We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for an overnight stay! But could do with an update!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for an overnight stay! But could do with an update!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice hotel stayed 2 nights, could do with a room upgrade especially the TV as very poor amount of channels. Sofa bed in the room looked like it needed changing and was a little shabby looking.

Breakfast was ok but sausages were over cooked and the pastries seamed like they had been out for a while!

Room Tip: Rooms to back of hotel seam best i was in room 402 which was nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garethstalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel and for your constructive feedback which we will certainly use to improve our service.
I am delighted to advise that the hotel has a full refurbishment programme planned for 2013 including upgrading all out television channels

Kind regards
Andrea Whigham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    532
    199
    61
    34
See reviews for
164
353
80
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is in a one way system, so be ware not to miss it. The underground car park with access is a great bonus, despite the 24 hour charge. The room was large enough, comfortable and clean. Reception staff were professional and polite, however, not the breakfast staff, who didn't have any smiles or conversation.

Breakfast was very poor in terms of options and quality. I complained to the reception staff on checkout in response to their question about satisfaction, they did not seem surprised.

Great place to sleep in the City, comfortable and clean. Make sure you go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a Holiday Inn Priority Card, it makes check in simple, gives a 20% discount on food and sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTRaggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for completing your review on tripadvisor, I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I shall ensure your comments are passed to our team and hope we will have the opportunity to meet when you next visit Birmingham.

Kind regards
Andrea Whigham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of June. Beds were big and comfortable, bathroom was a decent size and everything was spotless. Breakfast was ok with the usual cereal's, yogurt and fruit but also Scrambled Egg, Sausages and Beans for anyone that wanted something hot. Only downside was no Bacon! Good location for the city centre and hotel was clean and tidy. First time we had stayed in a Holiday Inn but good value at £87 for the 2 nights through Expedia. Overall a good stay and would reccommend for people on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete3lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel .
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Kind regards
Andrea Whigham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed just one night prior to my husband attending a meeting. I had rung beforehand to get advise regarding car parking and the instructions given were spot on. Car park is underneath the hotel but access is from another road. (£10 for 24 hours) Lift up into reception. Check in swift, efficient and friendly. Good information offered on places to eat locally and hotel details.

Room allocated as requested on a high floor in a quiet location. Perfectly clean and tidy. Good air-conditioning. Shower not as powerful as some and water could have been a little hotter but maybe this was timing and for the price we paid not worth making a fuss.

Breakfast is "free" and was very good. Choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, juices, fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissant, toast, cheese, scrambled eggs, beans and sausage. The young man clearing tables and re-stocking dishes was very pleasant and friendly.

The hotel is extremly well placed in a side road within 15 minutes walk of the Jewellery Quarter and about 15 minutes walk to the Bullring. Restaurants and bars within 2 minutes and then all the way in both directions.

Would definitely stay here again if needed to be in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Back of hotel overlooks a quieter road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyfemaleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post you review on tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass your comments onto our breakfast team.

We always aim to offer good value for money and have many offers coming up over the next few months.

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit

Kind regards
Andrea Whigham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My hotel confirmation clearly states that my dinner & drinks allowance comes to £21/night. The hotel does not have a restaurant so they have an arrangement with the pub next door (which is quite alright). Disappointingly the hotel were only prepared to transfer £15 of my £21 allowance to the pub & that was just for food. I've got to buy & consume my drinks with the remaining £6 of my allowance back at the hotel - how ridiculous! Hopefully more senior management can come to their senses tomorrow

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agagagag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on tripadvisor
I am sorry that the arrangement we have with the Shakespeare Pub was such a cause of frustration to you,as we discussed I have now changed the process and wish to thank you for bringing this to my attention and making thid easier for all our future guests
Kind regards
Andrea Whigham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Had a really stay here, staff were amazing and very helpful, free breakfast was perfect.
Great location and underground secure parking (extra cost).
Enjoyed it and would 100% stay here again.
Great value when you book 21 days in advance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank top_kella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor . I shall pass the details onto our staff who will be delighted to read them.

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to the hotel
Kind regards
Andrea Whigham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here with hubby when going to a concert.. Good location and nice clean hotel. Everything you would expect of an HI Express, basic and value for money. Check in was efficient and quick. Our room was a good size. Have to say for a city centre hotel the parking facilities were first class. £10 for 24 hours and directly beneath the hotel. Drinks were reasonable and breakfast was not bad.

Even though we'd checked out of the hotel we were allowed to leave the car there until the time allowed which was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katielaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelteamBirmingham, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for completing a review on tripadvisor, I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have access to a large car park which allows us to be flexible to the needs of our customers.

Kind regards

Andrea Whigham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Property: ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 120 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing