedrooms and public areas to make them 'stylish'.

Come back and stay with us very soon!

Carla Barratt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    519
    195
    59
    33
See reviews for
162
337
79
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

for £60 incl parking, we were impressed to have free internet and breakfast. Service was promopt and polite. Couldn't fault it. Some good bars nearby and easy walking distance to the Bullring for shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank so_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. One of the great reasons to choose ibis Styles hotels is our All Inclusive offering which includes Breakfast, WiFi and Unlimited Tea and Coffee.

We hope you come back and stay with us again very soon.

Carla Barratt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Myself, my mum and my two kids 9 & 6 stayed here this week while visiting family. It was very clean and the bed was very cosy indeed. We opted to get two rooms which were adjoining, this was fantastic and saved the kids having to run between rooms through the hall. The staff on the desk were really lovely to deal with and very helpful.

In the foyer there was free tea, coffee and juice facilities 24hrs that saved on the pocked too.

It was only a 10 minute walk to the shops which was great and we got a taxi to the Think Tank which the kids really enjoyed. I would definitely recommend it.

We will be coming back for definite later in the year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank windston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre.

What a great review - so pleased that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel with your family.

Come back and stay with us again very soon.

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

A reasonably priced budget hotel, where you get what you pay for.
The rooms are clean and functional. The staff are (mostly) warm and welcoming and the location is suitable.

I was disappointed with the price of the bottled beers available at the hotel bar. Having a few pre dinner drinks in the hotel bar left me feeling a little "gouged"

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and friendly.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again very soon.

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

You don't get much more average than the Ibis Styles in Birmingham.

Having not stayed in an Ibis Styles before, I assumed that the tag "Styles" meant that the hotel would be stylish - or at least more so than a plain Ibis. I was wrong. It actually means that it doesn't conform to the usual ubiquitous Ibis house "style", in other words it used to belong to someone else, and didn't justify the investment to make it conform.

Staff were friendly, the breakfast adequate, the bed excellent, and the welcome gift (a fun size Cadbury curly wurly) a nice touch.

Bathroom layout very odd.

Wouldn't rule out staying there again, but it wouldn't be at the top of the list.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank busman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre.

I am pleased that you found the hotel to be comfortable and the staff friendly.

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is great and all you would expect from a budget chain clean and well presented. The Main Down side for me is although in the city centre difficult walk to the hotel through a rather I inviting 1970's underpass which was rather unpleasant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Leg016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and most importantly felt the hotel met your needs and was clean and comfortable.

If you wish to travel to and from the hotel via other routes please ask the reception team for a map and we will be happy to assist you in getting to your destination via alternative routes more suitable.

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Got good deal with night stay with free breakfast for 2 adults and 2 kids with day entry to Cadbury world with KGB for £89.00 - bargain!

Hotel was lovely and trendy! Stylish 12 yr old son approved! All spotless and well put together. Free continental breakfast was good and we paid extra £2.95 for bacon bap which was on a huge ciabatta roll - could have served two! Delicious!

Used their underground car park which was £12.00 for 24 hours and was easy and safe. I think you could event take your car in and out if you wanted to within that period but we didn't bother as all very close to centre and we walked. Particularly near to the lovely canalside area of Brindley Place and numerous fab restaurants.

The reception staff etc were lovely and very accommodating.

Only one teeny issue which was ok for us as our kids are 12 and 9 so shared the sofabed reasonably well but may have been less easy to use if your kids are older and taller! Also pillows kept falling down the back of it so they just slept the other way (or you could ask for extra pillow/blanket to stuff down the back!

Would definitely recommend hotel. Thought the microwave in foyer was nice touch as you could use this for heating baby milk and food!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review - I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and visit to Cadbury World.

We hope that should your travels bring you back to Birmingham, that you will choose to come and stay with us again.

Carla Barratt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Property: ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 120 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing