We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent value, well located close to city center.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excelent value, well located close to city center.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Located in central Birmingham, excelent to visit city center, well located. Free WIFI, breakfast very complete, spacious and clean rooms with flat screen tv. One important detail: front desk is in third floor, not in ground floor, i bit confusing on arrival but ok. The hotel have private parking for 10 gbp. Bring your own map to visit city center, due that the one that the one that hotel gave me was not very clear and i got a bit lost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello David F,

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are happy that you were pleased with our location. Being so close to the city centre shopping area, as well as a variety of bars and restaurants certainly is indeed a great asset.

Thank you once again for your comments and we shall look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    1,211
    387
    117
    89
See reviews for
354
1,114
112
759
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Me n my boyfriend stay away a lot n been to some good hotels but this one is amazing!!!! The service was nice n friendly, the rooms are very modern and clean, great view of city. The a lovely breakfast included for £50!! Overall it's sooo good value for money!! Why stay anywhere else wen the Hampton to ticks all the boxes. Also has a good little gym.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello Jesstevo,

Thank you very much for your glowing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We seek to maintain our rooms to a high standard and are pleased that you found this to be the case during your visit. We are also very proud of our complimentary breakfast and are glad that you enjoyed it - we certainly find it sets us up for the day :)

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We shall look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here just for a night (a Saturday) as we were viistng the athletics at the NIA. The outside of the hotel looks a little tired and as the Reception is on te 3rd floor you get little idea of what it will be like inside. However, once we had checked in, we went to our room on the 14th floor, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, had a good view over Birmingham and very clean.
We did wonder about noise as the hotel seemed to have big parties of stag/hen folk, but no worries there, One of the quietest city hotels I've stayed in. The bed was comfy and the shower spacious (no bath).
Breakfast was included in the price. It was plentiful and well cooked although not hugely imaginative.
The only negative was that check in is a bit of a bun fight. You come straight oout of the lift and there is not enough room to wait. It tool us about 30 mins to check in as there was only one staff member on the desk. However, she was polite and apologetic.
The location is superb for the NIA and shopping/eating areas. We were told ther was limited parking but actually there is adequate parking. The small gym is clean and well eqipped too.

Room Tip: Go higher; it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello GJT,

Thank you very much for your positive comments - we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over the week-end.

We would agree with you that our great central location makes us the perfect choice for people who are visiting events at both the NIA and the ICC as we are in walking distance of both venues.

We are sorry that you had some issues at check-in. I have passed your comments on to our Front of House manager and we are now in the process of reviewing how we can improve our current procedures.

Once again, thank you for your kind review - we shall look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in this affordable hotel for a few days during a conference. Location wise the hotel is on walking distance from one of the major night-life places in Birmingham, the city center, conference center and even the station if you don't mind a 15 min walk.

The entire hotel is quite new and modern, and the rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast in the morning is a buffet with more than enough choice.

The air-conditioning unit in my room was broken, and it being on the sunny side without windows which could be opened meant it became rather warm. Luckily changing rooms was not a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svollebregt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello Svollebregt,

Thank-you very much for your comments. We are glad that we managed to solve the problem with your air-conditioning unit by changing your room for you and that you were happy with your stay with us.

We shall look forwards to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything looks brand new, bathrooms and bedrooms are squeaky clean. the service is brilliant, the staff catered to all our needs. We stayed on 2nd floor and my grandson loved the place. The location is brilliant, everything is more or less at arms length. We loved it so much we wanted to take the hotel home with us! We would like to express our thanks to Hampton by Hilton and to all of its staff, we will return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello Suzanne D,

Thank you for your glowing review, we are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We agree that our prime city centre location is a real positive asset for us as it means that we have a whole host of facilities right on our doorstep!

We focus a lot of our attention on staff training and we are over the moon to hear that it is paying off. I have passed your kind comments and thanks on to our Front of House manager to relay to the rest of the team.

Once again, thank you for such a lovely review - we shall look forwards to welcoming yourself and your family back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for an anniversary/valentines break, we had seen great reviews for this hotel on Tripadvisor so we thought we'd check it out - it didn't live up to our expectations at all and we left somewhat disappointed. This is what we found:
- The hotel car park is on the roof and is not covered - it snowed the night before our stay and the car park was neither cleared nor gritted and so the ground was icy and extremely dangerous to walk on;
- the car park fee was £10 per day which seemed quite expensive compared to even some of the public car parks nearby;
- in the room 2 of the 4 pillows were dirty and there also still marks on the bedsheet;
- there was no room service so we had to either go down 8 floors to reception or go down to the shops down the road;
- the chambermaid didnt refill the toilet paper in our room so we had to keep going down to reception to ask for replacements;
- we had champagne chilling in ice in our sink for a celebration - the chambermaid cleaned our room one afternoon while we were there, and we were shocked to hear her say "i can't clean your cups or glasses because your sink is full!" - you would think that a Hilton hotel would be able to give you clean glasses rather than rinsing them out in the guest's own sink and giving them back to you!?!?
- guests have to use the room keycard to go up and down lift - which is not ideal if you happen to be carrying loads of luggage or shopping bags;
- the free wifi didn't work most of the time, they may as well have not bothered even providing it.
- the bed was comfortable but the heating in the room barely worked and kept turning itself off - it got extremely cold in the room which made it uncomfortable to sleep at night, my fiancée ended up getting a cold during the stay because of the cold temperature in the room.

There were however some pluses: the hotel is in a great location a short walk from loads of bars and the city centre. The cooked breakfast is also a great selling point (although there was no greeting service/no-one to show you to a table or show you where everything is). The walk-in shower is great too (although there is no complimentary toiletries).

In all, this hotel is great if you just looking for somewhere to crash for a night out, but if you looking for somewhere special to say, this is probably not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Some guests have said it's better to get a room on higher floors so you're away from the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Good Afternoon CB2002,

Thank you very much for your valued comments. We always strive to provide the best service possible and the feedback that we receive on the product that we deliver is in many cases very positive. We are sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are lucky enough to have our own on site car-park (an asset that many city centre hotels cannot offer) and compared to other secure parking sites in the city centre, our fee of £10 per night is competitively priced.

We are aware that our wireless access isn't quite up to scratch at the moment and are currently in the process of upgrading our WiFi offering to ensure better coverage for all of our guests in the future. We are also very sorry to hear that you experienced problems with your heating system. I have passed on your comments and our engineers are coming in so that we can address this issue fully and effectively.

On a positive note, we agree that we are very lucky with our fantastic location - there are not many hotels that can boast the city centre shopping area as well as a whole host of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep! We are also very proud of our complimentary breakfasts - I hope you will agree that there is enough choice to set even the fussiest of eaters up for the day.

Once again, thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope to be able to welcome you back again at some point in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent modern rooms, ultra clean, absolutely nothing to complain about, breakfast included in an already reasonable price £59 and that was price for us both. Very wide selection at breakfast again in fabulous modern style. Yogurt, pastries, fry up, toast, muffins, wide range cereals, thumbs up all round.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikihharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello nikihharris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very proud of our complimentary breakfasts and would agree with you that there is enough variety and choice to set even the fussiest of eaters up for the day!

Thank you once again for your comments - we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,922 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,389 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing