We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Ranked #69 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After a frantic search for a space on the car park we received a warm welcome from an efficient reception. The room was comfortable and even though in the middle of town we had a good night's sleep. The food in the restaurant was good. We were treated very well by all of the staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    406
    178
    88
    53
See reviews for
119
469
53
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed at quite a few Premier Inn's around the country and have always been satisfied but on this occasion we we're let down. We booked 2 rooms, one for ourselves and the other for our elderly father. This was a treat after a show in Birmingham. The rooms were small and the bathroom needed a little attention (bath sealant needed replacing. We had to pay extra for wifi and parking. We booked an evening meal at the hotel and waited 11/2 hours for the starter. We waited a further 1/2 hour for the main course which arrived cold and we went back to the restaurant later together our dessert which we took to our room. It was an absolute shambles and all the other people in the restaurant were complaining. The whole situation spoiled our treat for our Father.
We had stayed in a Holiday Inn expressing Oxford on the two previous nights to this and the two places could not be compared - the holiday inn was excellent. The staff tried their best and were pleasant but there were few of them and they couldn't cope. We would not stay in this hotel again but would go to other Premier Inn's. Our room overlooked the car park and was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Me and my partner booked this hotel for 30/11/13. It's the first time we have left our baby for the night so was really looking forward to it. We had a great time shopping and then the German MArket! When we got back we had a drink in the bar and went to sleep, just as I closed my eyes the room was literally shacking from the music of the guests next door. I went straight to reception where I told a receptionist who said I'm just training and I'll sort it out. No one came to tell the guests to turn it down. During this time to more men went into the room( there must of been at least 5 people in that room) I went back to reception where a male member of staff came and told the guests to turn the music down and that there shouldn't be so
Many in one room, no one left the room tho! They turned it down but then it wen back up, you could hear it it the hall too. I had to again get dressed and go to reception to tell them, where yet again they we're told to turn it down, not a word about the amount of people they still had in the room. We did get a refund but felt upset as this ruined what had been a great day! We could of stayed at home with our baby daughter for all the hassle we had. 3 times to get it sorted but then it only stopped cause they a all went out. What was meant to be a nice rest from out baby turned out to be a noisy and hassle night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Firstly, this a good location - close to the NIA and Broad Street, but away from the noise.
When we booked the room, the car park was free, which is why we decided on booking this particular hotel. However, a couple of days before we arrived, we received hotel booking confirmation, which said (only when you read closely) that parking was now chargable. Upon arrival in the small awkward car park, I managed to pay ok for my car, however, my friend who had arrived only a few minutes earlier had had a major problem - despite it saying the correct car parking fee when she inserted her card, by the time she had finished entering her PIN, the charge had gone up to over £70 for one nights parking. The reception staff said they would sort this out so she would be refunded, which hopefully they did.
Check in staff were friendly. The lift was v scary, it jerked, dropped a bit and generally, sounded in need of a good service. Went in it twice and then refused to go in it again.
Upon arrival at the floor, I put my key in the floor entry door and it didn't work. Having tried a few times, I walked down to reception where they gave me another key. I walked back up and the same thing happened again. It was only then that I pulled the door hard and realised the door was in fact broken and could be opened. Good security! My friend had done the same minutes before, going back down to reception, and I saw someone else going down to reception a few minutes later who had thought the same. Surely, reception knew of the issue by the amount of people going down to say they couldn't get onto the floor, but nothing was said upon check in.

Rooms were typical Premier Inn rooms - no probs.
Bar in the hotel was quite nice.
Would stay there again if got a decent price as ideal for the NIA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheretonext1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here when we went to see the Nitro Cicus at the NIA, only a 5-10min walk. Same amount to some great restaurants (pizza express, cafe rouge, GBK). Lovely clean room and bathroom (good powerful shower). Receptionist was really friendly and bubbly. Only downsides - £5 for parking and walls are very thin! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macaroni-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Did everything a hotel should do, great reception staff, clean, tidy, great location, clean towels, 9/10 well done. Only gripe was having to pay for parking, but suppose it is in the city. and was only a fiver for 24 hours. could do with a light near the parking meter as it was dark when i arrived.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our stay was a group booking for 6 rooms which we have had nothing but problems with from the start. We initially booked 5 rooms which we changed to 6. We amended this with Premier Inns who sent the new invoice through with an additional admin fee for amending the booking which we were not advised of whilst making the amendment.
On arriving at the hotel to check in, the first member was asked to pay for their room upfront despite the booking being paid for in full months earlier! A week after our stay, they also took another payment without prior authroisation for the full amount again for the 6 rooms we had booked.
The rooms were small (including the bathroom) and not great value for money and the beds are two singles made into a double. Also despite being in a city centre location where you expect noise, we received a complaint about noise levels.
The breakfast (which was not included in the room cost) had a good selection however, the lack of hot water, milk and coffee makes it a little bit difficult to get a drink!

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat_Nat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,847 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#50 of 117 in Birmingham
704 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing