We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night's sleep in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton for one night on 25th June for business.

When I arrived a reception I asked if I could have a room on a high floor. The lady acquiesced without quibble and put me in room 1724 on the 17th floor! It was a corner room and upon entering the room I was taken aback by the far reaching views in two directions. The shower room was clean and very modern as was the bedroom area and the bed was very comfortable. I particularly liked the pillows. I had brought all of my own toiletries but shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion was provided. It smelt very pleasant too. There was no noise from other rooms and the air con was not so loud that you couldn't leave it on all night.

They did a variety of meals in the hotel but as I was staying on Broad Street I thought I'd go for a curry. I went to Pushkar which I highly recommend. It was close walking distance and the food was sublime.

Anyway, I had a pretty good nights sleep, the only minor issue being that the blackout blinds still let light in around the edges so the room was quite light at about 4:45am. Breakfast was ok. The usual options plus lovely pastries and muffins - I took a couple with me for morning coffee :-)

I would definitely return to this hotel without question. It's a gem and great value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room on a high floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexxxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, it really is a boost for the team when we hear how much people enjoy their experience and that they also look forward to returning, thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,826 - 2,832 of 3,390 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights combining business trip with a few days away with my Wife.
Located right in the centre of the city, with parking at the hotel, perfect for getting about.
From the outside it doesn't look great but once inside the decor is really fresh and modern. The room we was allocated was on the top floor which gave us a great view over the city.
Breakfast was included in our booking and there was plenty of choice both hot and cold.
The staff were very friendly and helpful thoughout our stay.
If in Birmingham again would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexOnlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for the 5 Star review! indeed we do have some fantastic views of the city available and I'm delighted you enjoyed them as much as we do, I hope your trip was more pleasure than business whilst you were here and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to the hotel in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stayed at Hampton by Hilton Star City before is magically became a Holiday Inn Express I thought I knew what I was in for. But I was wrong. The rooms are much better than the Star City one, the bar is massive and whilst the breakfast is still average at best, it was served in a huge area so there was no issue finding a table. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

It really is great to hear when people enjoy their visit so much, thank you for leaving us a review and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last Friday, we booked a twin room with breakfast at just £44. From the outside this is not the most attractive building, but inside very modern with spacious rooms, 3 very fast lifts to all floors. It very well decorated and modern, excellent bathroom/shower and comfortable beds. The breakfast is self service, with a perfectly adequate. Parking available on site for extra £10 per night. There is a good selection of bars and restaurant's a very short walk away in the same street. The canal also also runs under Broad street, and is a very pleasant walk, with many pretty bridges and more bars nearby. Overall excellent value and location, when next visiting Birmingham next I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Pick a room at rear and high up if possible, lift are fast and lower rooms may get some noise from b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

What a lovely review, thank you for sharing your experience with us, I'm glad our excellent location helped you enjoy more of what the city has to offer, thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night last weekend.

As mentioned by others it looks very unimpressive. Yes, the reception is on the third floor, which is very odd and off putting when you arrive at the hotel.

Room was clean and fresh. The bathroom had plenty of towels. Bathroom was primarily fitted for disabled person's use with a wet room style shower. The problem with the shower was that the floor was badly designed and despite a shower curtain the water went all over the bathroom floor and the floor was practically flooded. We ended up using towels to dry it so that the next person could use the bathroom.

The breakfast was very basic especially for vegetarian guests.

The main issue is that it is a very large hotel with limited number of staff, which reflects in certain araes e.g. the lifts were very busy and most of the time bar staff was having to help out on the reception. Lift to the car park was not working so had to go up and down the stairs.

In summary, this is a budget hotel, which also provides basic breakfast. This is reflected in the price. We have previously stayed in other hotels in Birmingham at much higher cost and choice breakfast. On this occassion we wanted to stay in a cheaper hotel, as we were going to spend very little time in the hotel. Hampton fitted the bill, very well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, indeed our accessible rooms do come complete with a wet room style shower and seat, but next time please do contact reception and we will be happy to re-allocate you to a different room type should you require, also please accept my sincere apologies for the one of our lifts being out of service on Saturday night & Sunday morning, I agree this was not ideal and do hope it didn't cause to much of an inconvenience, thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. My office had booked me in for the duration of the course I was attending, on arrival I was totally unimpressed it looked awful from the outside and my heart sank.
Reception is on the third floor and was very busy but I was attended to quickly. When I got to my room I was shocked to discover a large double room with modern decor and very tastefully furnished. The bed and pillows were so comfy and the heating/air con so easy to use and adjust.
Breakfast was hot and fresh with plenty of choice for everyone. On the course I listened with interest as some of my colleagues complained about their hotels. I'm pleased to say my stay turned out to be a pleasure at this hotel. Looking forward to going back next month.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for the great review! I do agree that we are a tad more pleasing to the eye once inside our hotel, but I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay never the less... and also that you also had the bragging rights over your colleagues! We look forward to welcoming you back next month!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Myself and seven friends stayed here for a weekend. The staff were so friendly, and the service was very efficient in terms of food etc. Paul, Shaun and Luis were the names of the staff we dealt with most and they were so helpful and friendly. Ill definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so glad that we could look after you during your recent stay, we do hope you join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#19 of 118 in Birmingham
4,325 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,299 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
993 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $66 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing