We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for a special occasion”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently travelled to Birmingham for a weekend break and as a 'treat' we were taken by family to this wonderful establishment. Is it expensive? Yes, £10.50 for a glass of wine confirms this, however the hotel restaurant comes into the 'fine dining' class and although expensive it is sometimes nice to pay a bit extra for real quality. The staff (as one would expect) were well trained in their various roles and were most helpful. The hotel restaurant has an opulent feeling, the food is absolutely superb and as a one off is well worth a visit. This is a four star hotel which in my opinion is serving five star food. Would I return? That's a big YES.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JOHN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your glowing review,They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 2,505 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

So after a rocky start when requesting a late check out before my arrival, I was very happy with my stay at LaTour once there, we were given a complementary upgrade for my earlier issues (thanks to Karen for this) and enjoyed a pleasant weekend at LaTour. The service and reception are great, small touches like finding a small box of chocolates in the room was nice. The bathroom in the suite is great and overall the hotel is ideal if you’re looking for a central/city location. My only gripe is that I found the bed too short, I am 6ft 3 and my legs were too long for the bed, so bear this in mind if your tall like me. If I was to travel to Birmingham again, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better, very close to train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham once you got here. I am glad Karen was able to assist your booking and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited this hotel for a shopping romantic break. This has only been open for 12 months and is just two minutes from the bullring shopping and Selfridges. Room was on the top floor looking over the city, room size was fine and a nice new bathroom with a large wet room shower. Large mirror in the bathroom and toiletries supplied were good. We stayed for two nights Friday and Saturday parking is at the moor street car park which is all of 4 minutes walk and to cost for the two days was £5 a good selling point for anyone who knows what is costs to park in Birmingham. Reception was very helpful when we tried to use the automatic check in this works well and produces a key card for thou there and then. If you require a second key card you only have to ask at the reception and they will gladly supply you with a second card. I travel a lot and when you stay at hotels and you don't even realise that the staff are there but you don't see them is one of the best indictments that you can give a hotel. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety and as much food as you can manage. Bar prices are reasonable for a hotel and the lounge is very comfortable with a very nice piano player from 6pm until 10pm each night I think. Overall a great stay at a very nice hotel, would certainly use this hotel again for my Birmingham trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Langdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves . I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayd at hotel le tour for one night on the love BRUM offer. Really enjoyd my stay.my room was big plenty of room and like having a apartment.view of car park across the road where I parkd. View of bullring and the city. Bathroom was out of this world with a shower and a big deep bath to die for.with champange glassies and tv.i loved it. And be defo staying here again.ill be looking out for more offers.only down fall for me was wasnt much choices on the menu in restaurant and wasnt much choice on cocktail menu. X

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nayylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Hotel La Tour Birmingham during your recent stay. Thanks very much for all your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kind regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed only one night with my son and partner what I didn't like was that I make my booking online with extra bed in the room when I came to the room it wasn't there I called the reception but the gentelman told me that he can't make a extra bed in the room... so I asked him for a cot...he wasn't helpful. We came downstairs and I talk with receptionist she was really nice and she did help us. When we came from shopping I wanted to make a coffee but both cups were dirty.... there was dust on doors, behind TV, and on lamp, the glass on the table and the glass from shower wasn't been cleaned properly. The mirrors in the room had some spots. In overall the restaurant and reception is fantastic but housekeeping in this hotel don't meet the standarts of the 4* hotel......

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justyna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts, we really value your feedback, I have looked into the extra bed issue and can only apologise for the response you received from the gentleman on reception. it is never our intention to upset our guests. I will investigate your comments regarding the bedroom cleanliness with our housekeeper but I am really shocked with your feedback as cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on. I do hope I have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stay at the La Tour regularly and find it very comfortable, friendly, with a very high spec of equipment and furnishings. The rooms are modern and the gadgets take a little while to work out but I do find they work well - the computerised check in system makes life simpler and avoids any queues at peak times, there is a good gym and the food is good but a bit overpriced. I can't fault the service, the La Tour team work really hard to address any issues - i had 2 members of the management team in the gym trying to sort the TV out within minutes of me moaning about it not working!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJollySmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your other previous visits at Hotel La Tour Birmingham Adrian and myself look forward to welcoming you back again soon, but hopefully not in the gym fixing the television. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights as a treat and to do some shopping in Birmingham and what a treat staying here was!

Parking costs just £5 pounds in a local car park right near the hotel so thats for 24 hours or 3/4/5 days regardless if you leave it parked up.

I stayed in room 702 7th floor overlooking the Bullring in a exec room, The room was spotlessly clean and the staff could not say or do enough to make you feel welcome and at home here so I really don't understand some of the bad reviews on this hotel.

Just a minor gripe though.

Opened my bedroom door on night 2 of my stay and no newspaper as requested and paid for (so you think no big deal and go to breakfast) Only to find a rather strange looking couple in a room on the same floor at breakfast had helped themselves to it and there at the breakfast table reading it bold as brass (It had my room number on front page how I never said something i do not know) But one does have to question if you can't afford 55p for a paper what are you doing staying in La Tour?

The staff and myself had a good giggle about this though that was refreshing.

I still don't understand though why they never offered me a free 7 night stay to recover from my traumatic experience :-)

Room Tip: Stay on the 7th floor overlooking the bull ring :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and your sense of humour does appeal to me! I hope we refunded your 55p. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,138 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,007 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,546 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $101 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing