We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern classy and pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I can only restate what has already been said. We had a good deal and a nice room with excellent breakfast. A good central location, we would not hesitate to stay here again. We had a great dinner out at Purnells already booked so could not try restaurant but will next time

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPaulCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback we appreciate it so much and are quite obsessive at trying to receive as much information from each guests stay as we can so that we can keep improving what we offer. Birmingham is an amazing city and is the home to the very best restaurants. I am so glad that you enjoyed Parnell’s it is one of our favourites as well.
Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,135 - 2,141 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

As a young couple with a six month old baby we were worried we might not be trendy enough for this place, as it is the type of hotel we would have chosen before having our son. However the staff were excellent and immediately helped us out with luggage, cotbeds etc.
Breakfast was great and it was a wonderful stay from start to finish - many thanks to Damon, the night manager for all his help at 2am. The interior decor is also fab!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJG190822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

It is so good to be replying to great feedback and makes us all very proud of Hotel La Tour and the team. It is important to us that every guests has good memories of their visit and I am so please that the team made this happen for you.
Please come and see us again soon, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the beginning of February. We parked across the road in a NCP car park which, for hotel guests, has a discount rate of £5 per night. Not bad considering the location, a 2 minute walk to the Bull Ring. We were met at reception by really welcoming and helpful staff who informed us that we had been upgraded to an executive room. A good start.

Ou room number was 239 and early impressions were good. Although a small sized room, I thought the decor was modern and the bathroom was beautiful. White Co toiletries were very nice. Everything was digitally controlled. I suppose our biggest gripe in the room was the aircon. The lowest setting was 20 degrees, which for us was too hot. I called reception and was told they can remotely lower the settings, which they did to 18. So we left the room for dinner in the restaurant downstairs.

Dinner was a forgettable experience. Even though there were plenty of staff around, service was lacking. We sat down and nobody came for drinks order. It wasn't even busy at this stage although when we left it was about 3/4 full. when we ordered our food we also asked for drinks.

We weren't overly hungry had fish and chips, not adventurous I know but something I fancied. I thought the batter on the fish was overcooked but my wife liked hers. We had the cheese board for dessert and it arrived without explanation. The 3 cheeses were a bit soapy but I like strong cheese so again this could be down to my choice.

We went back to the room and the aircon was on 18 but was till too warm. Nothing could be done so we went ahead and had quite an unpleasant sleep.

Breakfast was self service and fresh. Check out was straightforward. A short walk back to our car and we were away.

As I said before, the location is superb and cheap parking nearby is a bonus. If I stayed again, I would definitely make sure the aircon was working properly before going out and I would give the restaurant a miss for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaudog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback, it is very important to us that we receive as much information as we can from all our guests but we know how time consuming this can be and make sure that we read and address everything.
I am glad on the whole that you had a good experience and that you would return. We have had a number of comments about the air conditioning in some of our rooms and are having work carried out to see what is failing with this from time to time and get this so it is perfect.
Your comments about Aalto are very concerning as our aim is to create something that is a first choice for residents in the hotel and outside guests. We won’t achieve this if we allow people to leave with the memories you have of your dining experience. I have gone through this with the team in the kitchen and we have now changed the way we prepare the fish and chips to make sure it is perfect each time it is served and have also worked with the restaurant team to ensure our service is greatly improved. WE have a number of new employees in the restaurant and it is a real failing that we allowed them to be in the restaurant without making sure they were trained to the standard they should be.
I do hope that you will stay with us again. Birmingham is an amazing city with a huge amount of choice for great restaurants which we are happy to recommend. If you can however do call back in to Aalto even if it is just for a dessert and I promise you that you will see a real improvement on your experience.

Many thanks again for telling us of your experience.Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at La Tour for a girl's weekend away and could not have asked for a better hotel exeperience. The staff were extremely attentive and the rooms were gorgeous, kitted out with all the mod cons and real attention to detail.
We dined at the restuarant and I have to say the food was exceptional. The location is very central so we were able to get the nightlife in no time.
I would highly recommed this hotel to anyone coming to Birmingham.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments we are delighted that you had a great stay in Birmingham and at Hotel La Tour. All the team read and share the feedback we receive and it is a great motivator when they read that their efforts have been appreciated.

Please come and see us again very soon.
Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently in an Executive room. Lovely hotel, very new, nicely decorated. Didn't have time to try out the bar/restaurant areas, but they certainly looked good.

Shame some of the immediate area around the hotel is looking a bit worse for wear but I'm assuming this is earmarked for redevelopment as well and you get a nice view of the bullring.

The room was lovely, well decorated, the bed was very comfortable and extremely spacious. I would think storage is a bit of an issue for longer stays, as whilst there is a wardrobe (situated behind a false wall behind the headboard of the bed) it is a bit on the small side. The other side of this "false wall" had the safe and the tea/coffee making facilities. The room included a desk and the chaise longue was a nice touch in this room.

A flat panel TV was mounted on the wall essentially at the end of the bed. Several TV channels were included, as was the option to record something to watch later which was very useful. There were also connectivity options (saw HDMI, USB & VGA) to allow you to connect a laptop or similar to play your own media through the TV.

Access to the room and corridor leading to the room were accessed using contact less card technology (just wave your card in front of the panel to unlock). Room controls were touch sensitive panels rather than switches and lights were controllable through the telephone which incorporated a large LCD screen, where you could also access a display of the local weather.

In the hotel lobby, computers are used to complete the check in and check out procedures. Although they had staff on duty to assist where needed. I parked in the Selfridges/Moor Street car park, 5 minutes walk away. The hotel has a deal in place whereby it only costs £5 to park. They validate your ticket when you check out, and you just use this to pay before you leave the car park. There was no time limitation to when i had to use the validated ticket by, so I was able to put my luggage in the car and do some shopping before leaving the car park a few hours later.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely, it is probably my preferred choice of hotel in Birmingham, at least for a shopping/sight-seeing trip, as it is ideal for the city centre. The room isn't the biggest but adequate for 2 people. Whilst I had a discounted non-refundable room rate, the full rate is still very reasonable for a hotel of this standard.

I think the only downside is the wi-fi. It is complimentary, but it is very, very slow. The 3G mobile network seemed faster. This is one area that could be improved upon in my opinion and is really the only thing that stops this from being a 5/5 review.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such great feedback. We wish more people would do this as it really helps us to improve what we offer and also pat ourselves on the back for the things we get right!

When we started to build our hotel we were part of a city centre master plan that involved a lot more development. Three months in to our build it was announced the HS2 would come in next to us if it goes ahead. As you say this means that in 10 years we will be in the best place in Birmingham but in the meantime we have to work with what we have. This for us is to make Hotel La Tour worth finding and make our product and service better than the best. We work very hard on this and are constantly improving the hotel mostly through customer feedback like yours.
We are looking at the WIFI speed as it should be adequate for browsing the web and receiving email. There is a higher speed available for downloading large files at a charge but it seems from a few peoples feedback that are free Wi-Fi is not as good as it should be. We are addressing this and it will improve.
Thank you again for posting your memories of your stay and please come back and see us again soon. Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Almost a year old now, this hotel was a gem on the edge of the city centre. Minimalist in style, the rooms are large with king-size beds. Large walk in shower and fully tiled bathrooms. A great base to explore Birmingham it is 10 minutes stroll into the city centre, the Bullring & Selfridge's. The bar is very reasonably priced and the bar snacks are good value for money. The reception was manned by Trey & Justin who were very good at recommending places to visit and good restaurants. Breakfast was pricey @ £15.95 but we found the Victorian Restaurant in Great Western Arcade which did a full English (2 of everything) with orange juice, tea/coffee and toast for £6, well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you so much for leaving your comments following your stay with us and we are so pleased that you have good memories of your visit. Trey and Justin are great members of our team and it is good to hear they recommended so good things to do in the city. We think Birmingham is an amazing place to be and are always looking for the unique and unusual places that we can encourage our guests to go to. Your breakfast sounds as though it was gorgeous and when you come again there are some great artisan bakeries and coffee shops that are worth a look at.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a pretty cool hotel. Very centrally located, and modern. Very reasonable rates too. Comfortable beds, excellent shower. Decent service on the whole, no problems bringing dental kit etc up, it's crazy how much of a chore some people think that is.

The only reason I haven't given this a 5 is I paid for an executive room, and to be honest I don't think you got that much for the extra cash, a small desk and a slightly bigger tv I think. I'd happily stay there again but wouldn't feel the need to pay for the exec room, although not too bothered as I mentioned the rates are already very reasonable.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for Exec Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jigsinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback we really do appreciate it. All the team get to share any customer reviews and following yours we have a few of the team looking at the executive rooms so that we can add to them and make sure that there is value for the extra money. If there is anything you can suggest then so let us know.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and do ask how we have changed the executive rooms as we will take note of your feedback.
Kind regards
Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,252 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,213 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England (Formerly Hotel La Tour)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $93 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Birmingham has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing