We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here before - and would do so again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #51 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Firstly, let's understand this is a typical modern conference centre/airport hotel on the site of the National Exhibition Centre. It does most things quite well, and despite the odd hiccup on this, our fourth visit, we would stay there again either for airport stays, or visiting family in and around Birmingham.

It's usually quiet at weekends and holiday periods, and this is when travellers like us can get best value. Some building works were in progress this time, and it did impact to a degree, but the place was almost empty. Disappointingly, there was no hot breakfast buffet when we arrived an hour before they were supposed to finish serving on the Sunday. I accept with a handful of guests this is an overhead they could do without, but at £18 odd for breakfast it should be available.

Otherwise, reception, room and bar staff and pleasant and efficient. Rooms OK, and hotel facilities available for those who want them. However wi-fi is not available in rooms, and a ridiculous overcharge for broadband in this day and age is unaccepteble.

Car parking is confusing, as it appears on entry that you will be charged. However, the guide in the rooms clearly explains that parking is free for hotel guests and we were not charged during our 2 night stay.

Yes, they can do better, but at a bargain price this is an excellent place to stay. Whether I would pay the advertised rate is debatable, but weekend rates are good. Overall quite a good place to stay, and maybe one of the best in its class and area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,633 - 1,639 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night during a business trip. Its location relatively near the Birmingham Business Park was the only reason for choosing this property. This hotel was absolutely in line with my expectations: the rooms were pleasant and clean, mattress quality fine and the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manolituca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night to break up a journey, check in was quick and the staff were polite and helpful. Our room was lovely and clean, the bed was also very comfy. We ate in the bar area, which was simple bar food but served quickly, hot and tasty. Staff at all time were helpful. We cannot comment on the breakfast as we only booked room only, but if we stay again which is likely seeing the proximity to the NEC we will take breakfast instead of enduring the farce at a Little Chef!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham one night. It is a pleasant enough, airy, modern, right smack bang in the N.E.C. The hotel is on the edge of the large lake which I guess is the only redeeming feature of the N.E.C. site. Had a bit of a wait at the hotel check in as there was a queue. The room was comfortable though there was a couple of dead flies on the ceiling and a very small cobweb up there too. One of my bath towels was slightly damp but as I occupied a double I did have a second towel. I was provided witha free toothbrush as I had forgotton my own. The printed instructions for accessing phone messages don't correspond to the phone so had to call to get assistance which was irritating as it could easily be remedied. The dinner in the resturant was excellent and the breakfast wasn't bad, even though they have one of those hopeless non - toasting toasters.
However the reason that I would not choose to stay there again, is that there is only INSTANT coffee provided in the rooms. I really feel this is poor, all the other hotels I have stayed in of this calibre provided a small coffee press with some fresh ground coffee for that all important first fix of the day, the Crowne Plaza should too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MildredCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Hi,

I was invited for dinner at the Crowne Plaza with a group of colleagues from the BBC Gardening Show.

We were in a group of ten people who decided to dine in the Chinese Restaurant downstairs which advertised a 'buffet' for 25 pounds a head.

Wha a disaster! First, we were kept waiting until 8.30 pm (around 2 hours) before being shown to our seats. Upon approaching the buffet, we were presented with two trays of what I could only describe as slop - some sort of chicken with sweet and sour sauce. Also some very dried out rice and some spring rolls which looked they had been there for a number of hours.

That was about it! I asked the young girl serving, where is the rest of the buffet? Her answer? 'Well, we close in about half an hour, so these are the leftovers and thats all that there is.'

I was completely flabbegasted, not only by this response, but also by some of my colleagues who were happily loading up this rubbish onto their plates.

I had some just to taste and all I could say is bland, bland, bland! For 25 pounds a head, around 250 pounds for our table, you would at least expect a choice of dishes.

I informed the maitre'd I would not be paying for my 'buffet' as basically it didn't exist. He started talking about calling the police. I informed him I would welcome that move and I would be upstairs in the bar willing to chat with them. Needless to say, they were busy with other issues at the time.

My advice - please do NOT book the Chinese restaurant, without checking fully the range of food available - don't get ripped off!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank gfdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I booked this hotel last minute when I took my son to see the Black Eyed Peas in May.

Literally 4 minuteswalk away from the Arena - just perfect! Fast and efficient service at the front desk (both check in and out) and when we got to the room and realised that the bed settee had not been set up for my son, someone was with us and it was sorted in a matter of minutes.

We didn't take breakfast so can't comment but would deffo stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

As you'd expect well located for the NEC. Clean hotel with good facilities, nice bar restaurant areas etc. DO watch the prices, when I made the booking was told that breakfast was included is wasn't; was told the parking was included; it wasn't. At dinner a glass of house Red was £6.35, and the staff try too hard to get you to have a starter/suite; and to rub it in - a 10% service charge is added to the restuarant bill! It soon felt like the room rate was a springboard from which they launch inflated supplimentary costs.

May be just a bad experience, but next time I'll try to book somewhere else first.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1969_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $92 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing