We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
$109
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$114
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$77
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Bloc Hotel Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
$94
$51
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$88
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$63
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$59
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$105
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,543)
Filter reviews
2,543 results
Traveler rating
889
886
446
194
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
886
446
194
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharvey nicholsmailbox car parkmini barmail boxhotel bargood sizehot breakfaststandard roomafternoon teaclub roombars and restaurantscity centresaturday nightnew street stationlovely roomstayed for one nightfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,047 - 2,052 of 2,543 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for the night as we has tickets to watch something at the NIA, the location was great, really central and the NCP car-park was just underneath, although £18 for 24 hours was quite steep ontop of the room cost too.

The room was the typical sumptuous Mal style with lovely comfy bed and well stocked mini-bar and snacks. Hot breakfast was cooked to order and very yummy!

The only downside for me was as it wa a Friday evening the bar was very busy when we got back from our show and along with another few guests we couldn't get seats to enjoy our drinks so drank up quickly and went off I bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HailieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Myself and my sister in law did an over night spa break, this was excellent value for money & we had a fabulous stay. Included in the price was a 30 minute back, neck and shoulder massage. Mal munchies which consisted of a platter of mini bites, a cocktail each also bed and breakfast. Situated in the mail box it was within close proximity of the train station & motorways.We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have to agree with all the many reviews here which say that the Mal in Birmingham is dirty and down at heel. We had two rooms and both needed to be redecorated urgently. I don't think that there was a thing in our room, from the walls, to the bathroom, to the sofas that wasn't ripped, chipped or stained.
But the absolute highlight of our stay was the restaurant (and I mean that sarcastically) Poor service, dirty glasses, a long, long wait for food, cold steaks, salad that was fit for the bin, bread that was taken away to be replenished only to be rearrive after we had finished and forgotten chips that were cold, lacking their accompaniments and frankly inedible when they did appear. All that before an entire tray of iced drinks was tipped down my back.
The steaks and bread were then charged for and they had the cheek to add a service charge. We refused to pay for these items which mean that we were then under the minimum restaurant amount to qualify for their Sunday night offer, so reception tried to add it on to our overall bill when we checked out.
We didn't dare eat breakfast there.
This Mal bills itself as a boutique hotel along the lines of some of the chain's other branches. In reality it is dirty, dingy, chaotic and could be any other substandard chain hotel. It has put us off staying in a Malmaison again.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Malmaison takes unusual buildings and convert them into hotels. As a test to see if this hotel chain was suitable for us I decided to book this local hotel as a surprise for my wife. Chose the Sunday Stopover offer that reduces the room rate if spending a minimum of £75 in the restaurant.
Room was massive for the £45 it cost us. Great bed, furniture and bathroom.

Would definitely stay again, and the food wasn't bad either.

And don't forget to take the toiletries, your encourage to do so, and they're not rubbish.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyhofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It is very dark and tries a bit too hard to be cool. It's not Barcelona or LA - it's Birmingham. If you are trying to be cool you probably aren't.
The room was tired, damaged lampshades, missing parts on wardrobe door, cracked toilet, water damage on ceiling - I let them know at check out.
The Reception staff have an air of disdain rather than welcome.
No swimming pool and a tiny gym.
Breakfast was pretty standard fare.
Good location. Someone needs to stand back and take a good look at what the offering is and improve on the basics.
Could do better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NigelCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews