We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, small but clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Wrexham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location, small but clean rooms”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked a weekend break here.

The room was on the 4th floor so little direct noise from the street.

Birmingham City Centre is however plagued by youths driving cars at high speed and the police chase them in cars with sirens at all times of the night and early morning. The simple choice then is sleep in a stuffy hotel room or crack open the window for some air and lay awake all night. Not really the fault of Premier Inns, I know, but if you want peace and quiet, perhaps not the best choice. Rooms are clean and tidy but some of the smallest in the chain's estate.

All this is compensated for by superbly helpful staff, always smiling and ready to help. Tied with the usual high standard of cleanliness of rooms and bathrooms, make this a good choice.

There is a food court within 5 minutes walk with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyWaveyWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear DaveyWaveyWrexham,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted the team looked after you so and were so helpful during your stay. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Birmingham and got to see a lot of the city.

I'm sorry you experienced such high levels of external noise from the local youths and police! Please be assured this isn't the norm at all and our location slightly away from Broad Street normally means external noise of this kind is quite rare at the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon next time you visit the city.

Kind Regards

Joanne Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    388
    165
    83
    45
See reviews for
106
437
51
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Made the mistake of going to their other site round the corner! - but the excellent receptionist put me right.

The room was small but as it was freezing out, made it nice an cosy with the heating up full.

My only complaint is that the walls are paper thin here. Television noise, coughing, sneezing, peeing and passing wind - I heard the lot. I was woken up at 5.30 in the morning due to next doors TV.

Booked the meal deal (Breakfast/Dinner) - beware! on this deal the menu options are limited.

Location is good if you want city centre shopping. My room overlooked the canal - not exactly Venice but of interest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear dollychops,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I hope your business trip was successful.

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. Our rooms are smaller than many Premier Inns but you are right that this can be cozy on a winters evening!

I am sorry that you were disturbed by internal noise during your stay and hope that you had the opportunity to discuss any concerns with our Duty Manager.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Joanne Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Used this hotel a few times rooms are much smaller than normal Premier inn’s
But in a good spot for board street and the attractions of Birmingham
Free parking on site bonus for a city location
It’s a about time they put fridges in the rooms at this hotel chain

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klmofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear klmofo,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Birmingham.

Our rooms are smaller than many Premier Inns due to our location however we try hard to communicate this to our guests via our website and when contacting the hotel directly. We do not have any family rooms at our site, and our space is limited however there are three alternative Premier Inns in the city centre, all well located for all the sights that have larger rooms and that are able to easily accommodate guests requiring more space .

If you require any additional information about which site best fits your requirements please don't hesitate to contact our hotels directly and the team will be happy to advise.

Kind Regards

Joanne Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really good location for the city & great the parking wasnt at an extra cost . The room was lovely , clean and comfortable the bed was amazing huge & squiggy :) .Just one down side our room was right near the door entrance to our floor and every time it got used it woke me up :(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minxycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear minxycookie,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you liked the hotel and enjoyed our fabulous Premier Inn beds!

I was disappointed to read that you had been disturbed during the night and hope that you got the opportunity to discuss this with the Duty Manager during your stay. We are in the process of having the fire doors in the building replaced in order to minimise disturbance to our guests during the night so I hope by the next time you visit there will be no further issues.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A great canalside location, within walking distance of the National Indoor Arena and all the shops and restaurants. Delighted to get free parking. Receptionist was welcoming and professional. Rooms quite small and functional but had everything we needed, as we didn't spend much time there. Didn't use the breakfast and restaurant facilities on this occasion but good to know you have the option.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook the canal, others overlook the car park. The canal side sounds appealing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Travellingrunner,

Thank you for taking the time to give such wonderful feedback about your stay with us. I hope you had an enjoyable stay in Birmingham.

We do have some great views over the canal from many of our rooms and the team will always try to accommodate requests for rooms on certain sides or floors of the hotel if guests call up before hand. Next time pop into our restaurant on the first floor where you can enjoy breakfast or an evening meal as the canal barges travel past.

We hope to see you again next time you visit Birmingham.

Kind Regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks a go for a couple of days in the week. Brilliant location and we got a car parking space every time we drove in! The staff were really friendly and seemed to really care if we had enjoyed ourselves which made a really lovely change from some hotels. The rooms aren't the biggest I have ever seen but I think the location more than makes up for that as you are so close to everything in the city. Breakfast was hot and tasty and served with a smile every day. I will be back!!

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear JennieS78,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had such a great time and that the team looked after you so well. I really hope you enjoyed exploring the city.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here with my partner last Saturday night whilst attending a concert at the Symphony Hall. From this point of view it was in a brilliant location - took us about five minutes to walk to the theatre. The lady, Sharon, on Reception was lovely, extremely friendly and professional. The room itself was definitely the smallest Premier we have ever stayed in and, if we had been staying any length of time, would, I imagine, have felt very claustrophobic. The up-side was, it was spotlessly clean.
When staying at Premier Inns, one of the things we always look forward to, are the breakfasts so, after waiting thirty five minutes after placing our order, we were extremely disappointed to be told the lad who had taken the order hadn't given it in to the kitchen staff and there would now be a further wait of twenty minutes. As we had a taxi to catch we had to pass on this. The waitress who told us about the mistake, Abbie, was very apologetic and told us we could help ourselves to cereal and toast for which we wouldn't be charged.
Apart from the disappointing aspects of this stay, I feel Premier are beginning to outprice themselves. Our one night stay cost us £74 and, if we had had a cooked breakfast this would have taken the total up to £90.50. We have stayed in some really luxurious B+B's for £80, including breakfast, with all the added extras and parking on-site. I know the city centre Premiers can charge a premium price because of their locations but I no longer consider these so called budget hotels value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Relaxed33,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your concert.

I am pleased the team looked after you so well and thank your for sharing your lovely comments about Sharon. We regularly feedback Tripadvisor comments to the team and it is wonderful to have such positive comments about individuals to share with them.

I was disappointed to hear about your breakfast experience and please rest assured I will investigate how this happened and implement any changes necessary to ensure this situation does not happen again.

Our rooms are significantly smaller than many Premier Inns & whilst we do advertise this on the website I appreciate they can be a surprise for some guests. There are four Premier Inns in the city centre, all in very good locations & each with very different room sizes. Please give us a call if you visit the city for more than one night and would prefer a hotel with larger rooms.

Thank you for your feedback about pricing. We always aim to try and give our guests the best value we possibly can. Our best available rates are always available on line and if dates are definite our saver rates can often be significantly cheaper than flexible rates. All our hotels have a certain allocation of our Premier Offer Rooms from £19.00 but these do sell out quickly as city centre demand is very high. Please do contact the hotel directly when booking as the team will be able to help you find the best rates available at that time.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing