We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Leeds & Germany
Level Contributor
196 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“WYSIWYG”
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Premier Inns are all much of a muchness and if you've ever stayed in one you'll know what to expect. This one is not actually on Broad Street which is (i) a blessing in disguise but (ii) a tad confusing. You need to walk down Bridge Street past the Hyatt and you'll see it.
Reception / check in area is pretty small and pokey. I tried to check in early and, though I managed, it was VERY difficult to do. I finally managed to persuade the receptionist (who was "in training") that I didn't mind a single room with single bed and that the person who had reserved 'my' single surely wouldn't object to getting a double when he or she arrived later. I was informed, much to my annoyance, that if I'd wanted to check in early I should've booked for the night before too! Family were already there so I could leave my bags anyway but I resented that suggestion.
Breakfast area is pretty small but didn't appear busy. The food was ok but be warned if you're a fan of the "full English" : it's not a buffet, it's served to your table, which makes a mockery of the 'all you can eat breakfast' claim.
Bar area was tiny and, I imagine, not very inviting if busy. There are far too few tables at the canal side, which seems a shame and a waste of a good location.
Premier Inn can't do anything about their clientele but it was very, very noisy on the Sat'day night, with banging (both doors and p*ssed up people next door!) shouting, [--] and [--] going on till well past 3 in the morning. So if you need a good night's sleep bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theoriginalsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thanks for your review. At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments. Our check in time is from 2pm should an earlier check be needed we would advise to contact the hotel directly prior to arrival. The Premier Breakfast is an all you can eat option, to ensure our guests are being served hot freshly cooked food our breakfasts are cooked to order however more food will be served if requested. We do apologise that you were disturbed by other guests during your stay we do request all our guest are considerate whilst in the hotel. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    385
    165
    79
    44
See reviews for
106
434
50
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Welcomed by a friendly member of staff who was able to advise about taxi etc as i was a lady travelling alone. Bedroom clean and fresh, bathroom shower extremly noisey and TV remote did not work. Had a double for single occupancy which was better and bigger than the usual single size rooms elsewhere. View was out onto the car park but at least could check on the car no problems there and was free unlike most of the other hotels in the area. Plenty of car parking spaces available at the time i arrived 5pm. Vending machines available but also had a cute little bar and restaurant which overlooked the canal. The main downside was the noise from the next room who continually visited the room opposite them back and forth every few minutes and it was door banging from when i arrived until i left to go out at night then the same in the early morning which ment i was unable to get a good night sleep which was annoying because the checkout is later than other hotels but i was not able to use it to relax over the bank holiday and had had enough. I got quite anxious as i believe they were a large party of mainly what i thought were women spread across several rooms but when i peered out the door i was greeted by a man who was with them and spoke in a different language and attempted to tell them to be quiet i believe the woman returned with a rude abrupt comment as he shrugged his shoulders. If i had of known about the lack of sleep policy the hotel has i would of complained but maybe that would of made it worse for myself. I did notice another couple of people changing rooms as i arrived in the same corridor. Putting this aside the bedroom was very clean and modern, fairly central no noise from bars or clubs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your clean comfortable room and the service received at our hotel met your expectations. We do apologise that you were disturbed during you stay, at Premier Inn we do endeavour to ensure all our guests have good nights sleep. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by our Guest Relations team and the Management Team at our hotel. Thanks you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Arrived at the hotel late on and was greeted with a pleasant receptionist asking how are journey was and told us that if we needed anything just to ask.

We had a room on the top floor overlooking the nite nite hotel/apartment complex and to left of us the symphony hall and the big wheel with some of the german christmas market stalls. Quite a nice view at night with all the lights on the big wheel and the stalls.

The room itself was quite small but we didnt mind as we wasnt going to be spending a lot of time in the room it was somewhere to sleep and have a shower/bath. The bathroom was spacious and had all the usual amentities.

As it was our first time visiting Birmingham we decided to have a quick look around to see where everything is for the next day and we couldnt believe how close you are to the city centre and the Bullring shopping centre just a 20 minute walk to the Bullring. As we had arrived late we was hungry and asked where we could go to have some dinner and was told their was loads of restaraunts by the canal near the sea-life centre or there was the paradise forum which are both 5 minute walks from the hotel.

Also with this hotel they offer free parking for the duration of your stay but it is limited spaces and some very cramped in but parking in Birmingham can cost anything from £7+ from the car parks i looked at. Will be visiting Birmingham again and will deffinately use this premier inn again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwfccardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your time with us, we are so pleased that our hotel and clean, comfortable rooms and central location ensured your stay was a good. Our team members will be delighted to receive your feedback, our team our committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. Thanks again for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
3,484 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing