We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great value - great service”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night when we travelled south to see Andrea Bocelli at the NEC. Hotel was really busy and there was a bit of a queue booking in on arrival. Soft drinks served to those waiting but the staff worked hard to get everyone sorted out quickly. Lovely room (we went for the Queen) overlooking the lake. Food was excellent and we had chips, rhubarb crumbles and cream as a late night feast after the event. Very pleasant 5 minute walk to and from the NEC arena. Brilliant breakfast next mroning too! We'll look for more concerts in future and stay here again.

Room Tip: Queen rooms have a settee which is nice for relaxing and watching telly without having to sit on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.
I apologise that you experienced a delay at check-in, but it's great to hear that the Reception Team worked well to rectify the situation.
I'm happy to hear that you took advantage of one of our Lake View rooms, and that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I shall pass your comments on to the relevant departments.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your next concert night.
Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    706
    297
    115
    74
See reviews for
176
537
71
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Like it a lot!!! great place to be in! great stuff! good food... I would recommend this hotel for its hospitality and friendly nature of the staff. We will be back soon again... I recommend this hotel. Great time.Good parking facility too. Bottom-line the stay was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us.
I'm glad that you found the staff to be friendly and hospitable. I shall pass your compliments on to Chef and his team.
Thank you for recommending us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived by train and after visiting the NEC I booked into the hotel. The walking is easy, even with a suitcase on wheels!
The staff were very friendly and the room was clean & a good size.
Dinner in Pendigo's Restaurant was excellent, if pricey.
I enjoyed a good breakfast before revisiting the NEC the following day.
Internet access is extra.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, especially for its location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It's great to hear that you found the staff to be friendly during your stay and that your room was well presented. I am glad to hear that you emjoyed your dinings experiences with us.

It's pleasing to know that you would recommend to us, and I hope that you choose to stay with us again in the near future too.

Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Would I recommend it, I don't know. I would probably try for another hotel in the area before automatically returning. Here are the things they do well and also the things I think they could improve.

Good
1. The staff. Very helpful and pleasant on reception and in the resturant.
2. Walking distance to NEC.
3. Spacious modern rooms.
4. Food very good. Had the best lamb I have tasted.

Could improve
1. Answering the phone. I called reception, resturant and housekeeping. Held on for a very long time, no one answered.
2. Reported that hospitality tray had not been cleaned. Told someone would come to the room about it. No one turned up. Ended up washing the cups myself.
3. Wiped some water spillage on the bathroom floor with towel. Lifted the towel and it was covered in hair. This was just after we arrived. The floor had not been cleaned.
4. We had a lovely meal in the resturant on Saturday night, however, the table next to us was cleared but not wiped for the length of our meal. It was not what I expected in the main resturant of a hotel.
5. The cost of a meal in the resturant was on the steep side for someone not on expenses.
And considering there was no difference to the tables from breakfast to dinner. A table cover covering the black marble would have been a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatsitcalled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant and i shall forward your comments onto the teams. I will also pass your compliments on to Chef and his team regarding your dining experience - especially the lamb!

I apologise that you were unable to contact various departments during your stay I will ensure that this concern is raised with the relevant departments. I am also sorry that your request for the hospitality tray was not followed up on and that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. I shall forward these comments on to our Housekeeping Team.

I do hope that the good points outweigh your areas for improvement and that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Many Thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here at an amazing rate.
Excellent nights sleep before our flight and a superb shuttle service to airport.
Good service
Bar a little expensive would be the only negative ! (But the deal with the room and parking well covered this )

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine_floridahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank your leaving feedback following your recent stay with us.

I'm glad that you took advantage of one of our fantastic deals prior to your holiday as well as our shuttle service, which I'm glad you found to be efficient.
It's also good to hear that you found the service throughout the hotel to be of a good level.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Many thanks
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The room was very good, clean and warm with a great power shower. Breakfast was good too with plenty to choose from and lots of it. Downside only 2 negative points but both important, firstly the welcome at reception was extremely bad to be 'barked' at by Tami that rooms would not be ready till after 2pm (ok we knew that) and that was not why I approached reception!!!! Also, the walk off hotel grounds to NEC was poor, either a muddy pathway or a limbo under the car park barriers! All in all a good hotel for a one night stay when visiting the NEC. Bar man and restaurant staff very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for you trip advisor review- I am glad overall that you had a good stay with us and I do hope the negative aspects of your review dont deter you using us again.

May I ensure you I will following further training up with the individual you mentioned

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The alarm bells started ringing as soon as we walked into Reception. The queue to check in was very long and very grumpy. No one seemed to be clearing check-in, it was sooooo slow. The excuse, when we finally got served, was that housekeeping weren't releasing rooms. Now, the hotel was full. It had been full the night before. Management will know this. So staff up accordingly. "Everyone arrived at the same time." No. Everyone arrived after 2pm, the time YOU say we can book-in. The hotel only exists because of the NEC. People are arriving for an Andrea Bocelli concert at the LG Arena. It is Saturday so couples are making the most of the night and arriving early TO SPEND MONEY IN YOUR BAR & RESTAURANT. (Actually, you are so poor that your customers can't even give you their money. But more of that later.) From the time we walked through the door to walking away with a room-key was 35 minutes. Not a Manager or Supervisor in sight. An hour later, as we sat in the bar, we could see that Reception was no better. Finally, Management appeared, Front of House, and staff were suddenly quicker and efficient. We had ordered food. My wife's baguette arrived with mayonnaise on it - not an ingredient in the description. Back it went. By now the bar was packed. 2 very slow staff serving. Food was taking an age to come out. My wife went upstairs for a nap so I went to sit at the bar. Customer after customer was complaining about the service being slow. One man had waited an hour for his food and, when it arrived, it was stone cold. The Supervisor wasn't supervising. He was just fielding complaints. Finally, he started to advise customers not to order food or go down to the restaurant FOR A £20 PER HEAD BUFFET! Then, they ran out of large wine glasses. Really? How badly run does a hotel have to be that it runs out of glasses? I made my way upstairs. My room-key card didn't work. Not wanting to disturb my wife, I trooped back downstairs to have it changed. I finally got into the room to be told by my wife that the shower was cold. We changed and left for the concert. Back into the bar afterwards, it was pandemonium. 6 people serving, at a long bar, but all standing together in the middle! No one at either end could get served. Over 20 minutes to get a drink. The same Supervisor as before noted that "everyone arrived at the same time." OF COURSE WE DID. WE'VE ALL JUST GOT BACK FROM THE CONCERT? YOU REMEMBER? THE REASON WE'RE ALL HERE? THE REASON YOUR HOTEL EXISTS? He was still refusing food orders. Despite all this, we had a great evening at the concert and, once it calmed down, in the bar. A good night's sleep, room service bacon sarnies (hit the spot) and then a shower. Ah! No, actually. No hot water. This is England, isn't it? This is the 21st century, isn't it? We packed quickly and trudged down to Reception. Slow, slow, slow! No urgency, no supervision, no customer service. Not even anyone to complain to.
Read any of my reviews and you'll find that I can't wait to praise good service. I've worked in a service business for all 38 years of my working life. We constantly e-mail hotels naming waiting staff for great service. So, I am not just a moaner. This was a huge chain hotel getting it spectacularly wrong. Poor training in the bar, no urgency anywhere. No management presence at busy times. Poor, poor, poor. We won't be back.

Room Tip: The best advice to choosing a good room is to stay at The Hilton Metropole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiallJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBroadhurst, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your review I empathise with you and I understand your frustrations from this weekend.

I completely agree with you that Saturday could have gone much better in the hotel. I can assure you all the management team are aware of the points you raised in your review and we are doing thorough debrief into Saturday to see what happen with regards to large amount of queues in our Front Of House areas.

Please can I assure you we are taking your review seriously and putting actions into place to avoid this happening in the future.

Please contact me if you do stay with us again so I can do my utmost to ensure you have a pleasant stay with us.

Kindest Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
1,825 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing