We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modern, high tech hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

A very high tech tastefully furnished hotel sited just minutes walk of Bull Ring Shopping Centre.
The rooms are very clean modern and packed with electrical touch controlled gadgets which gives it very unique modern feel.
We only stopped for one night, found a great offer from Travel Zoo which included breakfast; a choice of pastries , traditional Full English, yoghurt , fruit or all of them!
As an added bonus you can park your car in Selfredges car park for your stay , the hotel will validate your ticket on departure and the car park will only charge you £5 .
Recommended but search for offers !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis_william
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments following your stay here at Hotel La Tour.

We are glad to see you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us from the bedroom gadgets to our restaurant breakfast service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,325 - 2,331 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stylish hotel, I really loved the layout of the rooms and the bathroom with the walk in shower. The location, 2 minutes walk from the bullring is great. Breakfast was good quality. I would stay here again for a shopping weekend, at full price it is perhaps slightly expensive but there seem to be a lot of offers at the moment.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L1ttlest_h0b0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon should you wish to come shopping in Birmingham again.

Kind regards,

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Whilst having excellent facilities and the great decor the satff in the restaurant really let our visit down.
We stopped for one night on Weds 17th in a superior room which was cram packed with technology. Lights turning on as you walk towards the wardrobe, speakers in the bathroom which play whats on the tv in the bedroom and of course the TV at the foot of the bath! You can also control all of the lighting from the phone by the bed.
We had dinner bed and breakfast so were looking forward to the dinner part in the evening and hoping it lived up to the rest of the hotel but sadly not...
My scallops to start weren't even warm and the steak (£24 rib eye!!) only came with chips - no veg! However the steak and chips were really nice and cooked perfectly. All the other food was good and reasonably priced.
The only time we were asked if all was OK was when our plates were being cleared, this is a simple basic service proceedure that was missed, not what you expect from a 4*hotel.
We had to ask about what was included off the menu in the DBB booking and the waitress had to check. She then came back and said we were allowed £50 between us. When the bill came this wasnt discounted and could see there was a bit of panic on the waitress' face as we got up and walked out after paying only the difference. (this was a different waitress by then, don't know where ours vahished to?)
When our mains were cleared we were asked if we would like to see the desert menu. We said yes. 20mins later another waitress came over and we had to ask again for the menu. Sticky toffee pudding - doubts about weather it was made in the kitchen or not??
To sum up the night there was a tip built into the bill - my pet hate and an insult after very average service!
After this experience our expectations for breakfast were low....
we were shown to our table and tea and coffee was eventually brought over. It was poured into our cups and we added our own milk which had clearly been sitting out on the table for quite some time as it curdled! we called a waitress over and it took 10 mins to sort out another cup - not good when your gasping in the morning!
the cooked breakfast was very good, best hash browns i've ever had and a choice of streaky or normal bacon - or both!

To sum up; the food was OK apart from the cold scallops and the price of the steak but the waitress staff let the whole place down. And it was only a quiet Wednesday night!
The hotel was excellent and really was let down by poor service in the restaurant and average food.

Room Tip: Supreme rooms are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

I was happy to hear how satisfied you were with our bedrooms in the hotel and technology fitted throughout the room.

It does however disappoint me to read of your experience in Aalto restaurant and clearly from what you have mentioned we have to investiagte into certain elements of our service offered and of our food offerings on the night in question.

Should you wish to take the time to discuss your experience in any more detail with me directly I would be happy to contact you personally and have sent a message to you with my contact details enclosed.

With that in mind I hope we have the opportunity of restoring your faith in use should you wish to return to Birmingham in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Callum P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We used La Tour week begin 8th Oct - 12th for a training programme and one facilitator stayed in the accomodation. I cannot reccommend them enough!!! No thing was too much trouble!! Staff very helpful and approachable (all staff) especially Tom...Unlimited refreshments made the training very flexible- breaks could be taken at any time. Close to train stations and lower budget hotels for participants who cant stay here. Definately worth a look at...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor

We appreciate all feedback received and were delighted to read your comments you have shared on with particular mention to our conference facilities. It makes positive reading to hear how helpful all the staff were throughout your conference and I will pass on your praise in particular to Tom.

We hope you will consider us for future events in Birmingham.

In the meantime

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Luxurious and quirkily furnished hotel with oversized furniture in the public areas which reminded me of the children's novel. A thoroughly enjoyable stay, the hotel exudes sophistication whilst still managing to be warm and welcoming.The rooms were large, comfortable and state of the art. The service was first class. Afternoon tea is heartily recommended. The restaurant in the evening was atmospheric and the food excellent. Close to the train station and all that Birmingham has to offer (which is a lot for all ages and all within easy walking distance). Had a delightful weekend and will definitely be back for the Christmas market.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you taking for taking the time to write your response on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate all feedback received and were delighted to read your comments you have shared on Trip Advisor with particular mention to the design of the hotel. Something I know the design team worked hard at from the beginning to ensure Hotel La Tour had a Luxurious and modern feel throughout the building.

I am very glad you also enjoyed our Afternoon Tea experience in the Alvar Bar and then also chose to dine in Aalto restaurant on the evening.

We hope you will choose to stay with us when you return in December for the Christmas market.

In the meantime

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and it was amazing. Check in was smooth and receptionist very pleasant. The Reception area is all marble, chrome, glass and high back plush chairs. Our room was extremely good. Spotlessly clean. Huge flat screen tv built into wall but on a bracket that pulls out if you needed it. The bed was massive super kingsize. The wardrobe and tea/coffee making facilities are very cleverly concealed behind the wall the head board is attached to making the room seem more spacious. The window in our room was floor to ceiling with a very comfortable chais-lounge sofa in front. We looked out over the Bull Ring But this was fine as could see lots of other things going on. The ensuite bathroom was exceptional. Spotless and with a huge double walk in shower which was very powerful. The mirror had a square which remained clear when everythingelse misted up.
We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant and made the right choice. The meal was top class as was the service and all finished with another bottle of extremely good Pinot Noir in the Bar. The Bar area is relaxing and comfortable and has a piano at one end. Unfortunately we were there on a Thursday evening so no one was playing but it would create a great atmosphere when being played.
A perfect nights sleep on a very comfortable bed. Blackout curtains that keep the room dark and no noise from outside other than a dull hum of traffic which is to be expected being right in the middle of Birmingham but not loud enough to keep you awake or wake you in a morning.
Check out went as smoothly as check in. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpfull and we will definitely be returning here next time we go to Birmingham.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devondizzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPRB2007, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you taking for taking the time to write your response on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate all feedback received and were delighted to read your comments you have shared on Trip Advisor. Clearly from your kind words the team here have exceeded your expectations from when you first arrived at check in right through to your departure.

I will ensure this is shared with all teams within the hotel and we will continue to work hard to ensure we maintain this level of service.

In the meantime,

Many Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Matthew Kinnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,334 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
2,485 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England (Formerly Hotel La Tour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $94 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Birmingham has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing