We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well presented room, had all you need for a short stop, may have got clastraphobic if stay was longer than 2 nights
Comfortable bed
Location was excellent - Inside the Mailbox
Booked a room deal on lateroom and got bottle of wine and 2 courses for 2 people - great value ! - food was excellent - good bar and rest - atmosphere was great

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekillersDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,851 - 1,857 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel many times, usually in the suites. The location is great next to many bars, restaurants and shops in the Mailbox Centre and beyond. On this occasion we found the decor of our room disappointing, with chipped paintwork, holes in the furniture, broken locks on the door and a very uncomfortable mattress. The restaurant was good and we had a good offer for late checkout with Sunday lunch included, we had a buffet which was very good. I also had a spa treatment and the prices where average but the service and experience was way above and I would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Go on a search engine for Birmingham hotels to get the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

my partner booked the Penny Black suite for my birthday and it was very GLAM in deed, loved every minute of it, the cinema room to the lounge to the bedroom with the glossy bed and the bathroom, all super xx

Room Tip: penny black suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed as a couple at the Birmingham Malmaison and were really looking forward to the experience, having heard great things about the malmaison chain.

Location couldn't be better, in the heart of Birmingham and its fashionable Mailbox shopping centre.

Service was average, with reception not seeming particularly interested in making a great first impression. Our only issue was finding a half empty bottle in the mini-bar that we didn't want to be charged for. Whilst less than apologetic this was swiftly dealt with.

The hotel stylises itself as 'daring to be different' but whilst comfortable, clean and sufficient our beige room boasted little out of the ordinary and failed to wow. It did allow for a decent nights sleep, however!

All in all, a perfectly decent stay but nothing exceptional. On a final note, the girls in the spa were lovely and offer some great treatments!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We recently tried the Malmaison in Oxford, which was fantastic so we were really looking forward to a night away it the Birmingham version. Unfortunately, it wasn't as exciting and was a little bland. The food in the restaurant was OK but the waitress was really annoying by trying to push extra side dishes on to all of our guests. Also annoying was the size of the draft beer; call me old fashoined but when I order a pint of draft beer, I dont expect to receive a schooner (which is somewhat smaller than a pint) and then given some dubious excuse that it's to ensure the beer stays cold? The only reason I can think of is to charge you over the odds for a small beer... On the plus side, the breakfast was very good, but we wont be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A very central business hotel . Great rooms and very friendly staff.
The bar clientele was highly entertaining - some ladies were definitely working !!
my only fault is the restaurant - breakfast there 2 mornings running offered good service, but overcooked poached eggs and burnt toast.
I will stay again though !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Malmaison for my 30th Birthday and were upgraded to a suite on arrival which was a lovely surprise. The room was lovely and clean and really spacious. Lots of toiletries provided and the continental room service was delicious. It didn't let the stay down for us but the staff do seem a little miserable (especially those in the restaurant). We also had a cake that the hotel had made for us (at the request of my husband which he paid for in advance) and after dinner we asked for this to be put in our room however it wasn't and when we asked for it the next day the hotel couldn't seem to find it so we ended up leaving after a half an hour wait with no sense of urgency or apology. Don't let that put you off as it is a lovely hotel but I personally think the staff let it down on our visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Crossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,334 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,581 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
#69 of 118 in Birmingham
216 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $103 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing