We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #38 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel is ideal if you are visiting the NEC or LG Arena, they are both only a 5 minute walk away. Our room was spacious with double bed and seating area, TV, kettle, hairdryer but no free wifi. The breakfast choice was excellent and all the staff on duty were welcoming and attentive. If we go to Birmingham for another concert we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room 121 was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Makem4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Makem4ever,

thank you for your review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would be staying with us again when you are in the area.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    675
    283
    104
    69
See reviews for
167
514
67
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed last night as at NEC to see Billy Joel having got a prepaid deal on the room several months back incurring a saving over standard price. First impression slightly marred by some of the illuminated Crowne Plaza sign being out but any fear I had that there may be issues ahead were allayed by a superbly speedy, friendly and efficient check in. The lobby is modern and immaculate so was the lift and the hallways. I like having access to an ice machine, an american touch but one thing I feel the yanks get right over us all too often.
Room: modern fixtures and good size, much to our tastes. Immaculately clean as was bathroom with high-end toiletries and bathrobes, complimentary bottled water, ice bucket, sleep kit, chocolates, biscuits and tea&coffee facilities, also had wine glasses on the hospitality tray as well as tumblers in the bathroom and highball glasses in bedroom - a nice touch. The TV was nice and big and the bed soft and comfortable. The room service menu was tempting but traffic was so bad getting there we ate in the LG arena as we didn't want to be late for the start of the gig.
Didn't eat or drink at the hotel or use the gym so cannot comment but the restaurant and bar looked very stylish so if we had been a hour earlier we would have used them.
The real added plus of staying is the LG arena is a 5 minute walk from the hotel so you cannot get any more convenient really.
Staff: all who we encountered and dealt with were very friendly and efficient, a credit to the hotel.
For the price payed and all the little touches and extras included I really cannot fault this hotel, I would recommend it to anyone going to NEC or LG area events and would look to stay here again if going to either venue in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_O_C479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear G_O_C479,

thank you very much for your positive review regarding your stay last Friday.

I am very pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you had a great time at the concert.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Reception and Check-in Staff were very helpful on arrival explaining the hotel and the facilities. The rooms were clean and very well presented with all the amenities of a good standard hotel (robes, ironing board, trouser press, WiFi, tea coffee, mini bar etc). They even had a sleep pack to help you get to sleep which was a great touch. The WiFi was an additional charge which frustrates me as it is an essential business requirement in this day and age and even more so for a conference hotel. The breakfast was a buffet affair with a fair selection but the staff were very helpful and the food was hot and tasty. Evening menu was small but very nice food if fairly overpriced again the staff were excellent and the wine was good quality also.

The concierge on the business desk was also very helpful as we wanted to use a side room for 15 minutes to walk through our speeches before the conference and she found us a board room very quickly.

Had a few issues on checkout with the bill but the reception staff again were excellent and sorted these out very quickly and with a smile.

Overall for a hotel of this standard the rooms are very cheap (or were when I looked at them) but they do tend to make up for it on extras such as food, WiFi etc. Overall I do think the affordability of the rooms and the quality of the hotel balances this out so you pay for what you get. I would defiantly stay there again if I was at the NEC for a conference as the staff we a joy.

Room Tip: Massive building site next door at the moment and hard to avoid in this hotel but did not really bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WistowTbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear WistowTbone,

thank you very much for taking the time and leaving the positive review regarding your stay.

I am very pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was friendly and helpful throughout your stay.

I do hope that your conference was a success and I hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here for two nights the room were clean and modern. The breaks at buffet excellent.
The dinner menu was excellent especially the lamb rump! And I would recommend the Bakewell cheese cake.

The evenings entertainment was watching four rats walking in single file along the hedge outside the restaurant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Gary C,

thank you very much for your review regarding your stay.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in the hotel and I do hope you will be staying with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night before a quick city break. Great room although I'd always choose one large double bed over two smaller doubles. Facilities really good although the gym could have been a bit better. Three course meal good value (booked with holiday extras). A hidden charge was easily rectified on return. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greekbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear annazartarian,

thank you very much for your positive review regarding your stay.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and I am looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

As per the other reviews I thought this was a great hotel - the water, sleep potions etc were a nice touch. Great staff and very helpful. Easy access to NEC, 5 minutes walk.
Only negative thing I can find to say is the music in the restaurant could have been a bit more chilled, not sure I wanted 80's pop to listen to whilst eating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear LynnoP,

thank you very much for your review and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us.

Hope to welcome you again soon,

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Similar to other reviews, a very nice hotel, everything is available in your room that you need for your stay, the reception, bar and restaurant area's are all kep't spotless and there are plenty of staff to deal with everything that you need.

I had to contact reception for them to switch the aircon of due to the noise, they answered and switched it off immediately.

Please be mindful....check your bill, my package included breakfast but they had charged seperately for it despite my colleagues being charged the package rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Degger12_12,

thank you very much for your time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and I hope that you will be staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing