We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Birmingham
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,543)
Filter reviews
2,543 results
Traveler rating
889
886
446
194
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
886
446
194
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharvey nicholsmailbox car parkmini barmail boxhotel bargood sizehot breakfaststandard roomafternoon teaclub roombars and restaurantscity centresaturday nightnew street stationlovely roomstayed for one nightfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,814 - 1,819 of 2,543 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel looks as if it was once part of "The Mailbox Hotel" as it is between The Mailbox hotel and The Mailbox car park. Finding this hotel was a bit hard as their sign was not clear when I got there that evening, they don't have any sign out there that for Malmaison Hotel you can park in The Mailbox car park.

It has a 3 star looking reception and when you get in, the corridors are very dark and out fashioned. Very small room numbers making it even harder to find your room but as soon as I got into my room I loved it almost everything was definitely 4-5 stars thought the bathroom lighting was not very good for shaving my face lol

Dinner was horrible, that poor duck was not cooked at all and tasted so bad however I liked their cocktail very much.

Check in and checkout was fast and easy.

Overall I would say for a hotel in Birmingham their prices are a bit high and they definitely need to get a better cook.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesPark_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here with a friend to celebrate her birthday. The room was beautiful, the staff were superb nothing was no trouble. Brilliant loaction within the The Mail Box , easy reach of shops , great bars & restaurants nearby. Loved it, would defo go again.!!!! The downfall to here is the Spa, very small and not that welcoming, staff were not that helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellybw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Malmaison is incorporated into the Mail Box development of exclusive, but half empty shops.
This in turn, leads to the attractive, and upbeat /upmarket Canal Basin area of Birmingham.

Check in was a bit drawn out, although check out was very smooth. We had a lot of sympathy for the very helpful receptionists who were very patient with some guests some of whom were already into celebration mood.....

The room was much as anticipated, and advertised: dark, modern and minimalist. It was also much larger than expected, with super cool aircon, exceptionally big bathroom with ungenerous toiletries, but wonderfully fluffy towels, which was just as well, as the bath was very deep. Disabled people might well have a problem with the height of the bath.

Bed was large and comfortable, big televsion. No safe was available, but hidden away was a kettle and limited supplies, (has anyone really successfully made a coffee from the origami package, without getting the grinds into the mug)?

Dinner: Food actually rather good; service very friendly and helpful; but ambiance NIL.
It is a case of design over practicality and customer expectations - there is a real conflict of priorites here; the the restaurant and heavily used bar occupy the same floor and are not seperated by any walls.Consquently there is a real problem with the restaurant as the driving bass beat cancels out any attempt we had of fine dinning, and that is a pity, as the menu here was excellent and the wine list impressive; but the two do not make a good combination. But how can you compete against the bar noise. We ended up shout across the table to each other; appalling.
Zero charm.
Why does it have to be this way?
i find it quite bizarre, and very disappointing - If was here on business there is no way i could use the restaurant to entertain guests.

Separating the two (bar and restaurant) would also be better for security, and safety, as the clientele on the outside bar terrace spread out over the steps / pavement)- something the licensing authorities ought to look at.
it seems that Malmaison is looking to cash in on the alco pop / ersatz cocktail market rather than top end business.

Breakfast : ok-ish seated in poor area in a near empty restaurant.It was also amixture of rather good cold buffet, adequate cooked breakfast, and possibly the palest undercooked toast i have ever seen .

So some good points rather overshadowed by the bar / resaurant.
Pity.
Still there is plenty of choice in Birmingham, some of it much cheaper.

Room Tip: get a room as high as possible (floors 6 & 7) and then eat somewhere else in peace - as a paying customer you deserve it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My partner and I have stayed here twice before and we enjoy it every time. The hotel is in a great location. Our room was spacious and very clean. We made a reservation in the restaurant, and this was also very good. The waiter serving us was very friendly. I chose the Ribeye Steak which was just perfect, my other half had the burger, it was ok but was a little dry. Cocktails are always amazing, and the bar team will happily make something not on the list if they have the ingredients. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SFG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having had an evening of cocktails at the Malmaison back in the summer, we decided to relive the experience.....sadly for the first 2 drinks both glasses were filthy...lipstick on one and remnants of fruit stuck to the inside of the other...staff were disinterested and unhelpful....and although servers were on duty to take orders and serve drinks they were way to busy chatting to one another than to serve customers - so after waiting an unreasonable time to be served we left. It needs to be something special when the average price per round for 2 people is £19. Sadly it was nowhere near special, quite the opposite.
We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews