We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality, Good Value, Good Position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is the second Hampton by Hilton we have stayed at and the quality is consistently good. These budget hotels are a cut above Travelodge. The rooms are superior, with comfortable beds, a large flat screen TV, storage space and a well-equipped bathroom. A hot breakfast is also included in the price.
Situated on Broad Street it is within easy walking distance of good restaurants in Brindley Place (the canal area) and the Symphony Hall in the International Conference Centre.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrockerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Good Afternoon jcrockerm,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel. We are always more than happy to hear from people who have had a good time and are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit.

We are glad that our attention to detail across the brand has not gone unnoticed and that you found our bathrooms to be particularly well-equipped. We are pleased to be able to offer a small range of complimentary toiletries to all of our guests and often get comments about how great our power showers are!

We would also agree with you that we are incredibly fortunate to be based in such a great location. There aren't many places that can boast such a fantastic range of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

Once again, many thanks for your kind comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,926 - 2,932 of 3,360 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

If there is nothing wrong ... then it can only get 5 stars 'excellent'.

Immaculately clean. Stunning view from our room. Elizabeth on reception was super efficient and friendly at both check in and check out. All the staff were really friendly, with a pleasing smile. The room was comfortably warm with the most comfortable bed. Great shower.

Not sure why people are disappointed with breakfast. When you have a choice of cereals, juices, tea, coffee, bacon, suasage, hash browns, beans, scrambled egg, toast - brown and white, croissant, yogourt, muffins and more, and its an 'eat as much as you like buffet', for heavans sake - what more do you want? It was more than ample, and all well cooked and presented.

Other facilities are good - bar, lounge, computers. Simply NO complaints, at a stunningly reasonable price as well.

I phoned up to ask for a room with particular 'features', and the guy who I spoke to couldn't have been more obliging.

A1 Ace. Spot on. Fantastic.

Room Tip: If you like views - ask for one. If the potential noise of Broad Street may worry you - ask for a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzurisanaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Good Afternoon mzurisanaCoventry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we love to hear from people who have had a good time and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you found our beds to be comfortable - we get a lot of positive feedback in regards to the softness of our mattresses, with guests in the past even having likened them to sleeping in the clouds!

Once again, thank you for your very kind comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very easy to find straight on Broadstreet, very quick and easy check in too. The room was massive and was for sole use double room. Nice big tv, hair dryer and tea making facilities. The bathroom was a nice size and the shower was huge too. No one bothered me with my quiet sign on which some cleaners seem to ignore and bother you anyway!! I was on the 13th floor, decent little view of Broadstreet and considering the location was nice and quiet. Breakfast, well, not that much choice to be honest, plenty different types of cereal, hot breakfast, and a bit of fruit, not enough choice of fruit for me. But everyone else seemed to enjoy it, i'm just fussy! Reception sells snacks and very expensive wine!! All in all a good hotel, and i would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziQ1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Good Afternoon SuziQ1349,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit.

We would agree with you that the views that you can find on some of our higher floors are pretty spectacular - on a clear day you can see across the entire city, and at night when it is all lit up, it looks even better!

We always strive to provide the best service possible and are really glad that you found our rooms to be equipped with everything that you needed to be able to enjoy a comfortable nights stay.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We really hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in room 701 (£89) which was comfortable, modern and free from noise from other customers. The air conditioning unit was irritatingly noisy though. Also I was unable to add heat to the room as the temperature was apparently being controlled from elsewhere. As it was below 0 degrees in Birmingham last night this was disappointing. An additional blanket in the wardrobe would have been most welcome.
It was quite easy to find a space for our car in the hotel park which is located on the roof of the hotel (£10). Due to the recent cold snap there was a lot of ice piled up between cars which made it extremely slippery getting around vehicles with cases. If you are intending to use the hotel car park then it would be a good idea to get the postcode of its entrance from the Hotel for your satnav beforehand. Otherwise you will find yourself trapped on Broad Street if you don't know the area.
The hotel is very well located for shops, bars, restaurants and museums etc. I enjoyed my complimentary breakfast which consisted of cereals, fruit juice, bacon sandwich and only because it was a cold morning an additional croissant and coffee latte! Check out was at 11a.m.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayhel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Good Afternoon Kayhel2011,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit.

We were sorry to read that you had some issues with your heating system. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of the problem at the time and so were unable to resolve it for you during your stay. We are currently in the process of reviewing our heating systems to try and ensure that we eliminate any further similar issues in the future.

On a more positive note, we are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast. We are pleased to be able to offer each of our guests a complimentary meal to start their day and hope that you will agree that we provide enough choice and variety to set even the fussiest of eaters up for the day!

Once again, many thanks for your valued comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having stayed in a number of hotels in Birmingham for business this is one of the better ones to stay in and I do on a weekly basis. The location is good with plenty of bars and restaurants within the vicinity. The room is pretty basic but comfortable and I have always had a good nights sleep even when my room has been by the lift as you cannot hear it being used. The coffee tray is pretty basic but if you require any additional supplies they are happy to provide them from reception. I have not tried an evening meal there as I love the chicken wings in the Figure of Eight so tend to go there for my evening meal. The Breakfast is not the best I've had but it is far from the worst. I tend to have breakfast about 8am and the food is always hot and plentiful, you also have the choice of cereal, fruit, croissants and even mini muffins with a variety of hot and cold drinks. Sometimes it can get a little busy but I have never had a problem finding somewhere to sit comfortably.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlett893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Good Afternoon Scarlett893,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stays with us - we are glad that you have enjoyed your visits enough to return to us on a regular basis.

We agree that we are very fortunate to be in such a great location - there are not many places that can boast the city centre shopping area being such a short walk away as well as a whole host of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

We are glad that you enjoy your breakfast with us too. We are very proud to be able to offer each our our guests a complimentary meal to start their day and hope that you would agree that we provide enough choice and variety to cater for a wide range of tastes!

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments - we look forwards to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Room extremely cold on a very cold night. Too late to contact reception to move by the time we got back to the room. Breakfast was crowded and I felt very uncomfortable. I am on sticks and there was no where comfortable to sit. Food room too busy for me t select my own food, nearly got knocked over, had to rely on my husband to wait on me. Food was cold and unappetising. Would not stay there again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JAB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't up to our highest standards.
At Hampton we aim to look after every guest and we are upset that you felt that we didn't on this occassion.
We would love to discuss this further with you by contacting the hotel direct and asking for Matt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having stayed in a number of very good Hotels in Birmingham, we chose this one for location & a good mid-week deal which included breakfast.
Whilst the location is very good for Broad Street pubs & restaurants, the hotel itself did leave a lot to be desired & is trading on the Hilton brand....when it really shouldn't be.
The room was clean but quite basic. No mini bar. Pathetic coffee tray. But the worst part was definitely the breakfast - it was like a stampede...nowhere to sit...poor choice...cold food. So if a breakfast being included is important to you my suggestion would be look elsewhere!
Credit where it's due - Elizabeth on Reception was extremely pleasant.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank loveitaly880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Good Afternoon loveitaly39,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views in regards to your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your visit.

Although we do come under the Hilton brand, the Hampton is a new kind of economy hotel and we feel that our pricing structure and facilities reflect this. We always strive to provide the best service possible and we often receive positive feedback on the product that we deliver. We apologise that this time around, you didn't feel that the hotel matched up to your expectations.

On a more positive note, we are glad that you found our reception staff to be pleasant - I shall pass on your comments to our Front of House manager to relay to the team.

Once again, thank you for your valued comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Many Thanks,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,214 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,253 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $67 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing