We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Ranked #49 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming.

Restaurant on site was good value and the cooked to order breakfast was an excellent start to our day.

Location is good for city centre and M6 routes.

Our room was clean, bathroom was in need of redecoration.

Plenty of parking available

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesoupkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you found our staff and service to be friendly and welcoming, we always aim to provide a continually high standard. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your restaurant experience and that our location and facilities perfectly suited your needs. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    234
    108
    42
    35
See reviews for
235
156
25
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The Premier Inn is one of the best we have stayed in. Excellent staff, great Restaurant, and as always very comfortable bed. I stay in a lot of hotels for business and most are 3 or 4 times the price of this hotel, but most are not as welcoming or comfortable. Great location to get in and out of Birmingham (getting out was a relief). Good secure parking.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RolandChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). It’s always such a pleasure to read when our guests have such a great stay. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our staff, we endeavour to provide a high level of service so it is always appreciated to hear that it isn’t going unnoticed. We greatly look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

First time stay here with my family on 05/04/14. The hotel was great, we had a nice warm welcome with smiles all round from the lovely girl on reception who checked us in around 4pm. We stayed in a family room on the ground floor for one night which was pleasantly located away from reception where it was nice and quiet (as requested). The room was lovely and clean with a nice view. The reception team were great.
The restaurant staff on the other hand in the evening could have done with a few more natural smiles on their faces rather than smiles that smeed to be forced upon them. Service was okay, food took a bit too long to arrive. Breakfast in the morning was a bit disappointing. I love Hash Browns and had ordered then along with beans and a few other things, however the Hash Browns arrived rock solid and the beans were just plopped in the middle of the plate all spread out (not in a seperate bowl - an idea to be taken into consideration), so while it took me ages to cut through the Hash Browns my beans got cold.
On a positive note the two members of staff on breakfast (girl with dyed hair and the dark other slim guy) were great, smiley and quick to respond to your requests.

Room Tip: If wanting a room on the ground floor then request one away from reception as you can smell the food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you received such a warm welcome from our reception team and that they met your needs for a quiet room. I apologise for the issues you experienced during your time in the restaurant, we appreciate all feedback and please be assured your comments have been taken into account. I’m pleased that you also found the service by the breakfast staff to be of a high quality. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Only stayed for 1 night for an event in central Birmingham.
Greeted by a lovely and exceedingly helpful lady on reception, directed to our room which was at the furthest point on the 2nd floor which was idea as far as I was concerned.
reception advised as to how we could walk into town and even offered to let us through the restaurant, they also offered to call a taxi as we weren't sure whether to walk or not.
After the show we came back bar was quiet so service superb, after a couple of drinks we went back to the room and had an excellent nights sleep.
For what we paid I couldn't fault this place and would most certainly return.
My only potential "negative comment" which did not affect us is that there is a car park but I suspect there y not be enough spaces for every room so there may be a possibility of it getting full all depends on how many in a car and how many guests don't come by car. However as I say this did not impact my stay at all.

Room Tip: As for top floor furthest the way - might have to carry luggage but no one going passed the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Birmingham Central (East). It is always lovely to read when a guest has had such a great experience at our establishment. We are very proud of our staff so I’m glad you agree that the service they provide is of a high standard. Our car park is slightly reduced in capacity while our air con installation is taking place however this is temporary and will be back to full size in the near future. I’m pleased that the room suited your needs, we happily take advanced requests for specific rooms as we can’t guarantee that they will be available on check in, you can contact the hotel directly on 0121 333 2120. We look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in a family room on the ground floor for one night. The reception staff were very helpful. Arrived in room to a smell of paint, unable to open windows for ventilation we put up with the smell as we were going to be out most of the night . The room was very tired in comparison to other premier inn's, a small oil filled radiator was provided for heat as a note was in the room to state this hotel is undergoing works to implement air con, this should have been stated at time of booking and wasn't. The carpet and chair were filthy, we found toenail clippings on the floor and the bathroom smelt. Good location although one of the more expensive premier inns. Breakfast was buffet style and reasonable. This hotel needs a revamp to bring it to the Premier inn standard.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CP80_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Birmingham Central (East). We appreciate all feedback given as it helps us to maintain the brand standard that is expected of Premier Inn. I’m glad you found the staff very helpful. You are correct in saying we are currently under going our air con installation, which is the reason behind the portable heaters and the smell of paint however this is only temporary. Premier Inn are looking to refurbish the hotels across the brand to a consistently high standard in the near future. I apologise for the cleanliness issues you have mentioned, please be assured they have been relayed to the department to take corrective actions. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Went here alongside fellow event goers for food as we were aware it was reasonable. Booked a table slightly in advance and was told that it would be ready in 45 minutes. We arrived 45 minutes later and took a seat in their bar waiting area. The restaurant was busy, as could be anticipated from the hotel bookings they received, and the staff were minimal... The queue for the bar was incredibly long and took about 20 minutes to get a drink. Another 45 minutes later we still had not taken a seat at the table we'd been promised. After being approached by one of our party we were promised a seat in 5 minutes - however at this point they hadn't cleared the other large tables plates away, after they'd finished eating some time before. No urgency to meet the deadlines they had set themselves. 15 minutes later I approach the manager who confirms our table will be ready in 15 minutes and she will take our orders before we sit so it can be turned around quickly. Neither of these things happened. After another 10 minutes a smaller table becomes available and we sit down, trying to cram round a space not intended for the numbers we have. Are we served? No. This takes another wait and another member of our party to go up and speak to the manager who instead of admitting poor time management or bad staffing simple places the blame onto us for all attending the same event. Needless to say I didn't purchase my food from there despite the manager panicking and offering to take my order once I had stood up and walked out with a couple of members of my party.

Since then I've found out the food the other members in my party received was cold and took a long wait and in fact other people who attended the event cancelled their food order and went elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine, having stayed there before but have no air con and no way of cooling the rooms - eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Recommend staying here if visiting Birmingham. Within walking distance of City and cheap if using a taxi. Not noisy, pleasant staff and comfortable room and bed but could have done with some biccies on arrival to go with the cuppa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad everything suited your needs from the location to the comfort of the room. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Conference Aston Hotel
#60 of 117 in Birmingham
437 reviews
Park Hotel
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central East

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Address: Richard Street | Waterlinks, Birmingham B7 4AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central East 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the M6, M42 and M5, the Premier Inn Birmingham Central East is even better connected than a certain Mrs Osbourne. And, thankfully, quite a bit quieter too. Nip into Birmingham city centre for great shopping at the Bull Ring, the Sea Life Centre's underwater world and the trendy bars and businesses of the Mailbox and Brindley Place. Take a trip to chocolate heaven at Cadbury World. Or cheer on your team at Villa Park of Birmingham City F.C, both just two miles away. Then return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 1 meeting room, which can hold up to 12 delegates. Directions: M6(J6), signposted city centre. Take the second exit off A38(M) signposted A4540 ring road. At the roundabout you should take first exit off. After approx 50m is the turning on your left into Richard Street, hotel is on the left. Barrier access to car park. Parking is charged at £4 per night. Important info: This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing