We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Modern Hotel in Birmingham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
914 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Very Modern Hotel in Birmingham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice modern hotel with large rooms, large bathrooms and full size showers. Very new and clean. Very little closet or drawer space for your clothes (kind of surprising considering size of room?). Never could figure out the room safe??? Nice buffet style breakfast, maybe a bit overpriced. Very near the train station, easily walkable. Full bar on second floor, about $12 for a cocktail.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you decided to give us a try and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon, Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    621
    218
    76
    40
See reviews for
178
1,052
51
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked a one night stay via Secret Escapes, got an excellent deal on an executive room. This was our first time at this hotel, so unsure of what to expect. Could not have been happier. Arrived by car on Tuesday midday, parked nearby in the Selfridges car park, short walk to the hotel. Impressed by the very modern and spacious reception, they have self service check-in but as this was our first time here we went to the desk. Not expecting to get in to our room as we were quite early, but pleasantly surprised when told our room was ready.
Very comfortable and quite spacious room with modern high tech controls and features.
The best part of the hotel has to be the restaurant, we had a table booked for 8 pm. It is billed as being under the influence of Marcus Warering and the quality certainly shows. My wife chose the goat's cheese tart and I had their take on a "surf and turf", pork belly and scallops. Both starters were excellent. For main, we both chose the pork cheeks. This was simply stunning. Only problem was that we'd had a big lunch so had no room for dessert! I have eaten in many hotel restaurants around the world and quite a few top class restaurants and I can confidently say this was probably the best meal I had eaten out.

My big test of a hotel is always breakfast, initially I was little concerned by the presence of a buffet breakfast, but my fears were unfounded. The breakfast was excellent. Yes, it was buffet style, but only small quantities of food was kept in the food warmers and regularly topped up with freshly cooked food, good choice of fruit and pastries and bread. Excellent bacon, top quality sausages and even the scrambled egg was good.

The hotel also has a very large and comfortable bar area, my only criticism was the complete lack of any sort of Armagnac, but I made do with a cognac instead.

Will definitely return to the La Tour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deskyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel is clean, modern and has loads of technological gadgets which are great. Conference facilities and the room stayed in were fab, the restaurant served top quality food and drinks ... but the delivery of such a high end product was terrible.

Reception is tiny - the receptionist are not welcoming - no "how was your journey" etc, no smile! no nothing. They appear to want everyone to use their automated system - which doesn't work!

Staff in the restaurant were arguing behind the bar, tea and coffee was served as we were finishing our breakfast - despite me asking twice about it.

Nobody asked did we need any help taking bags to room, had to wait 10 minutes when asked to see duty manager - no "take a seat in the bar" we were left stood in the middle of the reception.

Couple in next room still being loud at 2am, (not the hotels fault - but definitely their problem to sort) informed reception who sent people up three times to try and sort it - no offer of a room move - got to sleep at 5am then back up at 7am - not great really.

Very poor customer service throughout and definitely not 4 star service.

Definitely one to avoid due to lack of staff training in basic customer service.

Room Tip: Avoid interconnecting rooms - very noisy !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for posting a review about your time here at La Tour. Clearly we didn’t delight you as much as we would have hoped. We are building a product for our customers today and with this we are very open to listening to our customers and learning about what they think will make us the number one venue in Birmingham so thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel La Tour when we travelled to Birmingham for a concert. The hotel is in a central location and had an arrangement with Selfridges car park for cheap parking rates. A lot of building work going on around near the hotel, when this is all complete, the views should be more inspiring. Otherwise, a lovely clean and comfy room with friendly and helpful staff on reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LME_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here last night for a treat, we paid £225 for a suite which was nice but the view wasn't great. The room was very modern and spacious with a TV over the bath.

Check in was ok, although they seem to have put the emphasis on self service with only a tiny manned check in desk which was very busy without enough space for the three people working there.

We dropped our bags off and headed to the bar which was very nice but after 15 minutes we still hadn't been acknowledged, let alone served. We went up to the bar and got served but the staff seemed more interested in chatting than serving guests.

Later on in the evening we headed back to the bar which had a loud wedding party in attendance and some good live music from a guitarist. This time service was great with Diana and Karen extremely attentive.

All in all, a nice hotel let down a little by poor service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel with friends to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a contemporary style and has a very relaxed atmosphere, it's difficult to believe that you are in the centre of Birmingham!! The suites are fantastic, everything that you need and more. The staff from receptionists, to housekeepers are all efficient, polite and helpful. We did not eat at the restaurant apart from breakfast which couldn't be faulted at all. I would particularly like to mention Andy who works behind the bar, he was so helpful and knowledgeable about his craft, from making cocktails to helping my husband choose a wine, nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. Thank you so much, you made our weekend. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. One word can sum it up excellent. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope to see you on your next trip I know Andy is looking forward to it. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spent the night at this new hotel for an early business conference and meetings in centre of Birmingham Great food and excellent service in the restaurant and a good well displayed and eatable breakfast Lovely airy clean rooms The meeting facilities were also very well laid out parking nearby but very close to main railway sstations and shopping precincts

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witsend18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing