We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
$109
$105
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$113
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$71
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$97
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$65
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$96
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,629)
Filter reviews
2,629 results
Traveler rating
1,513
716
257
94
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,513
716
257
94
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel la tourselfridges car parktouch screenmoor street stationcity roommodern hotelchop housesecret escapeswhite company toiletriesexecutive roombull ringcity centreafternoon teamod conswalk in showerexcellent hotelconference facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,855 - 1,860 of 2,629 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a great hotel. The rooms are clean and modern. The staff are extremely friendly and the bar and restaurant have a wonderful ambiance. We have stayed before and came back this time to take advantage of one of their stay and dine offers. But they do need to be careful with attention to detail, especially as the clientele here expect a high standard. We went into the bar for pre dinner drinks,It was cold in the bar, I was served a glass of flat sparkling wine and olives served with no napkin. Our meal was not great . At breakfast we had to ask 3 times for coffee. We will go back and stay but not to eat. But don't let my review put you off - it really is a fantastic hotel and I really hope the management do not let standards slip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about your experience in Alvar and Aalto Restaurant which continue to be addressed as we work closely with the Food & Beverage managers always listening to any feedback received so we can improve. I hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Seriously this is one of the best uk city centre hotels that I have stayed in. Congratulations to not only the front of house staff but to the management & those behind the scenes; special mention to reception, cleaners and breakfast chefs.
The one criticism is that you cannot get any mobile phone signal in the hotel. This was not my priority but it was to some people.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. The mobile phone signal in the hotel is an on-going issue and something we hope to have rectified in the not too distant future. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had tickets to see a concert at the NEC and we managed to get a good deal for a Friday night in the La Tour. Everything about the hotel was impressive NEC, especially it's location about 400 Yds from the Bullring. It is clean, modern, stylish and well-equipped, with a friendly staff and a good bar/restaurant. We took advantage of the parking deal at the Selfridge car park, but generally the parking is a bit problematic. However the hotel is quite close to the stations, which was good for our concert at the NEC. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you can get a deal.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for Saturday night in November. We're given disabled room & it was great for everyone....except no idea how anyone using a wheelchair would be able to hang clothes as rail really high. Really clean great facilities but only one problem. Shower only luke warm at best & no water after 11am on Sunday morning at all. But good news is when mentioned this to staff at check out they dealt with it immediately, no fuss, no questions, exactly how complaints should be dealt with. So although not perfect stay would go back & stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFandJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel La Tour. I am glad you had a good stay and would return even after out water supply issues on the weekend in question. As always - unfortunately things such as a water supply shortage into the hotel can happen and was out of our hands but what I am happy about is how the team dealt with the issue with yourself and all other guests who it affected on that Sunday morning. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards – Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed for 10 days in the hotel I thoroughly impressed by the staff, food and hotel facilities.

The menu was fantastic, the rooms were clean, bright and modern. The staff couldn't have been more helpful if they tried.

I was at the hotel on business, I would happily return socially.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lovetotravelgkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Glad you had a good time at Hotel La Tour Birmingham! 10 days is a long time so it delights me to read the team made your stay as comfortable as possible. Hope to see you again soon this time without having to think about work all the time. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews