We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Ranked #57 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We needed somewhere to stay whilst going to watch a show in the National Indoor Arena. We found the Premier Inn to be local to both the NIA and the city centre and very affordable.

The room was clean and spacious enough for a one night say. The staff were very friendly and gave help and ideas of ways to spend our day in Birmingham.

The service was a bit slow in the restaurant but the canal side outside tables made up for this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Parrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

We have made this our hotel of choice when meeting in Birmingham. The complimentary carpark is great, meaning we do not have to worry about our car during the day. The service is 2nd to none. Sharon on reception is great. We are in a central location to all the bars and nightlife. No taxis needed! Breakfast in the morning is great and sets you up for the day. Breakfast waiter Joey is guaranteed to put a smile on your face, hangover or not.

Room Tip: rooms are quite small, but still value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Excellent location and a nice hotel with nice views of the canal.
We stayed over the bank holiday so we were expecting a lot of noise and were not about to moan about drunken people having a good time especially since we both like a good drink too. However we ended up being put next to a group of aggresive idiots who were spitting up the front of our room door and had to listen to rubbish (the majority of it being racist) such as "Im going to kill the **** and "Im going to punch the *********"" and this was the mild version BEFORE they went on thier night out. When asked if we could move rooms the person on the reception did everything he could, however the hotel did not have another double room free, we were happy that the staff did everything they could to help us out and we loved the hotel. We have no complaints about the staff or the hotel. However it just makes me worry about the saftey of staff and guests when you have a large group of aggresive idiots like that staying in the hotel it if there is just one person on reception, the staff at the hotel looked like they were used to it and did everything they could to police the behaviour however it makes me wonder how much Premier Inn consider the saftey of thier staff and guests. "Its just usual for a bank holiday Monday" is not a good enough excuse."

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayStoke30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights (Sat/Sun) . At an average price of less than £50/night - including free parking - in the centre of Birmingham, you can't go wrong. Usual Premier Inn cleanliness, although slightly tired bathroom; and bedroom was quite compact. Nice touch was a note in the room from the manager explaining that due to lack of air con, fans were provided in the cupboard and extra sheets from reception.

Great location - wouldn't look anywhere else if staying in Brum again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChubbsyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stopped in several Premier Inns in past this was one of the better ones. Nice location on the canal and close to shops and bars. Staff were very friendly, would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeyMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Premier Inn as part of a hen night and found the hotel to be of exceptional value. It is everything you would expect from a Premier Inn and more. The rooms were of excellent standard, very clean and a very good shower. The breakfast is served to order and you can order as much as you like. It can be slightly noisey and busy as you would expect from a city centre hotel but the noise wasn't excessive and it was at an acceptable level. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Birmingham. Please pass on our thanks to the staff for a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
Thank lsdmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Let me start by saying i love Premier inns and so far have not been let down! We stayed here on Thursday 18th august on arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant lady on the reception who checked us in to our room early,once again the room was spotless(room 400) the bathroom was also the same,the only thing i would say is the room was a little smaller than the london premier inns we have used in the past but did not bother us. For £53 for central birmingham you really can not complain i will be staying there again.
Staff 10/10
cleanliness 10/10
location 10/10
A big well done to all at premier inn again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karlos19721944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,199 reviews
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $62 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Premier Inn, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing