We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend base in Brum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good weekend base in Brum”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very easy to find straight on Broadstreet, very quick and easy check in too. The room was massive and was for sole use double room. Nice big tv, hair dryer and tea making facilities. The bathroom was a nice size and the shower was huge too. No one bothered me with my quiet sign on which some cleaners seem to ignore and bother you anyway!! I was on the 13th floor, decent little view of Broadstreet and considering the location was nice and quiet. Breakfast, well, not that much choice to be honest, plenty different types of cereal, hot breakfast, and a bit of fruit, not enough choice of fruit for me. But everyone else seemed to enjoy it, i'm just fussy! Reception sells snacks and very expensive wine!! All in all a good hotel, and i would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziQ1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good Afternoon SuziQ1349,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit.

We would agree with you that the views that you can find on some of our higher floors are pretty spectacular - on a clear day you can see across the entire city, and at night when it is all lit up, it looks even better!

We always strive to provide the best service possible and are really glad that you found our rooms to be equipped with everything that you needed to be able to enjoy a comfortable nights stay.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We really hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    1,231
    397
    121
    92
See reviews for
366
1,130
115
773
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in room 701 (£89) which was comfortable, modern and free from noise from other customers. The air conditioning unit was irritatingly noisy though. Also I was unable to add heat to the room as the temperature was apparently being controlled from elsewhere. As it was below 0 degrees in Birmingham last night this was disappointing. An additional blanket in the wardrobe would have been most welcome.
It was quite easy to find a space for our car in the hotel park which is located on the roof of the hotel (£10). Due to the recent cold snap there was a lot of ice piled up between cars which made it extremely slippery getting around vehicles with cases. If you are intending to use the hotel car park then it would be a good idea to get the postcode of its entrance from the Hotel for your satnav beforehand. Otherwise you will find yourself trapped on Broad Street if you don't know the area.
The hotel is very well located for shops, bars, restaurants and museums etc. I enjoyed my complimentary breakfast which consisted of cereals, fruit juice, bacon sandwich and only because it was a cold morning an additional croissant and coffee latte! Check out was at 11a.m.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayhel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good Afternoon Kayhel2011,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit.

We were sorry to read that you had some issues with your heating system. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of the problem at the time and so were unable to resolve it for you during your stay. We are currently in the process of reviewing our heating systems to try and ensure that we eliminate any further similar issues in the future.

On a more positive note, we are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast. We are pleased to be able to offer each of our guests a complimentary meal to start their day and hope that you will agree that we provide enough choice and variety to set even the fussiest of eaters up for the day!

Once again, many thanks for your valued comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having stayed in a number of hotels in Birmingham for business this is one of the better ones to stay in and I do on a weekly basis. The location is good with plenty of bars and restaurants within the vicinity. The room is pretty basic but comfortable and I have always had a good nights sleep even when my room has been by the lift as you cannot hear it being used. The coffee tray is pretty basic but if you require any additional supplies they are happy to provide them from reception. I have not tried an evening meal there as I love the chicken wings in the Figure of Eight so tend to go there for my evening meal. The Breakfast is not the best I've had but it is far from the worst. I tend to have breakfast about 8am and the food is always hot and plentiful, you also have the choice of cereal, fruit, croissants and even mini muffins with a variety of hot and cold drinks. Sometimes it can get a little busy but I have never had a problem finding somewhere to sit comfortably.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good Afternoon Scarlett893,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stays with us - we are glad that you have enjoyed your visits enough to return to us on a regular basis.

We agree that we are very fortunate to be in such a great location - there are not many places that can boast the city centre shopping area being such a short walk away as well as a whole host of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

We are glad that you enjoy your breakfast with us too. We are very proud to be able to offer each our our guests a complimentary meal to start their day and hope that you would agree that we provide enough choice and variety to cater for a wide range of tastes!

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments - we look forwards to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Room extremely cold on a very cold night. Too late to contact reception to move by the time we got back to the room. Breakfast was crowded and I felt very uncomfortable. I am on sticks and there was no where comfortable to sit. Food room too busy for me t select my own food, nearly got knocked over, had to rely on my husband to wait on me. Food was cold and unappetising. Would not stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't up to our highest standards.
At Hampton we aim to look after every guest and we are upset that you felt that we didn't on this occassion.
We would love to discuss this further with you by contacting the hotel direct and asking for Matt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having stayed in a number of very good Hotels in Birmingham, we chose this one for location & a good mid-week deal which included breakfast.
Whilst the location is very good for Broad Street pubs & restaurants, the hotel itself did leave a lot to be desired & is trading on the Hilton brand....when it really shouldn't be.
The room was clean but quite basic. No mini bar. Pathetic coffee tray. But the worst part was definitely the breakfast - it was like a stampede...nowhere to sit...poor choice...cold food. So if a breakfast being included is important to you my suggestion would be look elsewhere!
Credit where it's due - Elizabeth on Reception was extremely pleasant.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank loveitaly880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good Afternoon loveitaly39,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views in regards to your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your visit.

Although we do come under the Hilton brand, the Hampton is a new kind of economy hotel and we feel that our pricing structure and facilities reflect this. We always strive to provide the best service possible and we often receive positive feedback on the product that we deliver. We apologise that this time around, you didn't feel that the hotel matched up to your expectations.

On a more positive note, we are glad that you found our reception staff to be pleasant - I shall pass on your comments to our Front of House manager to relay to the team.

Once again, thank you for your valued comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Many Thanks,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a lovely clean hotel which offers everything for a weekends stay in Birmingham, great location helpful staff a good nights sleep and great value for money.
We would stay here again as it has it all... top marks

Room Tip: All good standard of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good Afternoon jayne m,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit.

We agree that we are very fortunate to be in such an ideal location - not many people can boast having the central shopping area just a short walk away, as well as a whole host of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

Once again, thank you for your kind comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was one of the cheapest in Birmingham for a night out.
To be honest after reading some other reviews I wasnt expecting much.
What a lovely suprise. Check in was very efficient and we were able to order a taxi to pick us up later on in the evening.
Our room was on the 12th floor, it was spacious, clean, modern with fab views over Broad Street.
The bathroom was lovely with a big powerful shower and toiletries were supplied as well as hand cream.
The bed was seriously one of the most comfy beds I have slept in.
We didnt get up for brekkie the following day (the bed was too comfy) so I cant comment on the food.
The only thing that let the hotel down was that the car park was on the roof, there was lots of snow and everyone was slipping and sliding everywhere so perhaps a little grit may have helped.
Overall I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Brum for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbycat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good Afternoon bobbycat_10,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit.

We pride ourselves on being able to offer a fantastic service at an affordable price and are glad that you found our rooms to be both clean and comfortable. We receive a lot of comments about the power of our showers - we find that like with our beds, the only problem is that once you're in, you don't want to get out again!

Once again, thank you for your kind comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,741 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,972 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,410 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
918 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing