We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in Hampton by Hilton Birmingham for three nights when attending Cheltenham races. This hotel is 10-15min walk from train station and located on a busy section of broad st surrounded by lots of other hotels, bars and restaurant.

The hotel was a real surprise, fantastic value, clean, modern, comfy bed, lots of extras which I wouldn't expect for the price such as lots of toiletries, face cloths (I find most hotels unless they are 5star just don't provide face cloths!) and a decent breakfast. Staff were friendly efficient and professional.

Perfect hotel for a base when visiting Birmingham or the area.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor so it was really quiet, the area out side is busy with night clubs and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Good Afternoon PaulaDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts in regards to your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

We work very hard to ensure that our rooms are kept clean and modern and are glad that our attention to detail did not go unnoticed.

We are also pleased that you found our location convenient for your commute to Cheltenham. We would agree with you that we are very fortunate to be based in the location that we are - there are not many hotels that can boast good transport links as well as a whole host of different bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

Once again, thank you very much for your kind review - we look forwards to welcoming you back to stay with us again for next year's races!

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,946 - 2,952 of 3,349 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

stayed here over night excellent city hotel good on site car parking and excellent breakfast all included in the price would return again and would highly recommend to others. very close to the city centre so very convienient for shopping and night life.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0ttie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Good Afternoon l0ttie022,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit.

We would agree with you that we are in a perfect location and realise that we are very lucky to have the city centre shopping area as well as a whole host of different bars and restaurants right on our doorstep.

We are also very proud of the fact that we are able to offer each of our guests a complimentary breakfast included with their stay. We try our best to provide enough variety to cater for a range of tastes and are sure that you will agree that there is a wide enough choice to set even the fussiest of eaters up for the day ahead!

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Decent location within walking distance of all city centre amenities - 15 minute walk from new Street station. No problems with noise at all (15th floor). Nice spotlessly clean room with all furniture in good condition. Comfy bed, plentiful hot water, a little speaker system you can plug your iPod into (tinny sound but still a nice touch), everything you'd expect in the room - kettle, iron, hairdryer. Comparable to a Premier Inn but a bit classier.

On the down side - staff were polite but pretty indifferent - the corporate slogan is "we love having you here" but I didn't get the sense anyone did. Breakfast was plentiful but average - stick to cereal, toast and tea and you'll be fine. The lifts are confusing but if you swipe your keycard the mystery will be solved.

All in all very happy with my stay which was good value for money at £64. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digmeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Good Afternoon digmeout,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that you found your room to be comfortable. We do get a lot of comments from guests regarding our beds, with people even having likened them in the past to sleeping in the clouds!

We are also proud to be able to offer each of our guests complimentary breakfast with their stay. We try to provide a wide variety of choices to cater for all tastes and I'm sure you will agree that we offer something to set even the fussiest of eaters up for the day!

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Very clean, nice room and shower. Breakfast ok and very handy for the local amenities. Overall a very comfortable stay. Oh and a handy car park. Booking out tomorrow and will stay again if in Birmingham

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Good Morning PatrickMitchell,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a kind review of our hotel - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We realise that we are very lucky with our location - having a whole host of bars and restaurants right on our doorstep is certainly very handy and to have a secure on-site car park is not only convenient but is also a facility that not many city centre hotels can rival.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location may not be to everyone's taste (band in the middle of the nightclub disrtict of Birmingham so do take your earplugs even on a Monday night) The outside of the hotel looks like a very suspect a converted office block (which it is) and a not a lot of money has been spent on this. However, no expense has been spared inside - really well appointed rooms, with lots of space, easy chairs, free wi-fi, propper wardrobes etc. Freindly staff, the only real dissapointment is the do it yourself refrectory style breakfast which is very average, but then again for the price you can't really complain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Good Afternoon PAW72,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us - we are glad that overall you were impressed with the hotel and the facilities that we have to offer.

We are very pleased to be able to offer everyone who stays with us free Wi-Fi and we have recently upgraded all of our servers to ensure that all guests receive fast and efficient service throughout the hotel.

We also invest a lot of time into our staff training and I shall pass on your kind comment about the friendliness you experienced on to our Front of House team.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here in December as going to a friends leaving do !!!! OK all the good points first as that is about the hotel. Lovely and clean, comfortable and the staff are lovely. Hotel is right on Broad Street but you don't get any noise which is a bonus.

Bad points booked with Last Minute.com and hotel had no trace of the booking, had to get the confirmation up on line for them to view before we could check in. Hotel said they often had this issue

We had breakfast included but due to a hangover to deal with didn't stop for breakfast but would definitely use the hotel again excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fab40Wordsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Good Afternoon Fab40Wordsley,

Thank you very much for your kind review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us back in December.

We get a lot of compliments on the comfort of our rooms and beds, with many of our past guests even having likened our beds to sleeping in the clouds! We'd also agree that we are very lucky with our location - there are not many hotels that can boast such a wide range of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

With regards to third party agents, we are aware that there are still a few minor issues to iron out - although we have moved forwards with this considerably in the last couple of months and are thankfully now experiencing fewer and fewer problems in this area.

Once again, thank you for your valued comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel has not sorted a stair case from the car park to the reception, so it means that if you are in the 2nd floor( car park) and tried to go to the reception 3rd floor, you can not do so, unless you use the lonely lift, to increase the frustration, you can see the lift going straight pass your number to level "0" and not stopping at level 2.
The lively road on Friday and Saturday make it very noisy, so don't expect to sleep before 1 am.
The breakfast was poor, the same stale, plasticky croissants were served 2 days on the trott, with mediocre mini muffins with a disgusting coffe to compliment the lot ...So the continental breakfast had a lot to be desire to reach acceptable standard, specially having a Hilton logo!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on broad road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylviane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Good Afternoon MalcH,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us - we are disappointed that on this occasion we did not manage to meet your expectations.

I have discussed your concerns with our Front of House manager and have asked her to investigate the matter further to find out why your check-in procedure took so long. We shall be making every effort to review our arrival procedures and are currently investing a lot of time into staff training in the hope that we shall be able to eliminate similar issues arising in the future.

On a more positive note, we are glad that you were pleased with the standard of your room. We get lots of compliments about our walk-in power showers - the only problem is that once you're in, you often don't want to get back out again!

Once again, thank you for your valued comments.

Kindest Regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,194 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,239 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
982 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $67 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing