We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,628)
Filter reviews
2,628 results
Traveler rating
1,512
716
257
94
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,512
716
257
94
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel la tourselfridges car parktouch screenmoor street stationcity roommodern hotelchop housesecret escapeswhite company toiletriesexecutive roombull ringcity centreafternoon teamod conswalk in showerexcellent hotelconference facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,362 - 2,367 of 2,628 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked la tour hotel for 2 nights executive room as we were going to see lionel ritchie in concert at nec. Quick check in fabulous room food excellent and staff very friendly. Book this hotel you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hodgkinson1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

It delights us to read you enjoyed your experience here at Hotel La Tour.

I am sure you would have had a great time going to see Lionel Richie and should you return to Birmingham we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

In the meantime

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here on Friday night with my husband and friends. We had a fabulous room,very modern boutique style with every luxury we coulD need. The bar area is spacious and stylish and staff very friendly and helpful.
we didn't eat out evening meal in the hotel but breakfast was luvly, plenty of choice, very relaxed not rushed.
Overall this was the best hotel we have stayed in in Birmingham and we will definitely be returning again soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

I would to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a comment on trip advisor.

With Birmingham having a number of excellent hotels already in the city we very much appreciate your positive comments following your recent stay here at Hotel La Tour.

We hope to see you back here again soon in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

With three of our party flying in specially from various parts of Europe, expectations were high for a great family reunion at the Hotel La Tour - and it didn't disappoint. We had a great deal for DBB, in Executive rooms, for our weekend stay.

Clearly, the hotel is the place to be on a Saturday night - the bar was buzzing and the restaurant was completely full. We enjoyed pre-dinner cocktails, before heading in to the restaurant for a delicious dinner.

With exceedingly friendly staff, a good location for shopping, a really comfy bed and White Company toiletries in the bathroom - we couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor.

It delights us to read such positive comments following your stay with us.

I hope you and your family had a great weekend here in Birmingham all together and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Many Thanks

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

an excellent addition to the Birmingham hotel scene, great room, great staff and a wonderful breakfast. Park in the overground car park, take the right just after the hotel, much cheaper and more convenient than the Selfridgfes multi storey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulwTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

We do appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments on our Rooms / Staff and your breakfast experience the following morning.

We hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here for one night this weekend and would definitely stay again. The location couldn't be better - close to the Bullring, rail stations and car parks which others have said you get for £5 if you get your ticket stamped by the hotel.

The hotel looks brand new and the rooms are very nicely furnished with all the mod cons. We had the most basic room it had everything we needed although shower caps would be useful due to the design of the shower.

We didn't eat but did have drinks in the bar after our night out. The only downer was that the bar stops serving cocktails after 11pm. There was no explanation as to why and I thought it might be due to lack of staff but there were 3 people behind the bar at midnight. I would be interested to know why this is.

Anyway, the staff on check in and check out were very pleasant, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Go on and treat yourself to a short city break!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to right a review on trip advisor.

It delights me to read that in nearly every aspect of your stay with us we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed yourselves here at Hotel La Tour

With a particular mention to Daniel our restaurant manager and our Head chef Alex Penhaligon I will ensure your comments are shared with them and their teams.

We hope to see you back in Birmingham in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews