We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here last night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stayed here last night”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here last night. Staff extremely friendly and made our stay. Convenient for airport. Food in bar good but expensive. Shame they don't have free wifi. Very clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and made your stay. It's great to know that your room was clean and comfortable, and that you found the food in the bar to be of a good standard.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hiotel in the near future.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    707
    297
    115
    74
See reviews for
176
537
71
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford Upon Avon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights due to attendance at an exhibition. On the positive the reception was good with efficient staff. Service in the bar also very prompt and professional. Location convenient to the exhibition halls of the NEC. On the negative was a lack of free Internet. In today's business world a business based hotel not offering this service complimentary is scandalous and the rates demanded were extortionate.
My first night I was awoken at 2pm due to being freezing cold with no heat coming through the climate control system. The only way the chill factor could be resolved was to have the fan on full blast to obtain maybe a degree of heat. Due to this I had just two more hours sleep before taking a shower and getting dressed to read the paper!! On the second night it was evident that something by someone had been done to correct this yet no communication. In reflection I should have known there was an issue by the number of additional heaters left in the hotels corridors.
My colleague had been upgraded to a suite, it was a room no larger than mine. Why call this a suite when evidently it is not?
I would not stay in this hotel again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Everi_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.
It's very pleasing to hear that you found the reception staff to be efficient and that the bar service was prompt and professional.
I am sorry that you found our charges for internet usage to be a little high and be assured that I shall pass your comments onto our management team for review.
I would also like to apologise for any discomfort you experienced due to the temperature in your room and I'm sorry that any changes made were not communicated to you.
I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future so that you can experience Crowne Plaza as it should be.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza NEC during January 2013, for 5 nights, on a business trip. The majority of my stay was 'ok' as far as middle of the road hotel chains go.

My stay and the stay of one of my collegues was however ruined by the fact that a member of staff entered our rooms whilst we slept and stole our I Phones! This was on 2 separate occasions in very similar circumstances, as both my collegue and I had been to the front desk to have a new room card made. We were handed one room card and it soon came to light that 2 had in fact been made. Both phones were on charge in our rooms on the table opposite our beds (the only area of the room with access to a plug) whilst we slept and no where to be seen in the morning.

Both my collegue and I alerted the police of the two separate incidents and an investigation is being carried out with the hotel, however has recently come to an abrupt stop and been filed, due to the fact that because of a lack of CCTV in the hotel corridors and in my mind blatent disregard for guests safety and security there is insufficient evidence to convict one person.

I am not usually compelled to write reviews on sites such as trip advisor, however the way this case has been handled by the hotel is disgusting. Their staff and managers have lied and seem intent on saving the hotels reputation as opposed to getting to the bottom of this case and the connotations involved. I am just glad I am sitting here stating that my I phone was stolen, when someone entered my room as I slept, as opposed to a far more sinister scenario.

Further to this I have been communicating and following up my complaint with the Cluster General Manager for the hotel and instead of answering any of my questions and fulfilling my requests, to see things such as a breakdown of when my room was entered during the night, he just put me in touch with Intercontinental Hotel Groups loss adjustors, so that they can compensate me for the loss of my I phone - admission of guilt!? This to me is not the point, changing stories in order to suit the hotel, protect reputations, the lack of CCTV coverage in the corridors and what 'could have happened' are far more pressing matters.

I have emailled the Cluster General Manager asking for answers for the 3rd time on 21/02/2013 and I am still awaiting a response to this email, I have not even received an acknowledgement and IHG states that all complaints will be addressed within 48 hours, it has now been over that, another indicator for the lack of compentance within the management team at Crowne Plaza NEC.

If you value your safety, security and posessions DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FVL0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please be assured that your complaint is being investigated by the hotel. Your comments have been taken seriously and appropriate actions are being taken.
I am sorry that you feel things have come to an abrupt halt, and I shall forward these comments on to the Hotel Management team.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great for access to the NEC and the airport, but a little old fashioned. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable but technology poor. No free WiFi access in rooms or public areas, and paid access rates high. Good breakfast.
Arrived at airport late on Saturday night and was a little disappointed that there was no shuttle bus - had to take a cab.

Room Tip: Try for a room with view on lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
I am glad that you found the room to be clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed your breakfast experience with us.
I apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the lack of a shuttle on you return from the airport.
With regard to our prices for internet use, we do feel that our prices are competitive with other establishments in the area, but I shall forward your comments on to our management team for review.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

have stopped here many times before and the service and rooms are always good. Staff are attentive and polite.It is only a 10 minute walk to the NEC and you can leave your car safely in their car park.
Buffet breakfast is really good althogh the toast machines seem to have a mind of their own. Restaurant is nice but a little on the expensive side. There is a nice bar that lloks out over the lake and I guess it would be nice in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WD23TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. It is always good to hear from returning guests.
I am happy to hear that you found the staff to be attentive & polite, and that you always find the service and rooms to be good.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, maybe in the summer so you can check out the view of the lake.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed as a family of two adults and a child. Great location as we needed to go to the LG Arena. Just a five minute walk. We were disappointed the hotel didn't have a pool or any facilities. Our room wasn't made up when we arrived but they quickly sent house keeping up to finish cleaning the bathroom and make the sofa bed. We ordered room service on the first night. Very bad unfortunately. My daughters kids meal was very cold, not edible and my sandwich was on some what stale bread and the coronation chicken tasted like curry paste. We have ordered room service at other hotels and had lovely food so there's no excuse. Breakfasts were lovely though and plenty of choices. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Upon check out we did mention the room service food was bad and the wavered the tray charge. But we still had to pay for the awful food!!! Over all a great place to stay if you are going to the NEC or Airport. Not a great place if you are looking to spend any amount of time there. Child friendly, comfortable beds, bring your own food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.
I am sorry that your room was not ready on your arrival and that our facilities were not as extensive as you had hoped for your family. I am also disappointed to hear that your In Room Dining experience was not as enjoyable as it should have been, please be assured that this unusual and I shall forward your comments on to Chef and team.
I'm glad that our location to the LG Arena/NEC suited your needs and that the staff were friendly and helpful throughout the hotel.
I do hope that you choose to stay and dine with us again, so that we have the opportunity to provide you with the experience you should have received.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

probably my favourite hotel in the South Birmingham/airport area. Always easy to use, easy check-in, nice rooms, always clean, and food always good in restaurant. Not the cheapest place, but is value for money

Room Tip: the executive rooms are just that little bit better than the standard, and suites even more luxuriou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteDavies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a positive review of your stays with us. It is always rewardong to hear from guests who stay with us regularly. I'm glad that you have had the opportunity to experience all our room types and that you recommend our Lake View rooms.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,828 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing