We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room just about ok but rest was a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Ranked #50 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Room just about ok but rest was a let down”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The staff were too busy and it took 20 to 30 minutes to book in then the cleaner was just about to clean our room when we got to it. The air conditioning didn't seem to work so had to have the windows open and put up with the noise of the Aston Expressway. The rooms are dated. The bar was closed when we returned at about 12.30 am. The best things were having somewhere to park the car and reception organised a cab for us into town. Would stay at other Premier Inns as we have in the past but not this one. We had booked 4 rooms and other families from the wedding party had booked several others and I know some of them complained about the rooms and the service.

Room Tip: Pick another Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris-t-wolves1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear chris-t-wolves1951

May i thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am always happy to hear how our guests experience was.

We genuinly care about the feedback that affected your stay and i would like to offer you my formal apology. The points you rasied will be communicated with my team to better improve our delivery.

I am always happy to discuss your feedback direct and welcome any future contact to restore your faith in Premier Inn Birmingham Central East.

Once again Many Thanks

Kindest Regards

Paul Hodgkinson - & The Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    233
    106
    42
    34
See reviews for
233
154
25
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. The cooked breakfast was excellent- piping hot and tasty, The only problem was the wait at breakfast time. The majority of the guests were attending a nearby conference, so there was a rush at one time to get to the venue, There simply weren't enough staff to deal with the guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Brian888

May I thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us.

I am really pleased to hear your stay was a pleasant one.

We are a caring team and apologise that breakfast service was not to our usually high standard.

I always welcome comments from my guests to better improve the products and services we provide.

I hope we see you back at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East where I would love to greet you personally

Kindest Regards

Paul Hodgkinson & The team at Premier inn Birmingham Central East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I thought the location of the hotel would be noisey, but it was very quiet, the room was clean and comfortable, with a choice of pillows. The rest of the hotel was also clean from what we saw of it. The restaurant was also good with a geat selection on the menu to choose from, and with a idilyc outlook onto the canal where barges slinked by slowly. The shaving light in our bathroom did not work and was not fixed during our stay - but overall our impression of this hotel was very good. Car parking at the hotel during our 3 night stay was good and our companions staying in the room next door also had a great, relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with odd numbers - overlooking the car park and not facing the main road nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splishsplasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Splishsplasher

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, birminham does offer some idylic view as well as places to visit

Im sorry that the light was not rectified and i will communicate this with my team to better improve repairs and maintenance responses

I hope to welcome you back personally to Premeier Inn Birmingham Central East in the near future

Kindest Regards

Paul Hodgkinson & The Team at Premeier Inn Birmingham Central East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had an excellent stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed 3 nights. Very clean and comfortable and the bed was so comfortable. Good parking facilities. Great bathroom facilities. Hairdryer and even a fan included in the room.

Room Tip: Room 102 is over where the laundry is collected and can be a little noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Chris K

Thank you for your kind words mentioned in your review of Premier Inn Birmingham Central East.

Its always nice to hear and i will pass them on to all of the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back personally and thank you again for choosing Premier Inn

Kindest Regards

Paul Hodgkinson & The Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed just one night at £29. Very friendly welcome, usual basic room very clean and comfortable. You can always rely on Premier Inn. Couldn't see a restaurant or supermarket nearby, but the hotel has a bar and restaurant anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendra1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

When we arrived we had a very friendly warm welcome. We stayed in room 128 which was ample big enough for us 5 and only had to pay £29 a night. The room was ready and prepared for us with this extra bed. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. Lovely hot water in the bathroom with a working shower. A fan is in your room if needed, does get hot at night. Tv in our room had free view so there was a nice choice of channels for everyone of all ages. You only get 30 min free Wi-Fi a day then you have to pay if you need more. Food in the restaurant was very well cooked and value for money with excellent service. Lots of free parking avaliable. We stayed for 4 nights and will come back soon.
Staff was very helpful, understanding and always greeted you with a smile :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Allways a warm welcome friendly and helpful staff clean rooms and good food and bedrooms are clean and tidy I allways feel relaxed after a stay and I do sleep well as they guarntee which is a good reason to stay on its own even car parking is easy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conference Aston Hotel
#58 of 117 in Birmingham
430 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central East

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Address: Richard Street | Waterlinks, Birmingham B7 4AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central East 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the M6, M42 and M5, the Premier Inn Birmingham Central East is even better connected than a certain Mrs Osbourne. And, thankfully, quite a bit quieter too. Nip into Birmingham city centre for great shopping at the Bull Ring, the Sea Life Centre's underwater world and the trendy bars and businesses of the Mailbox and Brindley Place. Take a trip to chocolate heaven at Cadbury World. Or cheer on your team at Villa Park of Birmingham City F.C, both just two miles away. Then return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 1 meeting room, which can hold up to 12 delegates. Directions: M6(J6), signposted city centre. Take the second exit off A38(M) signposted A4540 ring road. At the roundabout you should take first exit off. After approx 50m is the turning on your left into Richard Street, hotel is on the left. Barrier access to car park. Parking is charged at £4 per night. Important info: This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing