We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sooo quite and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“sooo quite and convenient”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza as we were going to a concert at the NEC/O2 and it was fab.The hotel laid on a free pick-up from the station. It was a very short walk over to the NEC. The room was very quiet, bed very comfy and the blackout curtain were great. Top breakfast with the added bonus of a celeb !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear pjbrinan,

thank you very much for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed the stay at our hotel and I hope that we will be welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Inga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    698
    295
    114
    73
See reviews for
174
530
69
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Went to see The Script at NEC / LG Arena. Want a hotel close and that's what I got ! 3 min walk and I was at the concert.
The bit I'm unhappy about is - I booked a balcony room which was a bit more expensive on 5th floor. I thought it would be a special room with a balcony ...... It's just a big window that opens by 7" at best - yes I could see the lake but so could all floors below me ???? Am I missing the point .... The room was a normal room ??
It was a special kid free weekend and the room was a let down!
Breakfast was great , staff very helpful & friendly but I'd go for a normal room next time!
Oh well you live and learn! Disappointed Crown Plaza - I'd rewrite your room descriptions !

See my other reviews - all honest and genuine

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyhatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear kellyhatty,

thank you very much for taking the time and leaving feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not receive the room type that you were expecting. We do have rooms with access to a private balcony so I am not sure why this was not given to you even though you booked it.
I do hope that you still enjoyed the rest of your stay and I hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Inga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I didn't actually stay here but used the bar and restaurant due to friends staying at the hotel. The service in the bar was amongst the worse I have ever come across. The prices of the drinks phenomenal - 2 glasses of White Wine - £21 and they added a service charge onto that!
We were not allowed to order drinks at the bar but told to wait for waitress service - 20 minutes later we got a waitress - 25 minutes later we got our drinks. Absolutely dreadful. Trouble is they know they have got a captive audience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peefor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Peefor57,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving feedback about your recent visit to our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the time with us and that the service in the bar was not up to standard. We are aiming to provide excellent customer service to our guests and I would like to apologise that we did not manage to do it on this occasion.
I will pass the comments on to our food and beverage team so that they can use this feedback to improve their service.

I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Inga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stay here quite frequently and is generally very good, rooms clean and well furnished, staff are really what makes this hotel.. Reception are very welcoming, room service staff very nice... And restaurant staff good... I had a disappointing circumstance in their restaurant... But all fixed by duty manager next morning.. Would absolutely recommend staying here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Poppin999,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving feedback about your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that you are one of our regular customers and that you enjoy staying with us.

Many thanks,

Inga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The rooms were a good size and were well equipped. Although mine seemed to be missing its trouser press, ok for me but would not have been for my colleague who thankfully got given another room.

The bed was very comfortable and I slept well.

Food in the hotel was very good for the evening meal although rather expensive. The breakfast was average and the service at breakfast was very poor.

Checking in was a little slow but I put this down to arriving at the same time as a very large party attending a conference.

All in all I would stay again but little things like having to pay £15 for Wi-Fi is a let down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHSunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear SHSunSeeker,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear that the service at check in has been a bit slow. However, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and that you would stay with us again.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Inga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night before flying off to a warmer climate and left the car for 8 days. The location to the airport was excellent and the Hotel offered free transfers. The transfer wasn't available the day we flow so the Hotel arranged a free taxi. We paid less than £70 for the room and parking which is excellent value for money. I would definately stay there again if I flow from Birmingham or if I visited an exhibition at the NEC next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottiepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feeedback on your recent stay.
I'm glad that you took advantage of one of our Park, Stay & Fly deals. Our location to the airport is ideal for holiday makers like yourself who want to be able to relax the night before their flight. I apologise for the shuttle not being available, but pleased to hear that the Front Desk team arranged a complimentary taxi for you.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had a Bed and Breakfast rate for kids to see Girls Aloud in LG Arena.
A fairly indifferent warm welcome was the low point, after that it was all good.
The hotel is a standard Crowne Plaza, quite commercial, but clean, tidy and efficient.
They were very busy so I won't slight the bar service as slow, but I have encountered faster as 45mins for a sandwich was pushing it. The room was large with a lovely view over the lake. Breakfast was superb, full English buffet plus cereal, fruit, patisserie etc. Staff in restaurant were excellent. If you intend to visit LG, I could not recommend highly enough, it's literally 5 mins walk on a quiet road.

Room Tip: Just the usual, high floor, nice view, away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipnpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay.
I am sorry that your welcome to the hotel was indifferent, this is most unusual.
I am pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and well presented and that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I shall pass you compliments on to the Restaurant team for their excellent work.
Thank you for your kind recommendation, and I look forward to wlcoming back to the hotel in the future.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing