We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip in December for one night. Rooms were big with full sized bathrooms and modern décor. I didn’t spend much time in the room itself, but slept well and the lobby/bar area was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulucherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,795 - 1,801 of 2,344 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

This isn't the prettiest Malmaison on the inside but I suspect it has one of the highest footfalls, it's got a few knocks. I've stayed here a few times, the staff are really helpful (asked for an ice bucket and champagne glasses, they arrived in 5 minutes with no problems). The best bet is the Sunday Supplement deal, then it beats anything around for all in value. Shame the spa closes at 1800...come on, make it 2000. Service in the restaurant can be slow but it's not a bad place to sit and wait, good atmosphere and decent beers.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from the lift and facing Suffolk Street Queensway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This place keeps me coming back! Having stayed at the hotel four or five times now it has become my regular choice of stay when visiting Birmingham. The rooms are always clean and there is a sense of classiness about the place. The staff are helpful and being so close to the Mailbox there's a nice selection of restaurants if you don't fancy eating at the hotel. I will continue to stay at MalMaison - If it's not broken, don't try and fix it!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are more than you need for every type of trip (night out, city break, romantic ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demetrios J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went for their standard room and got allocated one of the internal rooms that faces into the Mailbox. These are a lot smaller than the external facing rooms (especialy the bathroom) and curiously suffer a lot more noise (though this could be accounted for by the low floor number). Check-in was okay and after a trip to the cinema returned back to the hotel at 11 - had to use the room key to swipe in as the reception was deserted. Phoned for room service at 11:15 - no answer. Phoned again at 11:20 - no answer. Phoned again at 11:30 - no answer. Went downstairs to have a look on reception and again no-one was there. Gave up on room service and went back to the room. Took an age to get to sleep as the mattress was full of ridges and lumps making getting a decent sleeping position impossible - after a fitful night woke up with backache - worse nights sleep I have ever had in an hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the internal rooms that face into the Mailbox. Check that the bed is comfortable, else switch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirMixalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've stayed at the Malmaison twice in the last couple of months, overall I'd say it is average and next time I'm in Birmingham I'll probably look for somewhere else to stay.

I had a double room on my first stay and a twin on the second. The twin was a good sized room, but the double was quite pokey. Both were quiet (I was on the 6th floor) and warm - maybe a bit too warm for sleeping, but the aircon was too noisy to keep running whilst trying to sleep. The bathrooms were a good size and well stocked with toiletries. The beds are very firm but quite comfortable. The LCD TVs have freeview. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel and wired network connection is available in the rooms. So no serious complaints about the room.

The whole hotel from reception to the rooms is rather dark - a combination of dark woods, deep purple walls and moody subdued lighting. Not really to my taste, but you can't please everyone! The restaurant lets the hotel down, breakfasts are OK, but I thought the evening meals were disappointing. The room service burger was dry, and my meal in the restaurant itself was just plain ordinary - I've had much better in much cheaper places. Luckily there are loads of alternatives nearby - I would recommend you "eat out".

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booked a kingsize suite for one night as a celebration,got the train in as i thought this would be best and its only 5 mins walk from of the train itself,got handed the key to the sorting office suite from the moment we walked through the door we were gobsmacked,luxury is not the word,full propper lounge with sky tv,sat there and just chilled out with wine we didint even want to go out,finally managed to move off the sofa had a luxury bath in the big double rolltop bath watched TV in the bath!!!!!,we went out and literally the resturants in the mailbox are minutes walk and no need to worry about wearing a coat they are so close,after a lovelly meal in Cafe Rouge and a couple of cocktails we decided to go back n order up some champers! at £82 a bottle it was a little steap but well worth it for the whole experience! all i can say is well done malmaisons! will deff be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulo1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The only issue with this hotel, apart from the expense of parking close by (£18 overnight), is that the air con is pitifully inadequate...and our visit was in (albeit fairly mild) winter weather. No windows open so the place depends on effective air con.
The communal areas seemed OK but our room would not cool down in spite of an engineer's visit. The air blowing around seemed to be close to room temperature so we had an uncomfortable night's sleep. Heaven knows what the rooms might be like in summer!
We reported the issue twice but the complacent response suggested that the hotel thought they had fixed it. they hadn't.

Room Tip: ask if the aircon works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wales25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,146 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,594 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $114 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing