We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a good location (for NEC)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in a good location (for NEC)”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here on X mas day so was quite dead so it meant we were upgraded to a suite.

Rooms were nice and the hotel very clean in a good location by the motorways. Bar was good but shut early obviously because it was xmas day, and the beds were comfy.

Would stay again - look out for the expensive parking

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean and well presented and the beds comfy.
I am sorry that you feel our prices for car Parking are expensive, however, we feel that our prices are competitive with other establishments in the local area.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    698
    295
    114
    73
See reviews for
174
530
69
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at the CP recently prior to a early morning flight.
We had a great room on a high floor with all the necessary amenities for a comfortable stay. The beds were comfortable and we slept well.
We did not have breakfast as we were flying very early.
We ate dinner at the hotel - there was limited choice due to the restaurant being closed so we had to order off the bar menu. Choice was ok, quality was ok but it was rather pricey. Drinks prices seemed a bit pricey too - captive audience I presume!
A weeks parking was included in the price and this was excellent value for money at £50 per night (including the parking for a week).
We were advised that there would be no shuttle transfer for our early morning flight and we made alternative arrangements through reception (£8 including tip). We were rather disappointed on our returned when we phoned the hotel to arrange our complementary transfer to be told that it was not running - we ended up paying £10 for a taxi. I sometimes feel that hotels should not offer this kind of service if they cannot fulfill it at key times as the fares by taxi were reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymrobangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the tome to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you found one of our fantastic Park, Stay and Fly deals and i hope you enjoyed your holiday.
It's great to hear the you had a comfortable stay with us and that you slept well before your flight. I am sorry that you feel our drinks prices are a little high. We feel that our prices are competitive with ither establishments in the area, however, we review our price structure often.
I apologise that we were not able to provide the hotel shuttle for your return journey to the hotel, however, this service is operated at limited time and is subject to availability.
I do hope you choose to stay with us again before your next holiday.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here on 15.12.2012, Hotel entrance and reception area very nice, restaurant and bar- very old fashioned, the menu should be changed as is very average, nothing special. Room facilities good. Breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you found the hotel to be well presented, and that your room was comortable. I'm sure our Head Chef will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast experience with us.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good night’s stay before a flight.
The hotel is very clean with a high standard. The room was spacious. There was bottled water but no tea and coffee in the room. I would advise a room on a higher floor as there is some noise that can be heard from the laundry or public areas. Breakfast is first class cooked in small batches. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: High floor not at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and well presented and that your room was spacious. I am sorry that your tea & coffee failities were not stocked up on your arrival. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast experience with us and that you were well rested for your flight.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good hotel but the Que to the reception was too long despite having 3 staff on we were kept waiting nearly 10 mins!
Rooms clean and beds comfy the drinks are overpriced and the cat parking at £10 is also overpriced
Quiet location and modern looking this hotel is quite expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinesmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us.
I apologise for the delay that you experienced at Check-in, unfortunately this can happen from time to time, but where possible we try to ensure our guests arrival is smooth and effiecient.
I am happy to hear that your room was clean and comfortable. We feel our charge for parking is competitive with other hotels in the area, and this is under constant review.
I do hope that this does not deter you from staying from with Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC again in the future.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Booked this as "Secret Hotel" for £55 one night stay and seven nights parking. Room booked was not available however upgraded so not a problem. Good food, although bar prices seemed a bit high!. Requested a 6.20 a.m. wake up and rather than the phone ringing (not a good start to anyone's day!) there was a knock at our door, much better! No courtesy taxi as we arrived later than the cut off time of 9.30 p.m. Booked a taxi recommended by the hotel prior to our departure, however they didn't take our flight arrival time so when we were an hour late landing, they had been and gone. Not a problem as there were taxis available outside the airport. Car was safe although covered in snow - not good when you have returned from 28 degrees!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186356Lindsey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.
It's great to hear that you took advantage of one of our Park, Stay and Fly deals and that you were upgraded on arrival. I'm sure Chef will be pleased to hear that you dining experience with us was a good one. I apologise for the taxi service having been and gone when you returned, but pleased that you found alternative transport back to the hotel.
I hope you choose to stay with us again before your next holiday.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for an overnight work charity ball. The hotel is huge and coped well with the volume of guests. The meal was much better than the usual standard for a very large group - well over 300 people.

My room was fine - clean & functional. The double glazing was effective.

One gripe - paying for parking - I think it should be included given the location - one is a captive audience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuwariahBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such positive comments on your recent stay with us.
I'm glad that your room was comfortable and well presented and that we catered well for the ball you were attending.
I am pleased that the hotel and staff helped your event go smoothly and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel for your next fucntion.
Regarding our parking prices, we do feel that our prices are competitive with other establishments in the area and I hope that this does not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
1,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing