We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable three night stay at the Hampton. On arrival, head straight for the lift, as reception is on the third floor. For security purposes, you need to swipe your room key in the lift to go to the floors above the third floor; the lift on the far right hand side is a service lift, so it won't work even if you swipe your card.
The hotel was an office block until its renovation about six months ago, so its interior is still modern and new. There is free wifi access (no access codes needed) throughout the hotel, and if you turn right at the reception desk, there are three computer terminals with free Internet access and a printer at the end of the room- very handy for checking in for flights and printing out boarding cards. There was a computer glitch when I was there, but reception staff were very helpful and printed out what I needed. There is a gym on the 4th floor. The seating area to the left of reception had a good atmosphere.
The bedroom was spacious and clean, with a sofa bed, flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, and a lap tray which also held the remote control for the tv. Bed very comfortable. The hair dryer was in a bag in the wardrobe, next to the iron and ironing board. The bathroom was well designed with a large walk-in shower. There were dispensers containing shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, as well as hand soap and moisturiser at the sink.
There was a good choice of hot and cold food for breakfast- I could imagine there being a fight for seats if the hotel was full, but hotel was quiet when I was there. No noise at all heard on the tenth floor (I wasn't there on a Saturday night, so can't comment on possible noise from nearby clubs). The windows don't open (there is a roller blind on them too) but there is air con in the room.
The stay was excellent value for money.
Things near to the hotel- a cinema and some good restaurants about two minutes walk to the left of the front door, a small Sainsburys with a cash point across the road to the right. Just under ten mins walk to the Symphony Hall/ICC (still on Broad Street). Lots of restaurants/clubs on Broad Street and the area around it. The hotel doesn't have a car park at present, but I believe they are planning to renovate one right next door.
I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank forss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great in-depth review, and it’s always great to hear such positive things being said!

Thanks Again & Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,202 - 3,208 of 3,431 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked the hotel only a few days before a conference at the ICC. We would normally look to stay at a couple of other local hotels but they were full and I wanted a nearby hotel with Family room facilities.
From the outside the hotel does not dazzle but once inside the reception and bar area are inviting and the staff welcoming and friendly.
We checked in and were allocated a room on the 12th floor. We were very impressed with the room size with a large bathroom, double bed and double sofa bed comfort and space were not an issue.
The hotel was very well located for the ICC and nearby parking was not an issue.
I needed to be up early on Sunday and was pleased that from the 12th floor noise from the nearby nightclubs was not an issue. It was most pleasing that the hotel serves breakfast from 6am every day so I was able to take advantage of this before my 7am departure.
My only one gripe about the hotel was that at early morning breakfast on a Sunday they were playing BBC radio 1 Extra too loud and it just seemed out of place, peace and quiet would have been preferred.
This was a well located, clean and very comfy hotel which perfectly served its purpose for the night.

Room Tip: I would ask for a high floor as far away from the lifts as possible for minimum noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Badger Family,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us but equally sorry to hear about the radio noise at breakfast, we don’t actually have music system that can play radio channels into the hotels public areas, so I can only assume that one of our guests may have put it on via one of the televisions, I will make sure the team keep an eye out for this in the future, as I too like a bit of peace at breakfast!

Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review and hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Hampton on a busy Saturday night. The hotel is in a great location for the Broad street nightlife. Easy checkin and good size clean rooms. All you can eat breakfast was of a good standard although the dining area could do with more seating!
All in all this is an ideal hotel for anyone seeking good accomodation whilst staying in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for another great review and we look forward to your return!

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked via easy book.co.uk......deal around £79 for double room.......check in a breeze and swiftly got to room....floor 7...room 714. Partner noted heavy dust on top of tv and lamp......for some reason the sofa bed was made up...otherwise clean and functional..Hotel ideally situated near to Symphony Hall which was 10 mins walk away. Staff were all very friendly and helpful with recommendations for best restaurants locally.
Awoke to maid at door ....I was about to point out that she must have a list of occupants at such an early hour......but then realised it was 0950 hrs and we had both had the mother of all sleeps....which says alot for the comfort and noise levels of the room !!!
A dive downstairs for breakfast before ten was made....with a superb array of hot and cold food at such a late hr.....albeit self serve..and the baked beans had run out !
To conclude...great value for money ideally situated and functional. In brief it does exactly what it says on the tin !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sensibletrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Great to hear your comments and I agree the beds are very comfortable! But please just let me take this opportunity to apologise for the dust on the TV and lamp which was clearly an oversight on this occasion,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean modern city hotel. Large flat screen tv, hair dryer, iron n ironing board in room. Full toiletries available in dispensers. Comfy bed, good quality pillows and duvet. Tasty self service breakfast. Used this hotel for a night out, can't wait to return

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeeves1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, great to hear such positive comments!

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I booked to stay here for one night after an evening out at the NIA and were pleasantly surprised with the high standard of accommodation. The hotel is perfectly situated for the NIA as it's just around the corner on Broad Street and a very short walk to the restaurants at Brindley Place.

The hotel itself seemed to be newly refurbished and is extremely clean and modern and we couldn't fault the rooms. There was no bath in the rooms, only a shower but this suited us. The bed was also extremely comfortable and even with the noise from the bars in Broad Street we still managed to get a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was serve yourself - both cooked and continental and there was a lot to choose from. Nothing to complain about there.

The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is due to a delay at check-in where due to only making the booking for the hotel on the same day as our stay through a 3rd party, our reservation was not on the system. The person that checked us in left us waiting quite a bit without explaining what had happened. But overall we had a good stay and would consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsBradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Ms Bradders,

Sorry to hear about the confusion on check in, although I would always recommend to book hotel rooms direct with the hotel you want to stay at (rather than a 3rd party) you still shouldn’t have been left for any period of time without explanation, so please accept my apologies.

It was however great to hear you were pleased with the high standards of the hotel, so hopefully you will choose to visit us again in the near future

Many Thanks

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel seems really nice as its very modern and new. The rooms are also very nice but the noise from the bars and nightclubs at night kept me awake (boyfriend had more to drink so was snoring away!!). We didn't get in till about midnight so wasn't particularly early and we were on the 8th floor! I would stay in a Hampton by Hilton again as they are really nice but it would need to be in a different location.

We didn't get up in time for breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munchkin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

I’m really glad you liked our hotel, although it is a shame the outside noise took the shine off your stay, we are local to many bars, clubs and restaurants and some weekends their enthusiasm does get the better of them which can cause the volume level to raise slightly, so a good traveler tip is to ask for a high floor bedroom, or a room at the back of the hotel where noise is at a minimum, hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4,439 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,334 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $72 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing